Pakistani music

Me being an Indian and all, I’d like to say that Pakistan has great talent, especially in the area of music, folk, pop and classical. So why must you guys pay so much attention to Indian music. Man, Bollywood music is really nowhere compared to some of the talent you guys have… in fact Indian’s seem to appreciate your talent more, then lure the Pakistanis to become Indian performers. Why don’t you people cherish your strengths and instead of being so emotionally attached to some other country, be loyal to you own?

:jhanda:

Re: Pakistani music

Well most of the pakistanis do follow pakistani music now. the reason they didn do it b4 was that we had only few pop singers (nazia hassan, alamgir, muhammad ali shekhi and vital signs) and they would just sing one song on the national channel instead of launching albums (they did after a while). On the other hand the indian industry was so huge and glamourus that all the pakistanis followed indian music industry.

But now pakistani music industry is also getting bigger and producing some really good stuff with alot of variety that is causing the young generations (including me) turning their attention back to pakistani industry.

and most of the people know that 90% of the music produced by rajesh roshan, nadeem sharvan, and altaf raja is a carbon copy of the music produced by pakistani artists, and its causing pakistani ppl to respect their own music more.

5 years ago if u would ask a pakistani guy that who is your favourite singer, he would say kumar sanu or sonu nigam, and if u ask the same question now they would say atif aslam, strings, ali zafar, abrar ul haq, junoon.

and not to mention pakistani singers are popular in india aswell as none of the pakistani singers has ever launched a FLOP album in india.

-Ghulam ali launched "AWARGI" that made jagjit singh his fan.
-Sajjad Ali launched "Cindrella" which was a huge hit in india and topped the ranks for weeks
-Ali haider launched "Chaahat" with hits like PURANI JEANS and CHAAND SA MUKHRA and SAYONI
-Junoon launched "Azaadi" that won record number of awards for a single album including MTV award.
-Adnan sami launched many albums but he doesnt like to be called pakistani now lol, he wants to be called canadian aur british sometimes lol. FAG
-Atif Aslam launched "jalpari" in india now he is one of the succesful background singers in india (although abhijeet and sunidhi chauhan hate him)
- Jal the band launched "Adat" in india and it was such a hit that they were offered to do an all india tour for concerts but they could do only 6 cities.
-Strings have launched 2 albums in india and their songs have been taken into indian movies aswell
-Ali Zafar launched "Masti" in india that was a hit aswell.

PS - my favourite singer is still kishore and always will be ;)

Well that's good to know because there is incredible talent in Pakistan and Pakistanis need to recognize and appreciate that.

We know we got talent:dhimpak:

Balle balle!

Has anyone heard this new singer Omer Nadeem...amazing voice/music!!
let me post a link, tell me what you think Nikky

Yeah do that Ask.

My entire family in India is crazy for Pakistani music. Sometimes we catch Paki channels where we live and we totally love to watch them. My dad even records their shows and performances.

he sounds like Atif in the beginning, but changes. I am in love with this song lately:):music:

aww thats so cute that your Abu records the programs.Ask him to get the Musiq and indus channel...Pakistani Music 24/7 and I think its abt 7 dollars or so a month

The song is ok but the singer is trying his butt off to sound like Atif aslam.

Hmmm nice. I'll go search for more of him.

He sounds like him in the beginning but later I think he has his own style...believe me I know as I am a big big fan of Atif Aslam:D

Also he has worked with both Atif and Roxen band, so his music sounds a fusion of both:)

Do tell tell me too:D

wow what a nice song Ask99 liked it.

As far as my observation is concerned, people mostly like Bollywood ‘movies’ songs not their solo singers. I mean as we have Najam Shiraz and other singers who do not sing as the play back singers in our movies, people do listen to them in Pakistan, humari apni lollywood ki movies main jis kisam ka music hota hai people cann’t really admire that kind of a music you know so they like the quality music which they find in Bollywood movies. Humara pop music abhi bhi log suntay hain and indian singers copy the tunes aswell.

I like many oldie goldie songs composed by our great musicians. Such as “Mujhay Dil se Na bhulana” etc etc

The reason why many Pakistani artists goto India is because in Pakistan we dont have a proper music industry. Up until last year, there wasnt even a proper record label, and even the one now, gives the artists peanuts.

Now there are 3 big record labels in pakistan including The MUSIK records (owned by ary digital) and the AAG records (owned by JANG group). and yes they pay peanuts to new artists and that is justified if u see the copyright laws of pakistan and the piracy level, but i think wat a new artist wants is the recognition on the national media and doesn matter he gets paid something or no, or atleast that would be a logical approach. but u can not expect artists like abrar ul haq, or atif aslam or ali zafar aur ali azmat to get paid peanuts.

Eco, these 'big record' labels are hardly big. They dont even have independent offices and aren't very professional either. Try emailing them, and you'll find out what I mean. They might be alright for new and emerging artists but not for established musicians. If there is no money, the artists shy out from releasing more music (its not just about national recognition).

well i have a different observation .. which might b related to topic ..
Y indian cable operators dont show Pakistani Music channels in India ? :konfused:
none of indian friends (who follow music) knows abt Pakistani upcoming singers until they are launched in India

nop they r not small. as u would know ARY (Abdul razzaq yakoob group) is a multi millionair group and is also owner company of Ary digital channels and THE MUZIK channel, and as for recent news after launching "ARY DIGITAL INDIA" they are also introducing their record label "THE MUZIK RECORDS" in india and now its gona compete names like Universal records. its not small atoll.

And AAG records is owned by JANG GROUP, which is the owner company of GEO TV. yeah thats not small.

u can call em small if u compare em with the indian companies, but dont forget our pupolation is not even one fourth of theirs, and we also dont have those many artists, and dont forget the copyright laws that we have.

yeah sonic is the biggest pakistani record label if u count the cd's produced, but they target a diffrent market, same goes for the SADAF records.