Re: Pakistani (O level student) scores record 23 As
Thats great, Mash’ALLAH!
Mubarak to Ibrahim Shahid, hats off :k:
Thats great, Mash’ALLAH!
Mubarak to Ibrahim Shahid, hats off :k:
How are his social skills and social life?
no way…
… wow great (
)
mera aik b A nain tha, b’s thay mostly at 88 and 89… heartbreaking result ![]()
Good question.
Us k liye saari zindagi pari hai. :)
AHAHAH i was wondering the same:D maybe he talks with his books.
Is rattafication really needed to score big on A and O level exams ? People enlighten me.
Nope... What's depressing me is that I had 8As back in Olevels a decade or so ago, that's all the papers I took back then and was a valedictorian in my school! These new kids are ruining it for us old timers!
These are examinations designed by the University of Cambridge, England and not the Punjab or Sindh Board.. Ratta does not work here. They are also conducted very professionally by testing centers.
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Typical desi mentality , instead of celebrating achievement of a fellow countryman , trying to ruin it for everybody. ![]()
Thanks Spock for enlightening me.
Thanks for making us all proud Ibrahim Shahid. :k:
excellent job :k:
Ratta doesnt help in O and A levels ![]()
He is just a teenager, and ppl are worried about his social skills and social life ![]()
Mate, it’s not about ruining it for everyone, it’s about priorities. It is an achievement, no doubt about that, but if you look at the students here today, it’s like their only aim in life is to score as many A’s as possible. They do this by attending school in the mornings and tuition academies by night and forgetting to enjoy their best years in the process. Also, this guy is 17. At that age people either finishing A-level or halfway through it.
Masha Allah :)
Refer to post number 7 for background of my post. ![]()
lol no I edited my own post. I had said your post reminds me of a thread I started ages ago about a muslim student in ireland who won a big award. There were quite a lot of negative posts in that thread too. ![]()
Mate, it's not about ruining it for everyone, it's about priorities. It is an achievement, no doubt about that, but if you l*ook at the students here today, it's like their only aim in life is to score as many A's as possible*. They do this by attending school in the mornings and tuition academies by night and forgetting to enjoy their best years in the process. Also, this guy is 17. At that age people either finishing A-level or halfway through it.
This should be the only aim for a student who is serious about his/her studies. How do you know that this guy is not into extra curricular activities ? Some people have photographic memory , have a gift of getting most difficult concepts in few seconds and get to enjoy life because of these gifts in addition to getting 23 A's in Cambridge exams.
Who you think is a better young man/woman , the one who is striving for academic excellence or the ones who are into all kind of extra curricular activities and hoodlum-ism ?
I saw his interview on TV and he seemed pretty ordinary, down to earth and friendly... he presented himself rather well on TV too... Also, some majors dont require you to be good in social skills, math and engineering being two prime examples.
I saw his mom's comments in the interview too. She said how she was told by some experts at a school that her kid would have a learning problem and would be weak. She said, I'll prove them wrong and so she did!
Pakistani teen breaks O Level world record
AFP
(38 minutes ago) Today
http://www.dawn.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/olevel_record_holder_543.jpg
Pakistani student Ibrahim Shahid flips through a book at the private Beacon House School in Islamabad on February 1, 2011. A Pakistani school boy has smashed a world record by getting 23 A grades in his O Levels. – AFP
ISLAMABAD: A Pakistani school boy has smashed a world record by getting 23 A grades in his O Levels, taking inspiration from the controversial father of Pakistan’s atomic bomb who is hailed a national hero.
Ibrahim Shahid, 17, the son of a university professor of electrical engineering and educated at the private Beacon House School in Islamabad, set the record last month by achieving 23 As in 24 subjects in the Cambridge exam.
“It’s a recognition for my country. This has never been done at O Level,” he told AFP, dutifully thanking his parents and teachers.
“My teacher in Australia told my father ‘Mr Shahid your son is an average student and he never can excel,’ and then I decided to prove myself,” he said in reference to two years he spent in Australia at primary school.
Shahid has yet to decide what to study at university, but said he is drawn to physics and economics, wanting to do something to help his homeland, teetering on the edge of economic meltdown and beset by poverty.
“I want to do something for my country – something unique,” he said. He confessed to being “worried” about Pakistan, which suffers a critical “brain drain” of talent to the West.
Shahid said he takes inspiration from Abdul Qadeer Khan, widely hailed a hero in Pakistan, but reviled in the West after he confessed in 2004 to selling nuclear secrets to Iran, Libya and North Korea.
Until February 2009, Khan was subject to a house of arrest for operating a nuclear proliferation ring, but Washington says he still represents a risk.
“I’m impressed by Doctor Qadeer Khan. I want to serve my country.
“The future generation has to believe in hardwork. They should not be disheartened. They should work hard to make the impossible possible,” he said.
The Cambridge O Level is an internationally recognised qualification for children aged 14 to 16, as part of preparation for university entrance and before end of school examinations.
It is designed especially for the international market and students whose first language may not be English.
Re: Pakistani teen breaks O Level world record
oho yaar tum sab kya apne dukhre ro rahe ho kam az kam bache ko mubarak baad hi de do.