Pakistani players will express themselves in Urdu

Re: The Pakistani players will express themselves in Urdu

It is a great decision, desi have an inferiority complex when it comes to speaking English. Most of the soccer world speaks their native tongue, so why can't we?

There have been handful of Pakistani players that speak good English, rest of them always had problems talking with media and it does no favor because as an accomplished batsman or bowler, they should have choice to chat in any language that suits them.

Agreed. Urdu bolnay main ki shurum nahin honi chiyay and other than that its not English speaking competition.

Jon Pierik of Daily Telegraph says Inzi can speak English fluently :smiley:

Despite being fluent in English, captain Inzamam has declared he will only answer questions from the media in his native tongue of Urdu…

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,21367784-5001023,00.html

No1.
Peace dude. US MOZLEMZ WE ARE PEACE LOVIN…
Assalam O Alaikum = Peace on you all
Is it so bad to send greetings of peace to every one watching and listening?

1. When was I known to be a murderer… Lahola wala quwata…

2. To INZI these are official responses / short speeches. He thinks it appropriate to use professional Islamic way of responding.
    Some might agree that these are really more informal interviews, but you can’t blame the person for being more formal. They are official interview that get published in global media.

3. Some one such as myself who has (not trying to blow my own toot) post grad degree and works for a fortune 100 corp. would feel very dignified in using “bismillah” to begin an official presentation etc.

4. Lets not use some thing INZI uses in an offiial interview to do a character assasination of his personality and be guilty of what the papparazzi do. Take one picture and draw a whole story from it.

:blush: :confused: :frowning: :o :snooty: :hoonh: :halo: :smiley:

I am with you on most things and ofcourse I did n't mean murder in the real sense of the word. I just think Inzi should keep his bismillahs short and concentrate more on understanding and answering the interviewer's question(s). the problem with Inzi is even if you asked him about the time of the day he might respond by saying ''thanks to Allah, it's such and such time'' which while it may be a noble thing to do, does seem a bit too much. That's all my point was. anyways see the latest saffar nahin aasaan with Imran Khan and Inzi in cricket videos section. Inzi seems a little overawed and edgy sitting next to Imran but still manages to make a few funny comments :D

^ yep…
:blush: :confused: :frowning: :o :snooty: :hoonh: :halo: :smiley:

chalo aakhir main hansi to aayee. all’s well that ends well

^ well, well....
my well mannered moderator
you are welcome.

Bohat ache ba'at hay.

I think they should express themseleves in their mother tounge. Be it Punjabi, Sindhi, Urdu or Pusto. You know, to tell the world how diverse Pakistani team is.

Update:

**ICC asks Pakistan to speak English

**Pakistan told to speak English
ICC ask for no Urdu
Cricinfo staff
March 15, 2007
The ICC has asked the Pakistan team management to avoid holding press conferences in Urdu during the World Cup. It was announced yesterday that the Pakistan players would only answer questions in Urdu so as to avoid any ambiguity in the answers given.
An ICC spokesman was reported to have told the Pakistan management that they were against the proposal because “translating for the player and the press takes a long time and the ICC has fixed times for all media meets.” It was also reported that some of the press had complained at the time it took to complete the Pakistan media conferences.
Local reports claimed that Inzamam-ul-Haq was unhappy with the decision to conduct the conferences in Urdu, arguing that it reflected badly on the team.
However, Dr Naseem Ashraf, the Pakistan board chairman, backed the move, saying it was a good opportunity to promote Urdu internationally.
© Cricinfo](http://content-www.cricinfo.com/wc2007/content/current/story/285431.html)

And now ICC has gotten into this, saying “no” to urdu… friggin’ eejiots

So, now Inzi is embarrassed that speaking in Urdu reflects badly on the team, but he has no problem sticking to his 3-sentence English vocabulary. And what about the torture it is for rest of his team-mates to speak a foreign language in front of world media. ICC’s reasoning is equally lame. Since when was English designated as the official language of world cricket. If the time for media meets is limited, then that’s media’s problem. ICC/media should not make Pak cricketers make an arse of themselves in front of press.

