pakistani people

youre probably talking about the upstart pakistani over seas in US...some of them are real dungars.

good question…i dont know why either…maybe its a genetic thing?

Its the main reason why my family just doesn’t socialize with too many Pakistani families in the US. And its not just the uncles and aunties, its people our age too.

For example, in the memon circles I’m most familiar with in my area, most of the teenagers are more superficial. The girls are only interested in outdoing each other in the dresses and make-up they put on, and the guys are too busy outdoing each other with the cars they own.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

Pak.org is the first place I found Pakistanis that were not superficial.

Originally posted by Sultan Toora:
youre probably talking about the upstart pakistani over seas in US...some of them are real dungars.

lol@dungars! haha i havent heard that word in ages.

i think we all strive on the saying 'ghar ki murghee daal barabar' (translate: grass is always greener on the other side)

its easy to shun the auntis and uncles. true, they are like that. ive even heard my khaalas, chachis, even my mom say such things similar to the baby's complexion being dark and all. but thats just the dirt on pakis. there are however lots of good things you find in desis you dont find in other people. i believe its a balancing act. no one is perfect you know.

as to where we acquired these traits, i believe many of these traditions and practices are inherited from living in the subcontinent with people of other religeons and traditions for nearly 13 centuries.

take for example the cast system. we as muslims proudly announce that we believe in brotherhood and equality. although when we go to a moderately well off family in pakistan, they will have servants like cooks, maids, chauffers who will be treated as a separate cast. they will be fed the leftovers of the main family. they are literally treated as animals.

(i think im drifting)

i dont think its really that hard to guess where we inheritied that tradition from.

my 2 cents.

IMO, the coolest part of this discussion is that the people who are complaining about other people being superficial will eventually become the very same superficial people that they despise.

It's just a matter of time, just wait till you become Uncles and Aunties.

Originally posted by cat-woman:
**Okay okay, just chill out...I did not want to create a huge discussion here.
mangelo, what are you doing here, don't you have better things to do than to gupshup?

Let me give you an example. When I say 'superficial', I mean superficial in belief as well as well as in practise. I often sit with my mothers friends and these aunties' mentalities are absolutely shocking. They may be really sweet but their way of thinking is horrifying.

This one aunty was talking about her poti, she's telling my mum in Urdu, "* When she was born we were worried because she was a bit dark in complexion, but mashAllah she's fine now."*

Now this is just 1 out of several incidences.

Furthermore, I think the way they associate with each other is a big facade. Everything is very material. That is what I am trying to say. I will elaborate if you wish me to, but I think you catch my drift.**

I think Cat the author of thisambiguous thread has PERSONALISDE what appears to be a casual talk private between two similar generational ppl.

Lot of ppl. have there fetishes ,do we complain about that .Do ppl. who like same sex appear suprficial to hetrosexual ..No .Then why is some ppl. like tall pplz or short pplz or dark pplz or fair pplz any different .

We are taught to be tolerent of others PREFERENCES.If you are gay we should not discriminate just on basis of of lesbianism or being Gay .People can have fetish of Feet ,Hair ,Neck,Legs & be o.k. why then call some one superficial just b/c i may NOT FEEL THAT WAY .I think Cat needs to DEPERSONALIZE SUCH COMMENTS either not hear them or remember NOT EVERY ONE FIND IT SUPERFICIAL OR TERRIBLY OFFENSIVE!

You look Marvellous

Vaneeza, firstly you need to seriously sort out your grammar. Are you still in pre-school?

Secondly, basing my judgements on personal experiences makes my argument quite a solid one. I'm not budging on my opinion. I have made generalisations from what I have seen and there is no harm in doing that. Most Pakistani Uncles and Aunties settled overseas tend to have be highly materialistic and the aunties spend 6 months in Pakistan/USA/England and the other 6 months wherever their husbands are settled. They're all quite wealthy and tend to strive to being highly westernised and in the process lose all sense of grounding and moral values.

Vaneeza dahling, when it comes to liberalism, I am Freud. Homosexuality, lesbianism, bisexuality, black, white, pink, blue...give it all to me.

[This message has been edited by cat-woman (edited June 06, 2002).]

