haha i didnt read most of the responses. ppl in this part of gs write to much.
but sure they are all trying to get ahead in pakiland.
but the ones here. arent goin anywhere. atleast i dont know of any, that have made a big/ paki impact in america
This is one of the best threads that i have seen in GS. Mr Shafiq Khan, people like u are an asset to Pakistan. Although I do not agree with all your points but most of them make sense and were very detailed. Thanks for bringing in posts like these...
FartGuru man your replies were very good. Thats why I say that it was a good intellectual thread. Both sides had detailed analysis and excellent arguments. FartGuru many of ur posts seem very logical....except ur nick...... I crack up whenever i hear it( just kidding mate pls don't mind)
All in all, it was a pleasure reading this thread
So Shafiq Khan I hear your gripes and concerns but let me ask you a simple question.
“What have you done for your country lately?”
Are you just a complainer sitting in Canada or are you gonna do something about it. Are you gonna volunteer your vacation and go to Pakistan and assist the wretched and the refused? or sunny Jamaica here I come. Are you gonna go and talk to politicians or just post your gripes on a forum. What are you going to do?
It’s easy to point out defects, and complain, but to take a stand and admit that it’s not the country but we the people that are at fault will take some time. Once people realize that they are responsible for their countries failure. Things will change.
BTW most of the things that you point out happen in well developed countries. In Canada there is a big scandal about the PM giving contracts that came back as campaign donations( you know what I am talking about). I have heard corrupt NYC police officers. People jack up their prices in US.
Buy a pack of cigarettes (I dont smoke) in a deli and then compare it with the prices at JFK (difference of night and day).
Go to a rural farm in Minnesota or Wisconsin and you will see a farmer with his assets (kids) tending land. Corrupt politicians, lol, OK lets start with Tom DeLay, the congressman in Ohio.
Talk about lazy workers, in Corporate america everybody is a meeting goer anda papaer pusher pushing work to the lower levels. Nobody wants to bust their ass and take responsibility should things go awry. So everyone uses CYA (cover your ass) and pushes work down.
Let me know if you want to discuss this more.
the things will definitely if we realize our shorcommings etc. but nobody wants to admit here and its like ‘If u can do this I can do more than that’ kind of thing.
and I guess giving example of martha stewart etc. served a good purpose as to say that there is some justice being met (although you can go to www.informationclearinghouse.info and see its NOT done in many cases in US)
but why always giving excuses and counter excuses and why not stand up and say Yes we are corrupt and we need to take a stand against this.
Boota,
Do you know what J.F Kennedy Said once: **Ask not what your country can do for you , But what you can do for your country **.
It concludes the whole thing…Balance and positive criticisim is that where you show the problems,..and also give the right solutions. I can write 20 books over this issue,..But I must give the solution too,..If you can’t then better Shut UP and Get over it.
^^ Thank you. One of my favorite quote is ask not what a country can do for you, but what you can do for your country.
Initially my take was the same come and complain, but it's negative to complain. I take my 2 week vacation and go to a remote village in pakistan and help the villagers. My other 2 weeks I spend with my wife and kids. I am not telling this so I can get a pat on my back or a kick in my ass or both but just one humble citizens approach to a big puzzle.
There is a phrase," Hands don’t need mirror" (haath kanggan ko arsi kiya).
Living in Canada does not mean that I am unaware what is happening in Pakistan. I can challenge to any Pakistani who is living in Karachi, Lahore, Bhai Pheru or Tandao Adam that I am more informed about the affairs of the country than those.
Hiding face in the sands would only shoot our own foot.
When sun rises, sun does not have to knock every door to tell it’s presence but the world knows it that sun has risen.
When Pakistan will do something, the world will know automatically. Whatever a bit pomp and show and TOR you see on the streets in Pakistan is just because of 9/11, it’s support to coalition forces.
Regarding India, the world economic experts say that by the year 2015, India will be the THIRD largest economy of the world and America’s biggest business partner. They have lots of problems in India too but when they come to nationalism, they are not Punjabi, Pathan, Mohajir, Sindhi, Balochi, Shia, Sunni, Wahabi etcetera but simply Indians.
I don’t believe in empty slogans and armpit beatings and believe in realities and action.
We got to be realistic and reasonable while responding to anyone in question, whether in person or by mail.
What you want me to do?
I am not a political leader. I am not MNA, MPA, Wazir Kabeer or President or Prime Minister of Pakistan. Without power no one can do anything. What those jerks doing with power…first you ask them than me as I am a common citizen out of 150 Million people.
