Pakistani Molvis

Re: Pakistani Molvis

Minor details like how to do wudu, things that can break wudu, things that can nullify prayer etc....I'm not saying that these things aren't important but when each molvi has different opinions and there is no stress on *khushu, *these things take out the spirit of religion.

okay Saudi molvis then.

oh ok. true.

what's khushu?

It means devotion.

thats true.

Molvis pata nai kahan se islam main wo batain nikal latay hain jo kabhi na suni hoti hain na daikhi hoti hain…

a few days back, while i was watching my aunt’s wedding movie, my cousin who is on his third or fourth year asked me aapi muj se saadi kalo gi (will you marry me) i smiled and said “why not my dear”. one of my auntie who was also sitting there nagged me “tumhay nai pata is tarah nikah ho jata hai” i was like :eek:

i asked her who said so? she replied a few months back a molvi’s told this in his speech :smack:

^lolzz....congrats Innocent, you're a married woman now.

:hehe: naiiiiiii aisa nai ho sakta…:omg:

Having one fiance is very much enough for me :hehe:

O my innocent and ignorant people - who may have not visited Pakistan in ages ..... Education is not the key here - Economics is !

People who send their kids to Madrassa and other islamic welfare schools arent keen about them getting the right education ... They send them so these kids can get some free food every day and couple of clothes every year - which them as parents are unable to provide . And Our government as the guardian institution not willing to cater ..

In this whole game - education comes as the cherry on the top ... you know what I mean ?

so mere Bholay BhalaY loGooN - as some wise man once said

Masla saRa Iqtaysadii hai
kahiiN pe Ghum hai kahiiN pe Shadi hai

^everyone here is almost saying the same thing meray bhai.

What an arrogant way of addressing others!

You still defended ‘educated’ people. The real culprits.

Why do you think it’s not? What is the basic requirement for nikkah in terms of religion only?

Ummm, because for a third and fourth year old to ask is not valid.

The misconception is there, jaahil moulvies are there and then these kind of scenario myths/misconceptions and extremism is not uncommon outside Pakistan and in other religions.

So if other countries have and can survive with myths and uneducated people then Pakistan too.

Sar e Aaina Koi Aks Hai
Pas e Aaina Koi Aur Hai

(Changed the shayr here)

^I thought she meant some 3rd or 4th year in terms of high schooling or whatever. But assuming both are over puberty or 'mature', then?

Allah merey Islam ko in molvis se mehfoooooz rakhey.........Aameen!

@stoppit nahi hota. for nikkah to happen a witness must be there and the documents are required to. if a girl says to a guy or vice versa that will you maary me? and the answer comes yes then that doesnot mean they are now married....that only means they both have consent for each other but they arenot married unless they officially go for it.

Indirectly on topic question.

In Mutah maybe, if you believe in that, but that still needs someone to acknowledge what it is, what intention there is ;) and it willl not be done in vain.

Other than that, like it is said above, to reduce problems in future, witnesses and paper work is required and Quran also advice that. Albeit it was on financial transaction. Still better to write down nikah terms as at least common sense practice.

This example is perfect. By education I don't mean PhD vs undergrad. I mean critical thinking. Questioning what you hear and considering both sides of the argument before forming your own opinion.

I'm sorry but this is exactly the problem. Why does someone else have to lead you? I'm sure you have access to the Quran yourself. I think you should read the books of both, people you tend to agree with, and disagree with, to get a whole sided view of religion. Read some writings by atheists as well, what makes them adamant in their beliefs? Then decide for yourself. While some people are in the "religion business" just to make money, most people take years to arrive at their conclusion and you can read their books to see if you arrive at the same conclusion. And your beliefs should never be set. You will gain a broader view of your life as you grow and your views should grow with you.

As others have mentioned, not all molvis are bad. But the "bad outweighs the good", to quote the Quran.

And to the person who mentioned economics, I think economics is a part of it but economics causes a lack of, or misleading, education which keeps the public ignorant to broader issues and views. I agree that living conditions need to improve but until you fix the education, you will just create better fed, and still angry, people.

Since 9/11 the entire culture of susceptible people in Pakistan has changed. That's the worst thing Bush has done: he has blown a fuse and turned some moderates into extremists. What needs to be done is to capture the moderates and dry up the talent pool of the terrorists. If they have no one to influence, then they are just old men sitting in their caves and houses. Economics addresses some of this, but you really have to engage the people and empower them to make their own decisions without the bias of external issues such as Palestine and Iraq.

I also think the country needs to be secular. Someone mentioned that there are religious nuts in other countries as well but separation of church and state assures that other religions are respected. When the crazy pastor wanted to burn the Quran, the majority of people in America condemned is actions. Sadly, I don't think nearly as many people would even care in Pakistan.

actually i found the arab mullahs specially the follower of salafism the worst. Pakistani Mullahs are pretty decent compare to the lots of Saudi & Egypt.

Corrupt Politicians and Secular cartoons are the biggest threat to this country and to Islam but they will be defeated very soon