jee main sun chuki hoon ![]()
Re: Pakistani dramas get massive response on new Indian channel Zindagi
jee main sun chuki hoon ![]()
jee main sun chuki hoon :)
iss yt video pe
koi baat nahi. Phir se sun lo baar baar sun lo
This promotion definitely encourage Pakistani TV to make more quality dramas.
TS har thread main ghussa hota hay :p
^ And I loves you too. ![]()
Which page ? ![]()
on GS cafe i made a dosti thread for all dosts..aur unke liye dedicate kiya ek yt video. ![]()
Ginti read this. Itâs about Dastaan. Itâs showing on new Zee Zindagi channel and here some Indian writer is reading very positive review on it. She migrated from Lahore to India during partition.
Beautiful dramatisation, brutal truthsand searching questions
http://amankiasha.com/images/updates_pics/7-2-2014_1401_l.gif
Fawad Afzal Khan, Sanam Baloch in âDastanâ: stellar performances
[HR][/HR]
Pakistani serial âDastanâ, soon to be shown in India on Zee TVâs new Zindiagi channel, is a powerful contemporary production focusing on 1947
By Sumegha Gulati
Horse-drawn buggis on dirt paths surrounded by mustard fields; villagers discussing the weather
**Pakistani serial âDastanâ, soon to be shown in India on Zee TVâs new Zindiagi channel, is a powerful contemporary production focusing on 1947
By Sumegha Gulati
Horse-drawn buggis on dirt paths surrounded by mustard fields; villagers discussing the weather, crops and marriages, speaking Urdu tinged with a Punjabi accent; the turbulent love story of a young engaged couple set against the backdrop of a land and its people divided, amidst rapes, assaults, killings and mass displacement.
Dastan, a 23-episode Pakistani television serial based on the late Urdu writer Razia Buttâs acclaimed short story Bano, is one of the finest works produced on partition in contemporary times. Soon to be broadcast on Zee TV Indiaâs new channel, Zindagi, it was extremely popular in Pakistan, winning several awards and nominations for its content as well as performances.
I stumbled upon Dastan on the Internet while researching literature and cinema on Indiaâs partition. Watching a Pakistani TV show for the first time, I was hooked from the first episode, not just because it deals with a subject close to my heart, Partition, but the sheer beauty of the dramatisation.
The story starts with a Muslim family in Ludhiana, 1946. Women gather on takhts in a courtyard, preparing for Suraiyaâs (Saba Qamar) upcoming wedding. Indian audiences will immediately related to their affectionate bantering, so common on both sides of the border, and showing neighbours the jahez (dowry) and bari (groomâs gifts to the bride).
Cross-religion relationships emerge through characters like Kamini chachi, always present in the bridal house, or the Hindu jeweler who acknowledges how much he owes to the brideâs father.
Suraiyaâs nephew, Hassan, a final-year engineering student and a member of the Muslim League, is the main protagonist. The restrained performance Pakistani heartthrob by Fawad Afzal Khan (Khuda ke Liye, Humsafar), apart from his undeniably good looks, is outstanding.
The female protagonist Bano (brilliantly acted by Sanam Baloch) is the younger sister of Suraiyaâs husband, Saleem (Ahsan Khan), a staunch Congress member who admires Gandhi and opposes the creation of Pakistan. Overs the passage of the years spanned by the serial, Bano emerges as a woman of exemplary courage, who fights all odds to fulfill her dream of reaching Pakistan.
Bano and Hassanâs love story blossoms with stolen glances and silent nights spent watching each other from their terraces, their features illuminated by lantern or moonlight. Sohail Haiderâs theme song Aasmano se utaara soulfully plays in the background.
The idyllic earlier episodes feature newly-weds Suraiya and Saleem sneaking out to spend alone-time in a park, Banoâs spat with the maid Lakshmi, and her innocent query to Hassan about the meaning of the word âhoneymoonâ.
The issue of womenâs education is highlighted in several instances. Banoâs mother tells a neighbour that the girl wanted to study further but has to learn household chores. The Hindu neighbour complains that her own daughter does not even know how to hold a needle. The Punjabi wedding songs, so much like our wedding songs, come as a pleasant surprise.
Such touches that bring home probably the most brutal of all truths about partition - that a land and people, with the same language, food, culture were divided and forced to leave their homes and friends behind.
The politics of the time are highlighted through the euphoria surrounding the 1946 win of the Muslim League that shows how dear many Muslims held the cause of a separate nation. Dinnertime discussions highlight the belief that Pakistan would enable Muslims to fearlessly follow Islam and give greater security for Indian Muslims. Their disillusionment with the Congress for failing to live up to its promises made to Muslims also comes across, as well as the view that Hindus would make life hell for Muslims after independence.