Cat,

Nothing wrong in your observations that "Most Pakistani Uncles and Aunties settled overseas tend to have be highly materialistic"

but can you show me an example of people who aren't?

MS.Meow

"…tend to have be highly materialistic and the aunties spend 6 months in Pakistan/USA/England and the…"I CANT FIGURE OUT HEAD OR TAIL OF WHAT U R TALKING CAT???

rotfl..Ha ha ha

I know Cat rule of bashing here is if you cant argue diss the opponents “your grammar is kinder garten”

After what you called my Typo ,atleast you should have learnt your own lesson.
You know what Freud has said about red lips & fair Maiden??You havent read Freud ,dont pretend

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pretty.gif

oooo .. I smell a cat fight !! .. bring it on..

Well i live in Pakistan and i find most of the America returned People quite superficial...the only reason i can figure out is that most of the ppl who go to US or abroad go for money...there isn't any spiritual benefit as far as i can see...except if they go to spread Islam.
And materialistic ppl are bound to be superficial...

Enchanted

What you call those fashions that emulate American trend …

Those foreign shampoo to perfumes to Electronics that are prized posession in Pakistanby Pakistanis

There are shallow & deep people everywhere & as i have been saying that to assign such characteristics to one group is rascist discriminatory & indicative of ones own INEXPERIENCE SHALLOWNESS & hasty conclusion.

I havent seen a race or group that could boast of each of its mwmbwe BETTER than other groups any member .ALL the MYTHS & Fantasy stories of Yahoods intelligence ,smartness no matter how many Kissinger & Einstein there be ,is MYTH & nothing else .
Dont forget ,mostly prejudicial ,biased opinions are based on comparing Apples & Oranges!!

So Pakiastanis INSIDE or OVERSEAS are not only similar (after taking the environmental changes into account) but they are not much different than anyother muslims in SIMILAR CONDITION & STATION & ENVIRONMENT OF LIFE

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/ahaa.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

actually i am tired of ppl answering without reading the post.....i DIDNOT say ALL i said MOST.
The rest of it, i agree with you.

Enchanted

If u cant handle the HEAT get out of the kitchen…You dont have to comment

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/ahaa.gif

BUT BY YOUR GLARING OMISSION of Pakistani.. few, more or most …you r saying pakistanis inside pakistan DO NOT HAVE THIS problem…which again is a totally wrong assumption

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

okay okay i’ll get out of the kitchen

yaar i just made a comment..actually i am sorry if u got offended… my reasoning is that we all have a superficial charachter…some of us are more shallow than others…that depends upon the enviornment they are brought up in. simple.

I completely agree with you. Not all of them though...but most desis are so two faced and back stabbers...But then if they are good then they are the best!!

Hum Bhool Gaye Hain Rakh ke Kahin Woh Cheeze Jisse Dil Kehte the...Woh Cheeze Jisse Dil Kehte Hain...

Originally posted by Vaneeza:
** -----------
We are taught to be tolerent of others PREFERENCES.If you are gay we should not discriminate just on basis of of lesbianism or being Gay .People can have fetish of Feet ,Hair ,Neck,Legs & be o.k. why then call some one superficial just b/c i may NOT FEEL THAT WAY .I think Cat needs to DEPERSONALIZE SUCH COMMENTS either not hear them or remember NOT EVERY ONE FIND IT SUPERFICIAL OR TERRIBLY OFFENSIVE!

In the U.S according to their law one cannot discriminate on basis of sexual preferences. Not in a islamic country where this is illegal.

Ooh Boy!

It’s hot in here today. Or maybe it’s my first time in this forum and it usually is like this. Grammar check Ctrl+F7.

Please no offence intended to any one. But if I have offended any one please be ellaboratly open in giving me a lesson. I am really missing the small fights with my friends in Pakistan. Maybe I’ll get a little taste of it from here

Cheers

The Future Just Happened!

yeah okkkkk

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

hey cat-woman,
i agree with ya cent%.
Most pakistanis arent genuine,just full of pretence.
ok me outa here.
cheers!

Unfortunately, most of us are pretty materialistic. It's a question of degree. When we put things before people that's when it has gone too far. And one hope that as life goes one you understand that things are less and less important.