Pakistani Fast bowlers - Role models or...

…bad representatives

Did anyone see Wasim Akram & Afridi cursing maa/bhen in Sharjah final. Akram has been doing that for more than a decade now. I think its time that he shows some class or may be I’m expecting too much from these role models. I have never seen any other team using the f word so frequently…not even indians.

Waqar younis started reverse swinging the ball in the 12th over…not that I’m saying anything :wink: but I would hate to see a contoversy over the same issue again.

As much as I love watching batsmen ducking on Shoaib Akhtar’s bouncers, I’m afraid its quite obvious that he chucks the ball…do u agree?

LOL!!!

BoSS ji hath hola rakho. tussi tey saari building ee ta ditti aey.

Waisey, what you are saying about chucking is probably right but then Murali also does that (a whopping 400 wickets in 72 test matches) and Lee in the beginning of his career as well.

Early reverse swing ... everyone does that we are just more conscious. Dont you think?

Everyone did it, even Imran, I think cussing in urdu is an advantage to our players because the umpire can't understand them.
Players get frustrated sometimes when things don't go there way and I fully understand.

australians cuss the most. no one says anything to them.

Pyaar Bhi Zindagi Ki Tarah Hota Hay.
Hur Mor Asan Nahin Hota, Hur Mor Pay Khushi Nahin Milti;
Pur Jub Hum Zindagi Ka Saath Nahin Chortay To Pyaar Ka Saath Kyon Chorayn

**...bad representatives

Did anyone see Wasim Akram & Afridi cursing maa/bhen in Sharjah final.**

Swearing is very common, and more rampant among the aussies..as quoted above. Pakistanis do it too. But you get to hear it more often from Pakistani bowlers because they are the ones you watch the most.

Waqar younis started reverse swinging the ball in the 12th over

I didnt know there was something wrong with reverse swings that early on. Is there a law about it, like bouncers?

I'm afraid its quite obvious that he chucks the ball...do u agree?

Take a look at his arm, as it swings forward and backwards while he walks. Its always bent. Its a deformity, by birth.
And plus, chucking helps with a slow run up. It does NOT help with a fast and long run up.

Akif, no there isn't any law, but a ball only reverse swings if one of its sides is rough. It is kinda impossible for the ball to be rough enough to start reverse swinging by the 12th Over. I've also seen that pakistani fielders bang the ball onto the pitch even when the batsmen are not taking a run, hence softening the ball.

As for shaoib, I dont think he chucks, chucking is when you hold and then bring down your bowling hand, while shoaibs action is pretty fluent. And as akif pointed out, chucking really has no effect on how fast he bowls, since if you bowl fast from a long run-up you already have too much momentum for the chucking to actually benefit you.

Last I checked, banging the ball on the pitch was not against a law. But maybe they changed the law now, don't know.

Swearing is just a sign of immaturity and inability to handle the situation any better. The Aussie team comprises of just unrefined morons so there's no explanation for their behaviours especially Warne.

Waqar's issue I don't know about. But someone said that it was awfully hot in Sharjah so there was humidity and naturally swing.

Shoaib probably does chuck but then so does Murli and Lee. Even very established bowlers have had their lifting deliveries questioned. Examples are McGrath and Pollock. This whole deformity thing is just a sham. So, what if Murli can turn his wrist much more than I can? It doesn't mean he should! Same for Lee and Shoaib! So long as any one of them is playing so too should the others. Consistency is the key.

Yar you guys seem to be taking all of this in a wrong way.

First of all, Wasim does curse but he does not really curse out at the other players. Its quite common for people from lahore to use the maa/bahen word in their daily language. Do you remember when Shaoib akhter used the 'f' word against Jayawardena, it was Wasim who apologized.

As for Waqar, hes as clean as they come in language. However, its Shoaib thats the real pain. Shoiab gives the Pakistanis a bad name as he fakes a stupid accent and an attitude and badmouths the batsmen just because they hit him for fours or sixes.

If you eliminate shoiab, you will find that the Pakistani players are very well behaved. Same goes with the Indian and Sri Lankan players. They are alot better than the Australians, English and the South Africans teams. The way the entire Australian team sledged Ganguly was very appauling and racist.

However reverse swinging the ball in another issue. Waqar and Wasim have mastered this act, and you guys should realize that they have been doing this for so long. Its clear they dont tamper the ball, but they do use techniques (that are allowed), such as sweating the ball etc to aid them.

Scratch: Early reverse swing ... everyone does that we are just more conscious. Dont you think?
I agree, may be we are a little bit more conscious thaz why I was careful about saying anything about ball tampering.

Umair316 : I think cussing in urdu is an advantage to our players because the umpire can't understand them
That’s the most ridiculous statement I have read. I'll Pass! :)

Deewanatera : australians cuss the most
So? How does that relate to the character of Pakistani cricketer's? Aussies do it so its ok if we do it too....wow! thaz smart! isn't it?

Akif & ammar: chucking helps with a slow run up. It does NOT help with a fast and long run up
Does that mean its ok to do it if you r a fast bowler? How convenient. :)

Prisitne: banging the ball on the pitch was not against a law
Should it be a law…. just cuz players find innovative ways to tamper the ball? Come on yo!

Sambrialian: It doesn't mean he should! Same for Lee and Shoaib! So long as any one of them is playing so too should the others. Consistency is the key.
I agree! it would have been interesting to see what ICC would have decided if there was no gora player named Lee.

Spock: people from lahore to use the maa/bahen word in their daily language
Every guy who plays cricket in D-block model town doesn't represent Pakistan on the world level. After a decade of world class cricket, Akram should realize he is not playing in his back yard any more. He is representing Pakistan! Kids imitate talented players like him….he should take the responsibility and try to match his personality with his awesome talent.

Its not against the law to bang the ball onto the pitch. I always thought cricket was a gentleman's game, and silly tactics are completely changing that.

Boss, if you live in Pakistan, you would know that if the children truely followed Akram, they would have been alot better off... Remember his 'Me cigrette nahee peeta' advertisement where he runs miles and then ends it with this quick statement? Do u think anyone would be inspired by that?

As far as Im concerned, Wasim can use those words as much as he likes in his daily language, as long as he doesnt use them on the opposing players. Afterall, hes a Lahoriya!

Do u think anyone would be inspired by that?
I wonder why advertising agencies pay big bucks to celebrities. You are not a marketing student, are u?

Afterall, hes a Lahoriya!
Do u have anything to say about punjbies too or just lahories would suffice? tsk tsk!

Heh, apparently youre not a good marketing student either... Soon after that match, and in numerous other matches, wasim bhai was shown in the pavilion with a soota

As for Lahoris, its their way of talking, mummy-daddys like you may get offended, but then again, thats the way they talk... Go to lahore, and youll find out...

I hope your autograph request wasnt turned down by Wasim was it? heh

I didn't see Shahidi Afridi cussing but i did see that punk Zoysa say something to Afridi when he was out.

what really impressed me was waqar younis attitude especially after he got married. He has become a decent person inclining towrds religion as it was obvious when he was presented a cheque and before saying anything else he recited “bismillah-e-rahman-e-rahim” and start thanking the ALL Mighty first ,I dunno about you guys but these little things really makes me respect a person more.I think he is setting a good example..
I remmber how waqar younis was during his early twenties..remmber his big fat gold chain

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited April 23, 2002).]

First of all I dont think cursing is bad thing.
Let us cut that crap that cricket is gentleman's game.with present days commercialization,money and competition it cannot remain a gentleman game as used to be 30-40 years back.

Now ,Cursing is smart way of testing opponents temperament and maturity .It makes game more attractive to watch ,more exciting and fun.
So frankly I dont see anything wrong with Wasim,shoib,ganguly or Australian cursing opponent as long as it is limited to field only. Autralian have mastered that Art .Let us also learn it and use it smartly.

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited April 23, 2002).]

Good reply Andha...

Only an anti-wasim akram fella will come on and use this as a weapon against him, but he should know we really dont care if he cusses or not.

Andha is right, the Australins have mastered this act, and even though our players from the sub continent limit the cussing to themselves, they could use it smartly.

So....Finally me and Spock agreed on something..

Ha ha ...Just kidding..

I cant believe people are defending Sledging and Cursing. If a bowler has to abuse a batsman to shake his concentration that means his bowling is not good enough and that's why he is using such tactics. If a great bowler like Akram is doing it means he has given up. It is not an ART, It's a disgusting thing to do in a Cricket field. Great bowlers like Hadlee and West Indian fast bowlers never did that.

Australia is a bully team and when they were given a taste of their own medicine, they started crying like mama's boys.

If Cursing is an art than why play, bat,bowl and field , let's start cursing each other and whoever curses more should be declared the winner.

AK