I don’t know whether you are Pakistani or Indian. If Pakistani and Muslim, you must be knowing that a soldier is not only that who goes to the frontier to fight the enemy during the time of war but every teacher, mother, father, businessman, labor, shopkeeper, journalist is also a soldier and every individual’s job is to perform his delegated duties and responsibilities with HONESTY wherever he/she is. In a country of SIXTEEN CRORE, our three forces personnel are less than TEN Lacs. What do you think, besides those TEN lacs, all are gadhay, robots and dummies.
If you read Qur’an, it clearly says, to earn halal rizq for yourself and your family is also jehad and sawaab. If every single out of 150 million pull his socks, the entire society will become angel. I am doing respectable and halal rizq for my family, out of my valuable time, I use ink of my pen to fight against corruption in the country and I am also among the millions of overseas Pakistanis who who live outside Pakistan and contribute towards the country’s foreign reserves by sending Dollars to Pakistan…What do you do?..You don’t even have a courage to write articles and comments by your own real name and live in camouflage…and now you have a nerve to ask me that what am I doing for the country!!! Bravo pal, you are a real Pakistani.
My point is and was,…when you are busy pointing out the problems,…then why don’t you just offer some solutions too. Your approach is one sided. I wanna see what kind a solution you have on your mind to fix 57 years old problems.
Waiting for response now. Take your time and give us the solutions now.
you can always give your point of view and ask others to Shut up and get over it.
somebody has to start somewhere..
let me tell you . i m a programmer working for some foreign company.. and I do my work as honestly as possible and thats wat my parents have taught me to earn a Halal living.
besides that.. I can;t go to a clerk and ask him NOT to take bribe. for my part I never bribed anyone no matter wat the matter was.
I m a law abiding citizen.. doing my work. I dont cheat ppl and i dont steal. and i dont envy if someone is getting ahead of me in true sense.
wat else could I do. and I with my friends did write to the govt. offices the complains that ppl have and difficulties that I and others face in public.
Isn;t that wat i should b doing? or wat more u think i should b doing that I won;t b asked to shut up and get over it again?
Sorry friend,.......My statement was not directed at you...It was directed at Shafiq Khan....Writing and criticizing is very easy,..but offering right solutions is a bit difficult. If he lost something in Pakistan, it doesn't mean to start criticizing and implying with his writings that Pakistan is the only country on this planet which has this kind issues/problems.
These black sheeps once come out of Pakistan then they think its their holy duty to always show one side of the picture. Bribery is everywhere,..even in USA too.
Give me the name of any country on this planet where they don't have any problems ?
I have seen these kind a DEMONS here in USA too,..They have agendas behind their every writing/Articles etc.
I asked Shafiq To show me where an Indian is talking about his country the same way as he talking about Pakistani people and giving the labels such as:
But if you analyze realistically and honestly, they are hypocrite, crooks, mean, materialistic, dishonest, corrupt, complacent, self-centered, arrogant, snobbish, inhuman, greedy, selfish.
Have you ever seen any post anywhere on the net where an Indian is using this kind a pathetic language against Indians...No Buddy you won't see that,..I visit discussion forums on the net too. Haven't seen any anything like Shafiq.
Mr. Shafiq **,...If you got a political asylum or anyother way to become resident of Canada,..it doesn't mean that by using their Welfare dollars you have a holy duty to criticize Pakistan. Many black sheeps have come and gone like yourself,..I accept there are some problems in Pakistan,...But it doesn't give me any justification to show only negative side.
I challenge Shafiq, to show me or provide any link where an Indian is harshly criticizing India as he is doing aganist Pakistan.
Spit-out your real agenda Shafiq,...what are you upto ?....do you have to prove in canadian court that you are anti-Pakistan element,..that's why they kicked you out,..and you need Asylum in Canada,...BTW,..No one gives a damn about your Education background,..or what you were,...Everyone on this Gupshup forum may have more credentials than you....It doesn't help you in any way.
If you can bring some Positive solution to discussion table then well and good otherwise Take your bloody welfare canadian dollars and relax
You are not my type and I cannot reduce myself to your level. On the same page read my background while addressing to Fartguru, who is basically is polished and nice guy.
Normally, in America Pakistanis drive cabs, work on the gas stations, live 20 people in one room and slip away somewhere in the country after entering on visit visa but not in Canada.
I did not come to Canada on refugee status and am a Canadian citizen. I advise you to look on the Canadian Ciitizenship website and read rights and obligations where as a Canadian citizen I have the same rights as the white Canadian or the Prime Minister of Canada.
