Pakistani Media and abuse of freedom

I was a regular DAWN and JANG reader in Pakistan and try to read the online versions pretty much everyday. I used to like these news papers due to their almost unbiased reporting and analysis but from last 4-5 months I am getting a feeling that JANG is almost playing “ANTI MUSHARRAF”. All the news and analysis in JANG these days are ANTI MUSHARRAF. JANG is quoting sources “farishtey” and crap these days.

What made me post this is a heading in JANG stating that “SUPREME COURT has asked Musharraf not to threat Martial Law” and when you read the details (fine print that is) you come to know that it’s actually “SUPREME COURT BAR ASSOCIATION” and not “SUPREME COURT” that gave this statement. Statement was given by SUPREME COURT BAR ASSOCIATION’s president “MUNIR A MALIK” who is a Peoples Party leader and Musharraf’s opponent. This was not even an analysis. This was a simple news and JANG has put a “anti musharraf spin” on it! (source: Daily Jang: Urdu News - Latest Breaking News update Pakistan - jang.com.pk)

If Pakistani media keeps walking the same path, some day someone will wrap up the freedom they are enjoying now!

Re: Pakistani Media and abuse of freedom

duniya ke saare media aise hi hain.raai ka pahad bana dete hain

IF Jang is anti musharraf ..then i think you have never tuned to Nawa-i-waqt....

man ..jang group ..owner ...is a supporter of musharraf.....

GEO ...is creating pakistan inian cultural mixture efforts....

and his owner says...whats the difference ...mumbai ...will give us double circulation....

only GEO hamid Mir is a fair person...Kamran Khan also favours Musharraf....

and ARY ONE ..Ayyaz Ameer..Kashif Abbasi..and Asma Sherazzi ...do neutral and excellent covering....

Jang ..never will say anything to dictator ..on uniform issue in his editorials...

hahahaha thats only Abas Ansari who talks to farishtas everyday. BTW, I always thought Ansari saab was smoking something illegal. :)

anything against the emperor is obviously biased, notwithstanding the fact that in the past 4 months, he has gone from one blunder to another. So when a paper like Dawn calls spade a spade, obviously we have to take it with a pinch of salt :biggthumb

Just check out this biased editorial. What is up with that.

‘If elected…’](http://www.dawn.com/2007/09/19/ed.htm#1)

THINGS have not become as clear as one would have wished after the counsel for President Pervez Musharraf pledged to the Supreme Court on Tuesday that his client would give up his army uniform “if elected president”. The substantive paragraph of the letter given to the apex court by Syed Sharifuddin Pirzada needs to be reproduced. It said, “If elected for a second term as president, General Pervez Musharraf shall relinquish charge of office of chief of army staff soon after election and before taking oath of office as president.” What happens if he is not elected? Will Gen Musharraf, in that case, continue to remain the army chief and breathe down the necks of the president and the prime minister? The letter also does not clear up another major issue: will the president seek re-election by the existing assemblies or by those that will come into being as a result of the parliamentary elections due later this year? The letter to the Supreme Court assumes that there is no bar on a government employee from seeking a political office within two years of retirement.

This is an issue on which the apex court has yet to give a ruling.

One wishes President Musharraf had shown a bit more confidence in himself. Notwithstanding his current rating, the earlier part of his rule saw some positive developments that included a consistently high rate of economic growth and the partial success of the normalisation process with India; and — barring some unsavoury incidents — he has allowed the press to operate freely. Also, let us accept, the opposition is hopelessly divided, and its leaders — some of them with a long history of mutual recriminations — are working at cross purposes. Under the circumstances, it would have been in the fitness of things if he had decided to fight re-election as head of state after discarding his uniform rather than doing so “if elected for a second term”.

It is time the president made it clear that he would seek re-election from the new assemblies. It looks absurd that the assemblies which themselves have a life of five years should give Gen Musharraf a decade. A transparent presidential election will set the pattern for the parliamentary elections, but it is a matter of concern that we still have no trace of an interim set-up. A greater task in the aftermath of the election will be to restore the balance between the powers of the head of state and the prime minister. The LFO reincarnated some of the worst features of Ziaul Haq’s constitutional scheme, like Article 58-2(b), which authorises the president to sack an elected government, even if the prime minister enjoys parliament’s confidence, and to dissolve the National Assembly. Besides, the president heads the National Security Council, thus making the elected civilian leadership subordinate to the military.

The time for manipulating the Constitution and for weird legal contrivances is gone. The people of Pakistan want unadulterated democracy — democracy as is understood the world over.

I thought that the Jang and GEO were owned by the same person!!!!

Yes, by the jang group.

Exactly D6C!

Wait being anti-Musharraf is now abusing freedom of the press? Damn. Where do you live? Zimbabwe?

No, its not abuse of power, but newspapers lose credibility if they don't have balance view in their papers editorials & opinion pieces.

Pfft. Name one news source these days that is balanced? Even the BBC has its own biases. The idea is to provide the information and move on from there. Credibility matters little when you let the audience decide. Something mind you we haven't had for the past 50 years, with state run PTV doing all the broadcasting.

from your vast knowledge about armed forces ...its seems haris bhai..your very close relative is in army...so supporting musharraf just for that is fair ???????

Spinning the NEWS (I am not talking about biased analysis) against anyone is for sure abusing the freedom. NEWS should be reported AS IS without any SPIN to it. Analysis and Editorials can be biased and i don't have any problem with that.

and your reason "everyone is biased including BBC" is as lame as it can get. Try giving this reason to the cop next time they stop you for over speeding by saying "everyone is over speeding" and if they let you go, let me know :)

If jang has gone anti-Mush than you should also understand that US has gone anti-mush.

d-l Yaar, I think assumptions are more unfair...:)

^^ no no..i am sure about that...someone must be in army....i appreciate your love for armed forces......but plz...differentiate between love of pak Army and one man ...who is bringing a bad name to 5 lakh armed personals..just for his seat....:)

Answer me one single question.

Name one Newspaper, news channel, news magazine around the world that does not spin, show bias or favour a certain political agenda?

What you ..... are ...... about is that people are showing how ineffective a leader our military dictator and his cronies are.

If other news media entities do it, why can't ours. Frankly I find Pakistani news channels like Dawn and ARY to have very high standards.

First, further assumptions and persistence upon them…:slight_smile:

Second, no one could, should, would support a man blindly; if you have your reasons to not like Musharraf, I have mine to like him a lot. And not because someone close might be in the Army or because I like the Army so I think they should rule, and Musharraf should stay. If that were the case then all Army personnel have dozens of family members and friends, wouldn’t atleast half of them start supporting Musharraf or permanent Army rule if this was all there was to it…? And it’s not so.
Plus, political viewpoint is not as shallow. To put it simply, I don’t even agree it’s Musharraf bringing a bad name to the Army, not that I believe any bad name is being earned by the Army alone, it’s a matter of the angle with which one takes the facts. If ppl are thinking negative about Army only not giving due blame to others or other factors or situations responsible simply out of paranoia created and some faults magnified against the army highlighted by political forces seeking self-interest such as BB, NS, Qazi, Imran, CJ, others and so on. Why should all faults be loaded on the Army and the one man i.e. Musharrf, who everyone likes to target practice at all times, even when Peeja’s aging khota dies after not being hit by any truck but of natural causes in Sahiwal? It’s not his fault. Sure he hasn’t delivered as expected or desired, but heck he’s human and limited in capacity esp given the serious opposing currents created against him and his stature since 2001. More so since ironically he’s a ‘dictator’ who likes to play as much by rules as possible. Show him some sympathy if he hasn’t been able to reform as perfectly well as desired with crocodiles drooling and exposing their teeth all the time while battling him hard to grab Pakistan again and loot it. But in our over expectation and in his failure or inability to match up to the high expectations, even though he has performed greatly and much better than most of the past, we want to shift all blame on his wide shoulders…? Is it fair? Not at all. Especially highly treacherous when we shift the blame of wrongs created or stirred by others, who have been tried-tested and are hated, yet just by being against Musharraf now suddenly appear as heroes and epitomes of logic, honesty and sincerity. Our impatience or misery or frustration at his mistakes and errors or ‘evil’ if it must be put that way, should not make us forget, forgive or overlook the real ‘evil’ that has eaten Pakistan, or the greater villains and their unforgivable or unforgettable mistakes.
Apology for the long answer, but compared to the other options, I really support Musharraf passionately. :blush:

Yup, that is very careless reporting on behalf of the Jang, and it’s reporters have been summoned before the Supreme Court a few times this year and warned to stop spreading lies. If it was not for the Musharraf’s govt’s media authority PEMRA granting licenses to dozens and dozens of private tv stations over the last 5-6 years, we would still only have PTV to watch as we did for 50 plus years. So much freedom has been given to the media by Musharraf and so rapidly that our journalists have not been able to keep up, and a lot of them are “lifafa” types rather than professionals.

Last I remember International channels do not need to register in a country to broadcast in it. I highly doubt CNN is registered and has asked for licenses in over 210 nations and territories around the world.

If you are not based in the country, you don't need a license. That should apply for atleast a moderate percentage of Pakistani news channels.