Pakistani cotton scientist declared the world’s best in 2012

Congrats to Dr. Zafar. :slight_smile:

Pakistani cotton scientist declared the world

A Pakistan-based scientist has been honoured by the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC), the body said in a statement released this week.

Dr Yusuf Zafar, who is the director general agriculture and biotechnology at the Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission was declared ‘Scientist of the Year-2012’ for his pioneering work in the cotton biotechnology sector.

Zafar has over 110 scientific papers (published in national and international journals) to his name. According to ICAC, “in cotton virology his group covers nearly 90 per cent of the global published literature.”

The Faisalabad-based scientist played a key role in bringing together the world’s major cotton groups, including Australia, China, UK and USA, for the purpose of conducting joint research.

Heading the National Institute of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering in Faisalabad, Zafar and his team have contributed helped produce nearly 100 M. Phil and 30 Ph. D Pakistan-based students, focussing on various aspects of research and development in cotton. He has, meanwhile, remained in the front line to establish Biosafety Protocols, Plant Breeder Rights, Intellectual Property Rights/Patents and ISO certification in Pakistan.

In 2001, the Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission awarded him Best Scientist of the Year Award. The President of Pakistan awarded him ‘Tamgha-e-Imtiaz (Medal of Distinction) in 2004, the highest recognition for a researcher.

In other honours, Zafar has also won the Rockefeller Foundation and UNESCO Research Awards on Agri-Biotechnology, and is member of the USDA Cochran Fellow on Agriculture Biotechnology.

Apart from leading the Faisalabad institute, he is on the Board of Governors of the International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology-ICGEB (Italy), FAO country focal person on agriculture biotechnology and member of the Cotton Policy Committee of the government.

The ‘Scientist of the year -2012’ award was announced by ICAC late Wednesday. ICAC is an intergovernmental body with 54 members and provides services to Common Funds for Commodity (CFC), an organisation of UNCTAD-UN family.

Applications for the award are invited each year by the Washington DC-based institute and the selection committee comprises five anonymous judges outside the ICAC Secretariat.

Re: Pakistani cotton scientist declared the world’s best in 2012

PAEC is doing a great job in Pakistan :k:

Great :k:

I remember reading this article … I think it was Ali Syed who posted it in Positive Pakistanis thread!

Thank You Dr. Zafar for making the entire proud! :k:

now that PPP knows about this post, soon you will see that PPP has replaced this guy with a corrupt, incompetent jiyala from tadu adam jan.

We are talking about Pakistan atomic energy commission here and they will post some one who is able and intelligent and yes that person can be some one from Tandu Adam as well.

If PPP has its way, they will appoint Jahangir Badar as the chairman of PAEC. Remember Benazir said that I think I will put Jahangir Badar as Chief Justice of Supreme Court.

Just go to any department such as PIA and you will see a lot of people from these areas. Not that I have any objection to people coming from these areas, its just that they don't even know how to sign their names...........just jiyalapan, corrupt ethics and incompetency are the required traits.

:naraz:

yeh Tandu Adam kya hai?:faizy:

Nothing. a factory of illiterate / uneducated and unskilled people :bummer:

Was there something wrong there? :bummer:

Yes... Tandu Aadam or any of the cities of Sindh or any part of Pakistan should not be taken illiterate generally. Every city/town of Pakistan produced gem of people and have ability to do so irrespective of lack of govt support and facilities. One may not agree to PPP and its policies for giving employment to people from particular area, but that doesn't automatically make people from that area jahil e matlaq.

That was always my point and I'll carry this point for any part of Pakistan, be it Tando Aadam, Cheechoo ki Maliyan or Lalu Khet.

Tandu adam=alibaug of india.......

Have you heard hindi movie dialogue"Alibaug se ayela samajh raha hai kya?"

:smilestar: there is nothing like alibaug in this era of modern technology.

^ Agreed... I have studied in university with a guy from a small village of Bahawalnagar and he was the first person from his village to do engineering, and later he did a PHd and he is working in some of the defence organizations on a good position and he is an excellent researcher.

fantastic!

When it comes to intelligence and competence then I would say ‘Zehanat kisi ki meeras nahin hoti’. People from rural area have more ability because they have tested life with 5 fingers as compared to churri kante wale shehri babu.

PS: Sindh Agricultural University, Tando Jam is not far away from Tando Adam :fatee:

If we go only one generation above us (our parents) most of them are self made and the schools they studied were the taat ones, and no electricity at home so had to use lanterns. And this area which I am talking about is only 120 Kms away from Lahore, and some of them became doctors, engineers and marketing professionals. Another interesting thing was that these people used to start learning ABC in class 6, and when they entered universities they had to compete with English medium students and in most cases they over shone them in the long run.

I don't know if I should laugh or cry.
One university in pakisant have 128+ PHD in agriculture.
And we have 2 agri. uni.
And 50 year later we had one scientist declared worlds best cotton scientist ?

Zafar sahib :k:
hats off to these handful of people that help us renew our faith in ourselves as a nation, not everything is lost…

on a side note
i wouldn’t be surprised if we have a new federal minister appointed for “Scientific cotton affairs” or something like that - and yes he might be from Tando Adam :smiley: