Pakistani Nationalism: The only way forward

[Quote]
My country? Is the abode of a tolerant Islam in South Asia, made up of the descendents of the Indus, Gandhara civilizations - between two historic powers - Iran and India - This is my Pakistan, a young country that is ages old in spirit.

Well said!

^^^^^

likhay musa parhay esa.

I agree wholeheartedly

Just to give a food-related example Ahmed, Shezan and Mitchell's jams, pickles and squashes are way better than any desi products that I have tried so far but sadly they have n't promoted their products abroad as well as their Indian counterparts notably Pattak. I mean Pattak pickles are really no way as good as Ahmed's but in the UK atleast Pattak sells more than any other desi products

And there is no drink IMO more refreshing than Rooh Afza but it is very hard to find it here even in a Pakistani store.

We Pakistanis (well the vast majority of us anyway and pak-one I am sure you are no different) seem to be impressed at once by someone who is fluent in English, has a foreign degree etc. Even now that is used as a yardstick by most 'educated' familes when gauging rishtas. Pakistanis more than any other desis seem to have this complex big time. Until and unless we get rid of this inferiority complex we cannot progress as a nation.

I am not a big fan of the word 'nationalism'. Nationalism breeds intolerance, hatred and narrow-mindedness. Patriotism is a better word. I see myself as a Pakistani who takes pride in our history and culture but at the same time is not intolerant of other peoples' points of view.

These are excellent examples!

Look at Pakistani rice, it can be marketted much better. The other day, I saw an Indian company selling Pakistani rice (it said that the rice was from Pakistan), I thought to myself whats up with that? Then I realized that the Indian firm had greater market penetration, a strong brand, and importing rice from Pakistan must have made sense for them in their business model.

I second the Rooh-Afza..I mean milk and rooh-afza is probably as refreshing drink as Maaza’s Mango shake (Indian-American) firm.

This marketting has to take place on EVERY level. From our products, to invrestment opportunities in Pakistan, to tourism. I know that we always read those articiles and the news is full of terrorism in Pakistan, but lets take that further:

• Pakistan was identified by my firm in teh next crop of emerging countries.
  • Cost of business is lowest in South Asia.
  • Lets talk about dangerous: Israel, a nation that is always under threat of violence still markets itself as a tourism hotpot (when we all know that Lebanon is better), investment capital (when Turkey and Iran have mroe evolved exonomies). Why is that? Yes we can talk about politics, but lets talk about their marketting and approach.

Lets promote Pakistan, rather than waste time talking politics. Do SOMETHING, make good money for yourself, create jobs in Pakistan.

We need more videos like this:

Asif, I think you're absolutely right. We do have many complexes but the question always remains: If our eastern neighbor can overcome (or set aside) such complexes, why can't we?

Sure you can replace the word nationalism with patriotism because my intention is not to be narrow minded or filled with hate. Even my references to India are not to bash the country but to give an example what can be done.

Sure ALL countries problems including India, Israel but they have been able to sideline their issues and marketed themselves very well. Many of Pakistan's problems stem from the economic front for example, we all hear about madrasas and their influence on society. Well, why are parents sending their kids to madrasas? In many instances it is because the government support schools are non existant or non functioning, besides many madrasas provide room and board, and teach Islam...A poor parent will not say no. I know this becuase I asked more than a few parents in my hometown in Pakistan.

In order for Pakistan to move out of the mess, is to bring itself up to the international standards. Looing at India, we saw the "Shining India" campaign and being in Davos at the time, all I saw was Indian posters from the business council. The marketing saturation was legendary.

I feel strongly about this because I do get the chance to travel and attend conferences where Pakistan is not even mentioned as a possibility. Right now, I am leading a project which I hope will impact Pakistan's corporte finance infustructure, so this isn't just all talk..I want to make it happen.

Patak's is not an Indian product .... it is a British company established in UK by some Indian origin person (from Africa) .... infact Patak's products are not sold in Indian at all !!!!!!

And i agree Ahmed's taste in better for they are products more for Paksitani/ Indian origin people while as Patak's caters more to the western palate.

Re: Pakistani Nationalism: The only way forward

Nationalism and chauvinism are different things bhai. I know a lot of Indians, Americans, Brits etc. and many of them openly criticize their country as well. I have some Indian friends who admit openly that their Hindu caste system is a disgrace as well as India's atrocities in Held Kashmir are wrong. My American friends criticize the Iraq fiasco and the civilian casualties caused by US military bombings.

When things are going crappy inside Pakistan, you cannot expect overseas Pakistanis to cover up and say "Pakistan is great, sab kuch acha hai"

Real patriotism is when you have the guts to say - This is not correct, we need to change. When Musharraf made a mockery of the Supreme Court, the real patriots were those who stood up and protested. When Mukhtar Mai was raped and Musharraf joked about it, the real patriots are the ones who called him out.

aam bandha> Thanks for the clarification. Ok call it a British Indian product

But the Q really is why have these big PAK companies (add Adam Jee to that list as well) not promoted their products abroad as well as they should. With a 1 million strong community of Pakistani origin (whether or not they were born here) living in Britain there is no way these companies would ever make a loss even if the local goras did not buy their products at all. Most Pakistanis like myself won’t hesitate one bit about which jams, pickles, chutneys, squashes etc. to buy (if they were readily available here). Call it laziness, indifference (i.e we are making enough money in Pakistan so why bother promoting our products abroad!) or whatever, it is simply beyond me as to why they have n’t done more to sell their products here.

And I don’t think I am exaggerating here when I say that Orange juices in Britain taste more like cough mixtures :hoonh:. I am sure most Pakistanis living in the UK w’d agree with me on that.

I have not agreed with your some of your earlier posts.

But this one a great post.:biggthumb

But I must say Pak One does have a point. We need to get out of boxes...I think thats what he is trying to say.

Modern day arabs including SOME Palestinians who SOME Pakistani support do not give a damn about Pakistani people no matter how much these Pakistani try to show solidarity with them.

Many Pakisani do rightfully acknowledge their ancestors for many good deeds they did in the past.

(I have not read posts after this one as of yet)

As you have pointed it out yourself it all comes down to the economics of venture. Thay have a market of 140 million to concentrate on and why would they worry about a million market. It is a niche market … overseas Pakistani … which gets catered by local businessmen based in Uk or US for that matter.

Re: Pakistani Nationalism: The only way forward

there is no such thing as nationalism - it is simply the latest excuse some people have adopted to rationalize why India with all the diversity is more peaceful than Pakistan. Most Pakistanis believe in Pakistan just as most Indians believe in India.

The only way forward, if there is such a thing, is fr Pakistan to seek a peaceful relationship with India

Well said.