Pakistani Culture in India

Pakistani foods( #ShanMasla](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=ShanMasla) ), fashion( #AmirAdnan](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=AmirAdnan) hsy](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=HSY) ), songs( #AtifAslam](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=AtifAslam) #RahatFatehAliKhan](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=RahatFatehAliKhan) ), and dramas( #zeezindagitv](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=zeezindagitv) ) are penetrating in Indian society and culture. Pakistan as new nation of the world is now dominating India in mentioned aspects of Pakistani culture.

What should we Pakistanis do for Indian markets?

How do you see Indian society in upcoming years?

Tag: #PakistaniCultureInIndia](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=PakistaniCultureInIndia)

Re: Pakistani Culture in India

I've heard Indian women like Pakistani men, so you might see more mail order husbands in India.

You mean ghar daamaads like Shoaib Malik? :hoonh:

This thread looks like an antithesis to the one in PA. There Indians hate Pakistanis. Go figure!

what?? i haven't met any Indian on PA who hates Pakistanis. Actually i don't know any Indian apart from me who posted there recently and i don't remember posting anything negative. I even did research into all the countries that give Pakistanis visa on entry/no visa requirement. Kya zabardast research ki maine..and actually not that much difference in countries who do same for India.

:hehe: Shoiab malik is not ghar daamaad, vo Pora Kharchaa dy Raha ha Sania Mirza and Company ko, Badshaaou… :lifey:

shan masala <3

pakistanis and their north indian brothers are similar culturally so most thing that works in pakistan commercially would sell in north india too. it is pretty simple after you peel away all the politics and jingoism.

Great topic Mahool. Thoda hatke hai. I see some potential with liberalisation of trade between the countries and hopefully more exchange.

#PakistaniCultureInIndia](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=PakistaniCultureInIndia)

Shan masala to bahut saalon se chale aa raha hai. Also Rooh Afza and Karachi sweets are popular. So with this interest in Pakistani cooking..there will be more awareness of Pakistani dishes. Maybe Pakistan can have some reality cooking shows using Shan masala. Person with best original recipe wins..and only masala you can use is Shan Masala.

Shan masala should have tours of their factory with free food sampling . If not within Pakistan then in India through having food melas so more people get exposure to Pakistani cooking. I see more people becoming aware of different foods in different regions of Pakistan through these shows eg. difference between Sindhi vs Balochi food

Fashion- ke liye there should be fashion shows in India of top Pakistani brands.
With Pakistani dramas showing new styles there will be more demand for such styles.

Songs to hamesha se hit hui hain and lot of Pakistani bands visit India. So this will increase except now Pakistani drama songs like Zindagi Gulzar Hai and Humsafar will be popular.

Also with Zeezindagitv there will be joint dramas with Indians/Pakistanis in future set in Pakistan and some set in India. Maybe there will also be some good joint stories including historical stories from the past from areas of Sindh where people have existed peacefully for a long time.

After watching Pakistani dramas people’s urdu vocab will improve and they will have interest in learning language. Hopefully Indian culture will become less westernised and there will be more modest/stylish dressing like there used to be. People will be proud of their desiness especially films. My parents like Pakistani dramas and see so many things similar between our rehan sehan and the humtv dramas. Hopefully Indians will get insight into lives of Pakistanis and see that there is not that much difference. Also hopefully quality will rub off on Indian dramas and there will be good subtle dramas and no more saas-bahu types with never ending episodes.

Maybe Zeezindagi will have some joint reality shows..not like big boss but something like exchange lives for a month. So maybe an engineer from India and Pakistan will swap places/work places for a month or maybe doctors from both places or teachers or any 2 professions. They will keep their own cultural values but learn how life is different in those 2 cities and live with the family of the other for the month. Then at the end of the month they meet and discuss the experience. I’d also like there to be reality shows where children from both countries can become pen pals and get to know each other. Few years back there was a friends without borders program and Indian kids would write to Pakistani children and learn about their lives. I was too old for it and it was happening through schools but it was very interesting. The kids wrote the longest letter about 240 feet wide and 360 feet long and sent it to Pakistan. it was actually started by 2 Americans who visited both countries.

So there should be a reality show about children writing to their penpals..and then at the end meeting them.

I think it would be good for Pakistan to attract tourists from India and also elsewhere. Tourism and trade. Pakistani items popular in India include Khussa and Peshwari Chappal, Classical/Sufi music, Sindhi Ajrak, Pakistani comedy shows and stage shows, truck art, Coke studio, Sialkot’s sporting equipment)

Knowledge/tourism about the following

1. Cultural/Natural (Maybe not to Indians because im guessing there will be issues with travel but definitely these places should be advertised so people around the world can see them. There should be some national geographic type of shows on them on the Zee Zindagi channel)
  • Lahore-food street
  • Northern Areas
    -Swat Valley
  • Murree
  • Kalash people
    -Travel shows on the channel about different regions in Pakistan
  1. Historical

There should be more knowledge about all the Mughal architecture in Pakistan. Tourists should know about Indus Valley civilisation, Taxila , Buddhist monuments, Mohenjodaro and Harappa etc One of Sanskrit’s greatest grammarians called Panini was from Khyber area and it would be cool to have a historical show on his life.
Lahore fort and Shalimar gardens, historical monuments at Makli, Thatta, Rohtas fort. Port of Banbhore. Tomb of Shah-Rukhn-e-Alam, Tomb of Bibi Jawindi.
Shah Hussain tomb in lahore, Baltiti fort. From the time of Ashoka-the Mansehra rock edicts and the Shahbazgarhi rock edicts, Rehman Deri-Pre Harappan heritage site, Mehrgarh- a site from pre-Harappan times
Chaukandi tomb, Shah Jahan mosque, Ranikot Fort, Hiran Minar, tomb of Jahangir

1. Religious

So already many Sikhs travel to Pakistan every year but there are lot of other religious sites that can be targeted to pilgrims.
Lot of dargahs in Sindh and elsewhere people will go to from rest of subcontinent
Badshahi mosque, Faisal mosque, Masjid e Aqsa, Masjid e Tooba are some of the largest mosques in world so Pakistan tourism should promote knowledge about it to subcontinent and in middle east. There is also Wazir Khan mosque
Buddhist monuments in could target towards Buddhists in subcontinent, China, Thailand, Japan etc . Taxila is about 20 miles north of Islamabad. In Sanskrit it is known as Tashasila. The Chinese call it Chu Cha Shi Lo. It is here that Buddha gave some of his teachings. Alexander the Great visited here and it also formed part of Darius’s Persian empire. The greeks knew of it as the greatest of all cities. There was an ancient university there where people learnt all topics from Maths, medicine, astrology and archery. Modern Islamabad was also designed by a Greek architect who used Gandhara architecture style in making some of the new buildings especially Islamabad university.There are lot of interesting ruins there including the Dharmarajika Stupa, one of the shrines made by Emperor Ashoka, to house the relics of Buddha. There is also the Julian Monastery which contains the Statue of Healing Buddha stll revered by Buddhists today. Buddhist sites of Takht-i-Bahi and Sahr-i-Bahlol. Archeological site of Ranigat (has monasteries, shrines, stupas etc)
Hindu sites of interest which have massive tourist potential or at least if documentaries are made on these places and exported it will do well as well- there is the Katas raj temple-where apparently the Pandavas took refuge during their exile and where Shiv’s tears from Sati’s self immolation filled into 2 pools, Indus river, lot of interesting archeological remains of Mohenjodaro and Harappa, Hinglaj Mata Mandir- one of the places where Sati’s remains fell according to the mythological story. The other places called Shakti peeths are spread out across the subcontinent and total about 51. To followers of the Shakti sect they are one of many pilgrimmage sites. Sharda devi temple just across the loc used to be the site of a Buddhist university in the past. Would be interesting to have that site maintained.

So i think Mahool if you or Muqa bhai should become PM of Pakistan you can make the above stuff happen. :slight_smile: Sab ke liye acha hoga aur sab ko fayda.

Sorry, I meant in that thread people claim that indians hate pakistanis. In this thread they claim, indians love pakistanis.

Are you sure you mean PA rather than general? I think i know which thread you're talking about.

aff tapic…

:zobo:

so Indus Valley Civilisation has nothing common with Ganga Jamni Civilization except to the extent of similarities between Pakistanis and North Indians?

An application must be summarised and to the point :snooty:

Everyone has neighbours. North Indians got the cool Pakistanis, South Indians have the warm Sri Lankans, Bengalis have the Bangladeshis etc etc :) Still people from other parts of India can find similarities with Pakistan. The whole name of India and even Hindu originated from Indus river which runs through Pakistan so im sure there are cultural similarities we are not fully aware of yet. Through archaeological discoveries and studies of historical texts we will discover more.

wow.. you are amazing, shasavari pal. please stop. #kthxbai](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=kthxbai) #lotsofcondesendingnonsense](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=lotsofcondesendingnonsense) #donteverwanttoread](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=donteverwanttoread)

Chill Queer pal. Just my opinion..mentioning geographical boundaries does not mean im being condescending. It’s my personal view that lot of Indians, no matter location, can find similarities with Pakistan as well as many differences. I just mentioned the similarities. Obviously people wont agree. Agree to disagree. :slight_smile: Hope you have a great day in sunny CA.

