this is a thread for those of us who’ve had good experiences with pakistani designers and who would like to share their stories. i think its important to represent them as well just so we know where to shop! ![]()
Re: pakistani designers with good service
Through e-mail correspondence and phone: Kamiar Rokni, Bunto Kazmi and Ali Fateh have been really nice to talk to. They listen to your needs and how they can accomodate those needs.
Was really upset one day (wedding frustrations) and believe it or not Bunto Kazmi was like a grandmother--sweet, thoughtful and giving more islamic advice (duas etc).
As for Ali Fateh--he's just a sweetheart! hmmm you can tell he's smiling even from miles away on the other side of the planet! Made a spectacular bag for me--they way I wanted it and made sure I liked it before sending it:)
Kamiar Rokni was polite in e-mail--seems like an exciting person! E-mails were descriptive and IMO he seemed down-to-earth. E-mailing Karma and HSY--just for simple price quotes was an absolute headache.....
Im sorry but i thot kamiar was part of Karma? ![]()
:( still so depressed about not getting bunto for december...i dont know any other designers who are already booked! I feel like if I had even paid her minimum, I would get an outfit full of kaam that would be beautiful, and now I dont even know what to do. Guppies have been really helpful in suggesting people, and most everyone said Umar Sayeed, Sana Safinaz and Nomi Ansari but I've seen so many real brides with Bunto outfits and very few real brides with any of these designers outfits. dont know what to do....
not any more. maheen and kamiar have gone their seperate ways with maheen now managing karma byherself
:( still so depressed about not getting bunto for december...i dont know any other designers who are already booked! I feel like if I had even paid her minimum, I would get an outfit full of kaam that would be beautiful, and now I dont even know what to do. Guppies have been really helpful in suggesting people, and most everyone said Umar Sayeed, Sana Safinaz and Nomi Ansari but I've seen so many real brides with Bunto outfits and very few real brides with any of these designers outfits. dont know what to do....
You sound exactly like me last year....SUPER DEPRESSED.....things happened and I too couldnt get my dream dress.....
the only other alternatives to Bunto I can think of would be Faiza Samee or Nilofer Shahid---both make those excellent traditional, old world glamorous farshi ghararas....Faiza's kaam is delicate and her work very well researched. Yeah Nilofer Shahid makes many western as well, but Shay had a gorgeous farshi by her--delicate and beautiful!
does anyone know where i can see Bunto Kazmi designs?
bunto is great to talk to on the phone, she was so motherly. i ended up calling her aunty lol
thanks so much BlushingRose, it helps to hear advice from other people! Does anyone know the starting ranges for Faiza Samee and Nilofer Shahid and also how I can get in touch with them?
pakigurl there are threads here with her designs. search for bunto kazmi and youll find them.
havent seen shay's gharara, id love to though! the only other nilofer shahid dress i can think of is that girl Rabia who had the glamorous wedding in New York...it didnt fit quite right imho.
babes faizas formals now start from 65000 and her bridals from 2.5 lakh she is as good as bunto but dont worry yaar bunto nahin milee tooo kya howa faiza hai sana safinaz hai ull be like why im insisting on ss so much and my designer najia so much because i ahve seen their end finished products they are worth every penny. sana safinaz is also an expensive designer top of the line very popular and tehir outfits are absolutely amazing. infact the kaam wala i go to he copies a ss pret line outfit for me check it out
najia makes amazing lenghas in jamavars filled with real work and not sitaaras too fill it up.
u will i guess need to take a risk somewhere babes. i spoke to nasreen myself for u and she knows me really well and said she couldnt do end dec but she could def do jan (not that we can change teh wedding date now can we) hehehe
neways check em out
its not copying it says the file exceeds what do i do now?
Ali Fateh is an absolute doll. He has been the example of amazing customer service ever since i started buying from him! he sent me many sketches etc for my valima and shaadi clutches. he has been a friend of me and my fathers since and we still talk all the time :) he is just so nice by nature.
He left Karma in 2006 and has his own label now.
Umar Sayeed, Bunto and Nilofer.. Karma and Nayna as well.
Designers with good services would be Maria B and Nicki Nina with my experience with them in Lahore
I suggest you go to Sana Safinaz, there bridal outfits and formals are just beautiful and look very elegant.But I do find SS to be a bit snobby though. I purchased 3 formal outfits from there which cost me 65000Rs.......... Recently I contacted Nomi Ansari about an outfit which I really liked on Facebook he quoted 65000Rs for that one outfit, bit too much........ Hey Sozankaar which kaam wala do you go to. I need a good darzee my one is in clifton, Uzma market but his standard of stitching has just dropped, i.e fitting no good anymore. I'm coming to karachi in June so can you suggest me a good tailor and kaam wala.
Farzana Yaqoob (Gulberg, Lahore) is defintely a designer worth visiting. Very nice kapra, neat kaam, classic designs and reasonably priced. Just ordered a couple of outfits from her and got them on time and even prettier than what I had imagined.
I'm not poor or anything (alhumduilllah), but wow...the prices of these formals and bridals are freakin' high! But it would be nice to have a designer outfit.
Does Ali Fateh have a website??
best over the phone service for me, in order:
Nilofer Shahid
Hina Khan
Faiza Samee
Bunto Kazmi
all of them are doing a fantastic job, considering i worked with photographs, my own vision, and made loads of customizations. SS gave me no attention, even though they are tight with some of my relatives. oh well.