And Naseem Ashraf will be better served by sticking to the truth (that our players suck at English) rather then trying to pass it off as an opportunity to spread Urdu. What a jackass!

very well said, agree 200%

Re: Pakistani players will express themselves in Urdu

Yet another UPDATE:

** No requirement on Pakistan to speak English**
** ICC denies reports of ban on Urdu

** Cricinfo staff
March 15, 2007
The ICC has told Cricinfo that it has not asked the Pakistan team management to avoid holding press conferences in Urdu during the World Cup.
It was announced yesterday that the Pakistan players would only answer questions in Urdu so as to avoid any ambiguity in the answers given, and subsequently it was reported the ICC had requested them to speak English to avoid media conferences being excessively drawn out.
“At no point did the ICC say it cannot allow the Pakistan team management to hold press conferences in Urdu,” an ICC spokesman told Cricinfo. “The ICC doesn’t tell the participating teams in which language they have to speak. The issue of Pakistan players speaking in Urdu was discussed with the Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Naseem Ashraf in Kingston earlier this week and he agreed with the ICC that for all media events happening inside the playing field players will speak in English, while for all media events outside the playing field, Pakistan players will talk in Urdu.”
© Cricinfo](http://content-www.cricinfo.com/wc2007/content/current/story/285431.html)

Yeh ho kiya raha hey

ICC and PCB sab kay sab jokers ....

Bander baaNT machi huee hai :omg:

The torture continues.... damn, Naseem Ashraf.. thora tau paani hona chahiyay banday meiN.

When a Cricket Team's biggest problem is whether to speak in English or Urdu - it is a good sign.

ICC and PCB donoon k donoon hee jokers hain … sub kee tafreeh lagee pree hai

Bakwas is bakwas in Urdu or English

Now here’s a strange thing. Pakistan’s cricketers are banned from speaking in English at press conferences. The reason we are told is that their wonderful use of Urdu will promote tourism in Pakistan. I’m not sure how that works, particularly since their words will be revealed to the world by the warbling English of PJ Mir, Pakistan’s media manager?

Consider too that Urdu doesn’t readily lend itself to describing a cricket match. A beautiful verse of poetry, yes, but try saying great cover drive without using any English words and you begin to sound like a dimwit–and Pakistan’s players are no linguistic cousins of Mirza Ghalib.

In fact, the notion that speaking in Urdu will lure foreigners to Pakistan is fantastically crazy. By extending that logic the player chosen for the press conference grilling should have a shave, put on his coolest shades, an Hawaiian shirt, and a pair of shorts and flip-flops. Because let’s get one thing clear: the sight of bearded men speaking in an Eastern tongue will not be a tempter for most people who don’t happen to be Pakistanis.

Indeed, the idea that speaking Urdu might be enticing invokes a Western image of Orientalism that has long been discredited as racist.

The simple answer, of course, is that Pakistan’s players should be allowed to speak in whatever language they wish. Inzamam, for example, enjoys jousting in English at press conferences, and he fully understands the questions put to him. One of the pleasures for journalists at a Pakistani press conference is Inzamam’s considered pause after a question is put to him, a pause that is often followed by dead-pan humour. His vice-captain, Younis Khan, is as bubbly with his English as he is on the field.

The Pakistan Cricket Board, then, has created a solution to a problem it didn’t really have and brought further controversy upon its head. And it is perhaps its head who this edict should apply to? Dr Nasim Ashraf has caused more problems with his utterances in English than his players ever have, and, yes, he probably does do a disservice to Pakistani tourism. He possibly also argues that he spends more time touring with the national team than back home in Pakistan so that he can do his bit for the Pakistan Tourist Board? I reckon Dr Ashraf should worry less about tourism and more about human development in Pakistan, his other job, which, if he makes a success, will do more for tourism than any cricket press conference.

Ultimately, though, bakwas is bakwas in Urdu or English–and there’s enough of it emanating from the Pakistani camp to say: “Stop these trivial pursuits and start focusing on what really matters–like winning the World Cup.”

source: http://blogs.cricinfo.com/pakspin/archives/2007/03/bakwas_is_bakwas_in_urdu_or_en.php

I loved this comment on the above Blog :

YAAAR! Kamran Sahab...u nailed it! Bilkul Sahih! i mean..these guys r goin crazy..its very clear that the PCB is crazy, they're just ruining pakistans image and makin them a further laughing stock! *
*as for urdu being used...well, there's no shame in using Urdu if u cant speak english, better than warbling in english...i mean, ronaldo or ronaldinho dont speak english do they? SO WHAT!! just use a translator...
the prob with the PCB is they cant convey the TRUTH! the TRUTH dammit! by makin stupid excuses they put further shame on themselves...**
hows bout : 'players who cant speak english will be provided with a translator, for clarity'
how bout : 'Shoaib and Asif, at the risk of being convicted for the same crime twice, have not been tested and any players not tested CANNOT go to the World Cup'
**how bout the BLDY TRUTH! ohh...these guys really pi* me off...all this petty crap just adds to the teams worries and takes there mind off!!***
THANK you so much for this post...i seriously feel like venting my frustration!