Let me know when you come to Toronto, I will show you, I work as Vice President Marketing for a Canadian company. I have SEVEN university Degrees and programs from Canada and Pakistan including M.A (Honors) English Major, M.A(International Relations), Human Resources Management, Financial Planning and a Degree in Law. My wife is PHd in Chemistry and works for the United Nations in New York.
Basically, I am a very polite and nice guy but I don’t believe throwing haddi to dog and believe in kicking it’s “A” (back). This time I have ignored you but next time let me tell you that I memorise Webster and Collins by heart so you won’t see me behind using obnoxious and “F” words…choice is yours.
I don’t write on GUPSHUP for your sake or to please any individual but write for common masses, if you don’t like it just buzz off.
Writing is not my profession and my cup of tea, I just write for the sake of my passion and have been writing for last 12 years. I have come across one million “killay” on my way like you but I walked away simply kicking those out. Rest assure, I won’t stop writing by built-in-hatred criticism like yours.
By the way, have you any connection with the lady Shahnaz or you are writing in disguise in her personation?
Mr. Shafiq,
May be you are right that people drive Cabs,..and 20 pople live in one bedroom apartment. I have seen those people coming from Gujrat and working honestly and supporting their families…
In your case,** YOU ARE LEGEND IN YOUR OWN MIND **…Which I can see that.
My Parents are Md’s and have side businesses too,..I myself have more credentials than you which I never use, Coz here I don’t have anyone to impress or feel superior than others.
People like yourself,..who are in canada,…collecting free social services dollars and thinking that they have the holy duty to criticize their own mother land here,
Perverts like you forget onething that there are some people here who Love Pakistan even with its shortcomings.
I don’t have to read your profile or post regarding,..what the hell you been or you are now,..
But onething you must remember and keep on your mind,…If you can’t offer any real solutions to those problems,..then I shall keep humiliating you on every turn.
How polished are you,.I think by now everyone knows.
As I said,..and saying it again,…listen very carefully,…Here on GS people have more credentials and more polished and nicer than you,…I hope its going in your brain,…If not then too bad.
I respect and Salute those Pakistanis who are supporting their families in Pakistan,…and leading happy life where ever they are.
I came to USA,..when I was 6 years old,..all my elementary to University level education is from here ( New York ). My Highest level of education is not relevent to any discussion here,..My father served as a Professor in pakistan army Medical college Rawalpindi. He left Pakistan 20 years ago and we have almost every member of our family ( Uncles/aunts here ).By the grace of God,..we all are economically sound and well respected.
The image you just described of New York city about pakistanis,…Buddy,..they are million times better than you and they never use words as you labeled Pakistanis in your low post. People like you who come to canada,…they clean their toilets and collect welfare and think high of themselves.
As I said before,… YOU ARE **LEGEND IN YOUR OWN MINDS **… Bloody moron,..If other people say you are polished then you are polished,…For heaven sake don’t flatter yourself,..here,..I can’t stop Laughing,…All my colleagues/Classfellow will read your idiotic **Self Praising **comments and will enjoy your stupidity and Polished image…My foot.
Wake up and look around…If ever I found your un-balanced post,..I shall be the first one there to stop your slandering and ranting,…Kapeesh
Well, whether you have more degrees than me or your parents are Mds but one thing is clear that you were not brought up properly. . Secondly living from the age of 6 year does not qualify you being sensible and superior as janitors and washroom cleaners have also been living in America since birth. Sometimes angels have evils in their homes.
Secondly, who the hell you are to advise me do this do that? Do you send three times meal at my door in Toronto, so I listen to you? Pakistan kissi kay baap ka mulk naheen hai. I have free will and right to criticise or discount Pakistan or Pakistani. If someone has pain in the neck, go to…
Could you just buzz off of my back and leave me alone and go to your pind and smell fresh gobbar in your backyard.
Whether you are phannay Khan or Turram Khan, for me you are Zero because you don’t have manners to start conversation. If I am criticising, who has given you right to be aggressive and rude to a stranger? Ek he ratt laga rakhee hai welfare welfare. If you have more qualification than me than you should also know that only people at the poverty level or jobless are entitled/collect welfare. A Vice President who earns over 2,00.000 Dollars cannot get welfare goof! I guess, welfare has deep down in your brain because you have been collecting welfare in States since the age of 6!!! Gobbar charhh gaya hai aap kay dimagh ko. Go to one of the MDs you are referring, they will treat you free being relative to you.