#noproblems](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=noproblems)
#thatscool](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=thatscool)
#agreetodisagree](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=agreetodisagree)
#gbyemate](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=gbyemate)

**Warning: Long and just my opinion. No intention to offend those who think similarities are not there whether Indian or Pakistani. Agree to disagree with those people and happy to have diversity of opinion. To avoid any possibility of hurt sentiments exercise your right to ignore this post.

Matlab Muqa bhai if we think about it and people look in depth there are lot of similarities.
Not just between North India (Agra, Delhi, UP, Punjab) and Lahore either. There’s more than just the Punjabi connection

Sindh/Rajasthan have similarities even in the way women dress in Rajasthan there are similarities with the Indus Valley civilisation as well as Mohenjodaro and Harappa. Mohenjodaro and Harappa are important sites for all those aware of it not just for Hindus but for all Indians.
Sindh and Rajasthan- have lot of similarities. My mother studied and worked in Udaipur, which is part of state of Rajasthan, and i lived there some time also..and from what ive read of Indus valley there were definite similarities. Also there are many dargahs in Sindh like in Mumbai and Rajasthan. People of all backgrounds visit places like Haji Ali dargah and Ajmer Sharif.

Mumbai-Karachi- both are port cities and diverse, important places for economy.

Plus if one looks at the places ive mentioned for the Buddhists in Ladakh the Buddhist monuments in Taxila would be important. And that is near Islamabad.
Also places like Hinglaj Mata in Balochistan and Katas raj will have significance for those followers irrespective of location in India. These places could be proper and well visited tourist places if maintained and if there were tourist packages. Hinglaj Mata is one of 51 significant locations scattered all around India, Bangladesh and one of the 51 is located in Pakistan.
The Mughal architecture of Lahore, Sindh may be mostly in North (like Delhi, Agra, Lucknow) but even in Bangalore there are forts of Tipu Sultan and Haider Ali.

If one looks at Ashoka’s empire remnants can be found in Pakistan, Afghanistan and lot of India today.
The capitals of the empire were Taxila and Ujjain which is in central India. It includes Kalinga, which is on east coast and in state of Odisha to including Andra Pradesh in South. i am sure there would have been some cultural similarities in that time. Perhaps even in the Buddhist or Asoka related monuments left behind. Sri Lanka with its Buddhist history would also have a connection with the Buddhist monuments/heritage of Taxila and parts of Pakistan. The Mauryan empire covered a lot of the subcontinent, even a lot of South, so there were be some cultural similarity from that. Ashoka - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Also, Sanskrit which has more of a historical relationship with Tamil than Hindi and some of the greatest scholars would originate from what is Pakistan today. Vedic sanskrit is also known as Panini Sanskrit. Panini 2000 years ago lived in Pushkalavati in Charsadda, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. He formulated 4000 rules of Sanskrit morphology, rules and syntax. My parents learnt Sanskrit at school and one day I hope to as well..as well as learning Urdu. Panini’s ashtadhyayi is the most complicated grammar of Sanskrit. Many of the rules of Sanskrit were written by Panini and influence is found not only in the languages of India but also it inspired European languages. Lot of german grammar and structure is apparently inspired by Sanskrit. Will Durant, an American historian, refers to it as "the mother of Europe’s languages."Panini’s grammar is known to be the earliest example of the most scientific grammar in the world. It is also a computer friendly language. In 2004 in India there were stamps picturing Panini to honour him and a temple was built for him on soil taken from his birthplace in Pakistan. It is in Varanasi (known as Kashi in ancient times) and called Panini Smarak Mandir. Though it is called a mandir it is more like a museum/place to celebrate and decorate his achievements/centre of learning. It is part of an educational campus which teaches Sanskrit and Vedic knowledge to girls and it is called Panini Kanya Mahavidyalai
Pakistani soil for dream Kashi temple - News Oneindia <— here is an article on the process. Inside the mandir there will be 4000 inscriptions from Panini’s Ashtadhayayi and it will be used to teach girls at the campus so they can become Sanskrit acharyas (teachers) and purohits(preists). Also in Pakistan a stamp was released 2 years ago for Panini and a stupa built at his village.
I think also in europe there are books on Panini and museums featuring his work.

My parents say lot of our cultural heritage is in Pakistan. So if someone says negative about Pakistan, rather than policies like you would do in India etc, it is like saying negative to
your own cultural heritage. Mohenjodaro and Harappa are places even south indians can relate to.

I think with all this cultural exchange we’ll just come back full circle and realise the commonalities we had back at the time of Indus Valley/Mughal empire/Ashoka’s time.
Now if we just think in terms of language maybe similarity won’t extend but if we think of cultural and historical similarities even places Balochistan, Peshawar can have shared histories to different parts of India. I think even French, German and English people acknowledge some common cultural heritage even if language is different and they had wars.

Our men are very famous in India ;)

Informative :k:

Devi ji aap ki book kab aa rahi hai market main? :stuck_out_tongue: