Pakistan Zindabad

Don’t ask what your country can do for you instead ask what you can do for your country” These were the golden words spoken by John F kenedy that were used by many leaders unlike him to exploit their nation. Not that JFK made a mistake, its leaders of countries like Pakistan with whom such words don’t go well. I make this bold proclamation by telling you how a country or a leader can qualify to make such statements.

1. If a country has a balanced and fair judicial system, where judges don’t accept suitcases full of money to deliver justice. Where you don’t have to fight a case in the court for 30 years to get a squatter off from your land.

2. If a country has a clean and transparent policing system. Where money is not collected on a daily basis to fill the pockets of the whole police staff starting from the SHO to the IG.

3. If a country has a lucid traffic system. Where a rikshaw, a cycle, a tanga, a truck and a car are not moving on the same single road and traffic lawlessness is the order of the day.

4. If a country has good sanitation and water system, where people don’t die because they drank contaminated water coming out of government taps or on the other hand there is no water to drink.

5. If a country can provide its entire people with the basic necessities of life like sugar, flour and edible oil with controlled rates accessible everywhere. So that you don’t have to queue at the utility stores to get a subsidized rationed quantity.

6. If a country has a proper education system, where every one gets free education through a single standardized system.

7. If a country has a system of recruitment agents and employment exchanges so that people graduating can look forward to a personalized and adapted job seeking. Where people with a masters degree are not applying for clerks and waiters jobs.

8.If in a country the electricity is not shut down intermittently in searing heat because of a newly coined word “Load shedding”.

1. If in a country you don’t have to lie on the road after an accident waiting for locals to take you to the hospital rather than an ambulance.

2. If in a country land mutation means a trip to the “Patwari”. Where the “Patwari” is the king of the hill and can literally put your land in someone else’s share.

3. If in a country there is a proper garbage disposal system, where road sides are not littered with heaps of rubbish spreading disease.

4. If in a country proper environment is provided to the youth, having proper youth clubs/ sports clubs that vent the young generation’s energies in the right direction.

5. If in a country adequate medical facilities are provided, where not only the rich can get proper medical care with medicines that are not substandard or expired. Where diseases like cholera, tuberculosis, and hepatitis are a thing of the past.

6. Last but not the least , a country whose politicians or the ruling party is sincere in its resolve and genuinely want to benefit the country. Where words like corruption, bribery, nepotism are struck out of the nations dictionary.

Ironically I have come up with 14 points that , The same 14 points that the great Quaid had put forward for the making of Pakistan , little that he new that after 50 years of Pakistan’s creation there will be 14 more points that will negate every thing he hoped Pakistan to stand for.

I am totally disillusioned disgusted and perplexed by the corrupt system in which this country is being run. Being a representative of the new generation I would hope that this vicious circle would end but at the same time I am certain that corruption, cheating, and dishonesty have become part of our nation’s character. Whether we are poor or rich, educated or uneducated our sleazy mindsets will never change. After my return from the west I had faith in this country but sadly I have to say I was dead wrong. I declare today that I have changed too I will drop my fair and honest attitude and become part of the system as I also have started to believe on the concept of “Pakistan ka matlab kya , Humaray saath mil ya BhaR may ja”.

Re: Pakistan Zindabad

Who said "ask not what your country can do for you ask what you can do for your country?

No It was not JFK, He was an arab American he came to USA from Lebanon
He also siad “Every man is the Desendant of every king and every slave that ever lived”

Pakora ji, you have whined all those 14 points, now care to elaborate on 14 or some points on how YOU are helping YOUR country?

For some the glass is always half "EMPTY"

Don’t know why every now and then someone comes up with a list of complaints against sohni dharti but I guess we are okay- not like the west(America, England) but of course much better than corrupt and poor India. Pakora’ji, tay kaddey tussi saadey Sialkot awo.. it’s been growing and constantly improving. A lot of problems you listed are because of Bhindians and their agents in Pakistan:mad:

^Mashallah, now we are going to blame the traffic problems on the INdians as well, or may be you are right they are driving like crazy on the streets of Lahore.

It's a sad statement that there is a lot more to be pessimistic about than hopeful about, including the future existence of Pakistan itself.

I used to be a flag waving nationalist in my youth, but growing up have shown me the truth about Pakistan.

Those with misplaced nationalism and shutters on their eyes often do not see things realistically.

Keep India out of this for once pls...:p

My fellow citizens (Pakistanis ONLY), I am not a anti –Pakistan person. You will be amazed to know that in 1998 I have worn the uniform, raised my right hand and sworn to the crescent and star flag that I will put my life on the line for Pakistan.
BUT at least on 7 of the 14 points have directly affected me. call a spade a spade.
Probably I spewed all this when I applied for a clerk’s job having masters in engineering.

PS: I dint get the job.:(

I feel for you - Pakora, I can understand the frustration and helplessness, when you are in this situation.

But think this as a blessing - because you would have wasted your education and remained unhappy & frustrated in a job as a clerk.

The same situation exists in India also - all the points you mentioned.

Why don't you look up the points required, to emigrate to New Zealand - as a Master's in Engineering I am sure you can get ' Permanent Residence' there.

Sad to knowo what you are facing Pakora bhaijaan.. Have faith in god- something will come up..