When Bano wants to join Muslim League, her fatherâs response reflects the progressive attitude of educated families in those days - he allows her to do so, even as her brother Saleem remains a Congress member.
Historical notes and background voiceovers intersperse the narrative. Ustaad Amanat Ali Khanâs song Aye Watan Pyara Watan plays in the background when Muslim League is mentioned. I was reminded of Indian TV and cinema, where our filmmakers use Iqbalâs Saare jahan se achha as the background score for âpatrioticâ scenes. It is in fact used at all occasions â morning prayers at schools, at Republic and Independence Days, at Gandhi, Ambedkar and Nehru jayantis, at Lokpal agitations. After Partition, even poets were divided. Who holds a greater claim to Iqbal?
When Hassan comments on the over 3000 Muslims butchered in Calcutta in just four days, Saleem asks if Hindus are not being killed too. The two come to blows, earning severe reprimand from Saleemâs father who points out that neither Jinnah nor Gandhi would approve of their behaviour. And Saleem asks how, given his fatherâs deep friendships with Hindus, can he consider them his foes now?
It is such ironies that Dastan so beautifully portrays.
When Suraiya wants to give away her jewelry for riot-affected Muslims regardless of their allegiance to Congress or Muslim League, Saleem reminds her that riots also affected Hindus, Sikhs and others. His character, in fact, comes across as exceptionally strong and ahead of his times.
However, the divisions deepen with daily killings, murders, loot and rapes. Dastan depicts the horrors effectively - entire families butchered, killing their own women to save them from dishonour, houses illegally occupied, their owners threatened with dire consequences if they tried to return.
One of the most chilling scenes â for which Ahsan Khan deserves full marks â is when the Muslim women of the locality gather at Saleemâs house ahead of an impending attack by Sikhs. When Saleem seeks Ramâs help, the family turns him away refusing to risk their lives for Muslims. The reality then strikes Saleem - the creation of Pakistan is essential for the future of Muslims.
The director effectively shows how good and bad people exist in every community. Dastanâs only drawback is that the background narrative does not acknowledge the barbarities perpetuated on non-Muslims.
Dastan also raises many questions. When Bano says that she wants a separate country where Muslims do not have to live on the rehmo-karam (charity) of Hindus, I wonder where this idea came from? Why did a community that had ruled over Hindustan for centuries harbour apprehensions that Hindus would subjugate them and not allow them to follow their religion? Is there an unspoken assumption that a majority will crush and dominate the minority?
Is the claim that Hindus and Muslims co-existed for centuries incorrect? If so, what about all those pre-partition friendships, depicted in the show itself? How did Muslimsâ feelings transform to such extent that they demanded a separate nation away from their friends and neighbours? Is there a missing link somewhere - were Muslims wronged or discriminated against in pre-partition India?
In fact the British discriminated against all Indians - Hindus, Muslims and Sikhs. Only those close to the empire could be called better off, due to their allegiance to the British, rather than their religion â Hindu rajas, Muslim nawabs, munshis and patwaris.
The serial also raises questions about the aspirations of those who supported Pakistan, expecting it to be a land of pious Muslims, where women would get their due status accorded by Islam. A country where nobody would sacrifice women for dowry, where there would be no inequality.
Dastan effectively pushes the viewer to ponder these and many more questions.
**The writer is a correspondent with New Delhi-based English daily, Indian Express. Her grandparents migrated to India from Lahore in 1947.
Emai: [email protected]](http://amankiasha.com/detail_news.asp?id=1401#) ****
I get dish tv so I can see how heavily they're promoting the channel. I wonder how audiences will take rapidly changing shows every month. And a lot of the praise is for having non saas bahu dramas but we have so many of them. A person can't change the channel without seeing at least one person get a face full of thapar. Yikes!
And a lot of what we know about India is from media content and in comparison Indians don't know enough. On my trip to India I was asked about whether we have elephants, do we eat daal too, am I allowed to wear the clothes I'm wearing in Pakistan as well, how is the education system. At least these shows will answer the basic questions.
I get dish tv so I can see how heavily they're promoting the channel. I wonder how audiences will take rapidly changing shows every month. And a lot of the praise is for having non saas bahu dramas but we have so many of them. A person can't change the channel without seeing at least one person get a face full of thapar. Yikes!
And a lot of what we know about India is from media content and in comparison Indians don't know enough. On my trip to India I was asked about whether we have elephants, do we eat daal too, am I allowed to wear the clothes I'm wearing in Pakistan as well, how is the education system. At least these shows will answer the basic questions.
Those questions are hilarious. I am Indian and have Pakistani friends so i know the basics. I agree Indians do not know much about Pakistan and Pakistanis know more from Bollywood etc. I've heard from other Indians that there are lot of billboards in main cities advertising the channel and quite a bit was spent on it. they did do a tester of the shows and the audiences loved them. My parents were surprised when we started watching humtv, as part of our package, to see bollywood songs/references to bollywood. Then they noticed the similarities in behaviour, dress and food. Then they were like we have so much shared culture and achi baat hai that we learn good things from each other. They have started using Urdu words also. They know i have pakistani friends so they say you can translate for us agar kuch samajh nahi aaye. I like how pakistani dramas are more subtle about the saas-bahu stuff..and they don't do zoom ins and scary music when the saas comes by. I really hope in the subcontinent we have shows with positive saas-bahu examples. That would be more reassuring.
Apart from those questions i hope you had a good experience in India and everyone was friendly in interactions.
waise in pakistan ive heard from a friend that cycle rickshaws are not as common but autorickshaws are.
also, i always wondered in Pakistani cities do you have animals like monkeys, peacocks, cows etc freely roaming the streets? From what ive seen Pakistani streets look so much less chaotic and better managed.
i hope they get some good comedy shows like halka na lo
I like Dastaanâs theme songRe: Pakistani dramas get massive response on new Indian channel Zindagi
Those questions are hilarious. I am Indian and have Pakistani friends so i know the basics. I agree Indians do not know much about Pakistan and Pakistanis know more from Bollywood etc. I've heard from other Indians that there are lot of billboards in main cities advertising the channel and quite a bit was spent on it. they did do a tester of the shows and the audiences loved them. My parents were surprised when we started watching humtv, as part of our package, to see bollywood songs/references to bollywood. Then they noticed the similarities in behaviour, dress and food. Then they were like we have so much shared culture and achi baat hai that we learn good things from each other. They have started using Urdu words also. They know i have pakistani friends so they say you can translate for us agar kuch samajh nahi aaye. I like how pakistani dramas are more subtle about the saas-bahu stuff..and they don't do zoom ins and scary music when the saas comes by. I really hope in the subcontinent we have shows with positive saas-bahu examples. That would be more reassuring. Apart from those questions i hope you had a good experience in India and everyone was friendly in interactions. waise in pakistan ive heard from a friend that cycle rickshaws are not as common but autorickshaws are. also, i always wondered in Pakistani cities do you have animals like monkeys, peacocks, cows etc freely roaming the streets? From what ive seen Pakistani streets look so much less chaotic and better managed.
The 80s killed off our cinema so It was natural bollywood took the place. We've got billboards of Katrina showing off her veet applied legs so even if someone doesn't watch bollywood it's hard to escape the influence.
And Pakistani shows are slightly dramatic for my tastes like there's so much talk of second wives but I've never met anyone ever who's got another wife. It would be extremely scandalous and gossip worthy. But I don't watch the shows so maybe interpreting them on the basis of adverts is wrong. I don't watch any Indian shows either so I should do a comparison one day.
The questions were fun actually. Talked to a lot of people who were curious when they found out we could understand them. Cycle rickshaws have been banned since the 50s/60s so It was an interesting experience. Our rickshaw wala was tiny so I was really worried about him lugging about three girls. I live in lahore and there's no random animals as such other than the occasional escaped cow But that too in less developed locatilties. Deforestation is so common here but monkeys exist in the north. (A monkey once opened my hotel balcony door and casually walked in. My father had an epic battle trying to keep the door closed while I was busy laughing hysterically.)
The 80s killed off our cinema so It was natural bollywood took the place. We've got billboards of Katrina showing off her veet applied legs so even if someone doesn't watch bollywood it's hard to escape the influence. And Pakistani shows are slightly dramatic for my tastes like there's so much talk of second wives but I've never met anyone ever who's got another wife. It would be extremely scandalous and gossip worthy. But I don't watch the shows so maybe interpreting them on the basis of adverts is wrong. I don't watch any Indian shows either so I should do a comparison one day. The questions were fun actually. Talked to a lot of people who were curious when they found out we could understand them. Cycle rickshaws have been banned since the 50s/60s so It was an interesting experience. Our rickshaw wala was tiny so I was really worried about him lugging about three girls. I live in lahore and there's no random animals as such other than the occasional escaped cow But that too in less developed locatilties. Deforestation is so common here but monkeys exist in the north. (A monkey once opened my hotel balcony door and casually walked in. My father had an epic battle trying to keep the door closed while I was busy laughing hysterically.)
I like olden day Pakistani movies. They remind me of the classic Bollywood movies of the past. I remember this song called Tamam umr tujhe zindagi ka pyar mile. It's a bday song but its so melodius. Looks like we've be having billboards of Fawad Khan, Mahira Khan, Sanam Baloch. :P We did have some billboards when bol movie was out. Atif Aslam, Ali Zafar and Rahat Fateh Ali Khan do feature in billboards. :)
Really? I find Pakistani shows to be not as dramatic but then i do watch lot of indian shows with the parents. We find Pakistani shows more moderate, classy and subtle. The shows have good storylines and lot of emotions. They can be sad. Humsafar and Zindagi gulzar hai are worth a watch and ive heard partition series Dastaan is good too. With partition themed shows im worried i'll be thinking too much about the story after ive watched it. That i'll be thinking "why", "how could it happen" and if it's one sided "what happened to that other side."
Indian reality shows are funny and good entertainment value.
I'm glad overall it was a positive experience and educational for them also. They were curious about language? They should know urdu is similar to hindi. I wonder why cycle rickshaws were banned? Probably because its not a safe practice. It is fun though it can be dangerous. At the age of 13 i nearly slipped through the cracks at the back of the rickshaw. I don't know how they cycle so many people. I've always wanted to visit Lahore, see Food street, see Badshahi mosque from a distance, see the gurudwaras in Lahore etc I'm pretty sure if i lived in Amritsar i'd be tempted to try to get to Lahore being only 50 km away. I'd take my chances. :) I'm guessing if someone lived in Lahore or Amritsar it would be easy to visit the other place with visas than other cities further away. I know in pre-partition days it used to be the glamour city. There used to be films shot there..more so than Mumbai.
The closest ive been in Punjab is Chandigarh which is about 280 km away. I'm from Delhi so Lahore is like my sister city. Both have great Mughal architecture.
When i was younger i used to have a pet calf and cows are quite frequent in India. That's cool that you came across monkeys in the north. We have monkeys enter houses in Agra and it's fun just watching them. Then in Gujurat peacocks are common. They come at dawn and dusk. North would be Khyber Pakhtunkhwa or northern areas? I've always wanted to visit Swat valley, Murree, Islamabad and Taxila. That's seriously my dream.
yeah and i watched daastan on MBC bollywood and it was dubbed in arabic <3 just loved it
maine suna MBC ke baare mein. So you didn't watch in Urdu or had Arabic subtitles. So you're Arabic must be good.
agar aap kehti hon shayad dekh lungi. theme song is good.
Lot of awesome people from Lahore on GS. I can make khoob saare friends from Lahore
Twitter has been going crazy over Aunn Zara and Zindagi Gulzar Hai recently. Tweets all praise the realness of our dramas and how family-friendly they are. I'm bursting with pride!
Itâs about time.
I always felt bad that Pakistani channels didnât air in India.
Itâs too late for the classic cinema from the initial decades after independence, but at least now the TV plays are being appreciated for the right reasons even if, as part of programming on Indian channels. :k:
I think people watched those on VHS and now yt is there. But itâs good this is happening now. Other channels like colors tv runs pakistani shows abroad as well. I think thatâs good because these channels go world over to middle east, Europe etc so more people will understand and get exposure to pakistani culture . Yesterday I watched aasmano pe likha hai. When u watch it and locations are talked of u know itâs a pakistani show but it fits in with the other programming. Apart from Kiron kherâs voice in kitna girhain Baku hai there is no other indian voice/actor . She was very positive about it. Before partition her family was from pakistani side of Punjab and she says stories re same on both sides.
Here is the website.Zindagi Official Website: Watch Zindagi Shows and Serials, Full Episodes, Music videos and Promo Videos Online at Zindagitv.in so u can see the programs. Soon it will be interactive and people can write their own stories on the page/as part of blog
This promotion definitely encourage Pakistani TV to make more quality dramas.
I'm sure it will. Tag line is sarhad par ki behtareen kahaniyan
There was a micro-blogging meet back in June in Delhi and Mumbai. Known Bloggers came by all dressed in India/Pakistan colours and showed excitement. 500 bloggers were there at event. People wrote poems etc for the meet.
Processing Creativity: Monumental start to a new era : Zee Zindagi Indiblogger Meet
The channel is spending 100 crore in promotion so Iâm sure it will make sure channel is well known. If it does well the channel will go abroad.
Already colors tv abroad is showing pakistani dramas and that too with subtitles so people world over can enjoy.