Pakistani Motor Car

Dear GS Guys

AOA

Was just going through the immage gallery when I came across a thread regarding a donkey/car jokingly labelled as Pakistan’s First Car.

Here’s some very important news for you.

Pakistan was the the First Islamic Country in the world which made a ***4 Wheel Drive Jeep ***of its own in late 60’s called ***NAYA DAUR ***in collaboration with **WILLIS **jeep.

Pakistan was the First Islamic Country in the world which was about to manufacture its own ***Motocycles ***in early 70’s with the collaboration of **JAVA **motorcycle but the process was soon abandoned.

Pakistan was the First Islamic Country in the world which had made its own prototype ***Diesel Engines ***by the Lahore based company called ***BECO ***(Battala Engineering Company).

And last but not the least;

Pakistan really was the First Islamic Country in the world which actually made a Motor Car of its own in early 70’s with the collaboration of SKODA Motors. It was named SKOPAK. The prototypes had been made, the production was about to be started soon, but alas…

The 1971 war with the separation of East Pakistan, had its toll in each and every aspect. The country met an economic shock, the economic readjustments by Mr Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto, lead to a stagerring 127% (approx)depriciation in the value of Pakistani Ruppee. All the industries were ***Nationalised ***and…

The production of ***NAYA DAUR ***jeeps was stopped as their production in the country was not cost effective by then.

The ***Motorcycle ***project was blown to pieces.

The BECO was nationalised and was converted into PECO (Pakistan Engineering Company) which instead of making Diesel Engines was put on manufacturing PECO Bicycles…

And SKOPAK CAR project died forever.

Dear Countrymen, it is my extremely humble request. Please do not make fun of your country. Yes I admit we have a lot of shortcomings, but who has’nt.

Please, take care of this country as it has been caring for all of us. Instead of making fun, just try to figure out What went wrong and where?

You can well imagine that Pakistan was way ahead in late 60’s then most of the Asian Giants, and the proof of its greatness is that although…

Pakistan could not continue the production of its Jeeps, although

Pakistan could not start the manufacturing of its own Motorcycles, although

Pakistan could not continue with its production of Diesel Engines, & although

Pakistan could not continue its project of SkoPak Cars, yet it succeeded in doing something which only 6 countries in the world had done before, i.e.,

PAKISTAN ACHIEVED THE DISTINCTION OF BECOMING ISLAMIC WORLDS FIRST AND WORLDS SEVENTH NUCLEAR POWER…

LONG LIVE PAKISTAN, LONG LIVE PAKSITANIS AND LONG LIVE PAKISTANIAT.

Love for all the Pakistanis.

Re: Pakistani Motor Car

Quite a heartfelt post. And its largely true, that most people are commentators about the state of affairs and very few actually think of solutions.

Re: some of your comments made about Pakistan, while largely they are on point, isn't it disappointing to see that we don't want to compete with rest of the world, rather are happy to pat ourselves on the back by being the first **muslim **country to do this, that and the other thing?

I believe, muslims, like any other person, are blessed with appropriate number of brain cells by our Creator and hence we should be taking on the world, rather then competing just against other muslim countries. In that regard, while we may not be the world leaders in developing motor cars, motor cycles or even bicycles, I am always happy to note that several Pakistan companies are working on cutting edge technologies where they take on the world and produce great quality work.

thats the positive attitude that we need in all of us!

we need to spread awareness in our people!!

thankyou

:jhanda:

Faisal bhai ur right

but Dr saab’s intention was probably to motivate us more & create awareness..

nice post but as far as I recall Pakistan created a car in 80's called proficient I respectfully disagree with the fact that having the nuclear tech over shadow's the gain/loss of local economy, had Pakistan gov't encouraged the motor industry by this day we would have our local tech popular in the growing world and they could have shake hand with the giant's like Toyota...etc

I am happy that Pakistan has enough aresenal to make the enemies think again, however I would be proud when social values will prevail for every Pakistani living in Pakistan.

Dr Sufi

great post, I would however add that there are some posts which are pessimistic and lookign down at the country and others could be just the ability to laugh at ourselves. I recall posting a thread witha donkey cart where the cart had so much weight on it that the donkey was hanging in the air as it if was about to take off and the caption that came to mind was Pakistan's answer to the space shuttle.

I think being able to chuckle at our own follies, strengths, weaknesses, attitudes, within some limits just shows being comfortable, and not being defensive. yeah when it is degrading then no one should stay quiet but ability to take light jabs is good.

So it was bhutto who brought PECO bicycles to Pakistanis?! Good man, that bhutto.

lekin Sohraab kee baat hee alag hai :layd:

Pakistanis were always ahead. Emirates airlines has won numerous awards, & was no.1 airline of the year in da past. Who made it...Pakistan & Pakistanis. Rock on Pakistan.

I'm sure, someday, there will be a Pakistani, who will build a V12, 1001hp, 200+mph recordbreaker, in Pakistan itself. Till then let da Italians perfect it.

Someday, somewhere, a Pakistani will lead da Ntire nation to prosperity & world superiority. Ameen

Hazoor (S.A.W.W) nay farmaya tha, mujhe mashreq se thandi hawa mahsoos horahi hai.

gets up and claps

Dr. Sufi :~) that was one hell of a post.

I wish there were more muhib-e-vatan log...

I thought Bhattu was the biggest genius to have walked the earth...

^ if nationalisation is equivalent of "genius" than yes he was :)

Rather than competing with the world in auto industry or any other industry we should rather gather our strengths in building a solid infrastructure, feeding the entire population, bringing down the population growth rate(it is 2.06% for Pakistan now), and cutting down on expenses.

just to add, ADAM motors has launched a car called Revo, using cloned suzuki engines on a basic Fiat/suzuki/something chassis, its not all that great in detail, finish or engineering, but still its a proper car and its proudly made in Pakistan

Found an interesting read. Have a look.

u can add the first VCR to that list too.. long before NOBEL was even on the scene. I wonder what component of NOBEL's parts are still foreign?

inna lillahi wa ina ilahi rajioun..

Very interesting link indeed :k:

Dr. Sufi nice research, and fabolously well crafted post

Thats one of the biggest myths in Pakistan...the genius part...meglomaniac is more like it...

[quote=Fraudz]
Dr Sufi

.....great post.....

Thanx for the compliments Sir.

.....I would however add that there are some posts which are pessimistic and lookign down at the country and others could be just the ability to laugh at ourselves.....

I agree with you Sir, you are absolutely right.

.....I recall posting a thread witha donkey cart where the cart had so much weight on it that the donkey was hanging in the air.....

Sir I did not go through this one. Any way I really appreciate your comments and thoughfulness

Regards