My choice, Salim Malik and Miandad, the mighty babas! Especially if we were playing India, I would always choose them, for both of them batted their hearts out when they played India. For instance, Miandad hit that six of that last ball, not only to win the match Pakistan was supposed to loose, but that moment proved to be a turning point for Pakistans success against India. Salim Malik, as we all know once batted with a broken thumb, and won us a match in India that we were unlikely to win. Two of Pakistan's best batsmen!
Spock ji, we're not asking about India because they will be mediocore against a Pakistani all star lineup, I am asking you guys to select a team which is to face the current Aussie team.
LOL, Mianded and Malik are good enough to take on the mighty aussies too!! Miandad, I dont need to say anything, and Malik, he was all over the Aussies in 1994!! I think he made 237 in one test and then 130 in the other and won us the series.
I must say I agree. If Malik wasn't making deals with the devil, he would have been a great, great batsman. He was very spunky. I loved his batting. He has to be in my Pak 11.
Very tough choice for 3, 4, 5.
Miandad is certain, its a big hoopla between Inzi, Zaheer and Malik.
The disadvantage that comes for Zaheer Abbas is that not many of us saw him play, while we all have seen Inzi and Malik.
In the end I would go for Zaheer, Miandad and Inzi.
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Very tough choice for 3, 4, 5.
Miandad is certain, its a big hoopla between Inzi, Zaheer and Malik.
The disadvantage that comes for Zaheer Abbas is that not many of us saw him play, while we all have seen Inzi and Malik.
In the end I would go for Zaheer, Miandad and Inzi.
Aman
Jab apne hi marzi ki karni hai to hum sabhon se pooch kyon rahe ho ;)
With 2 W's depart and no solid batsman left in the team apart from Inzi and Yoyo I guess its good to look back, admire our great players and now morn on our current squad. I think we have to wait for few years to see something the likes of Imran, Wasim, Waqar, Saeed, Javaid and so on.
I think its just childish to discuss Pakistan XI which is based on the past players.
Comeon guys look into the future don't look back, warna pathar ke ban jao gay :)
Mushtaq Mohammed ( Very dependable, very good bat)
Miandad.
Inzimam.
I have watched and admired hundreds of Zaheer Abbas innings but the guy was not very good against sheer pace and there were always rumours that he was afraid of facing pace. Hence my reluctance to put him up against the Aussies.
Zaheer Abbas was another option but like Ehsan bhai said his record against sheer pace isnt impressive as that of Asif, Miandad and Inzimam.
Asif was man of crisis for Pakistan before Miandad took over. Inzimam, though hardly a man of crisis, makes my nominations for the sheer talent and lazy elegance he has.
To all the folks slotting Inzi at 5, I'm a bit curious- any particular reasons for bringing him that low?
He's more effective against the fast bowlers and is a bit on the slow side (starting his own game and physically) for a no. 5 bat IMO. Unless wickets have fallen in a hurry, someone at that spot will have to pick up proceedings double-quick and start launching from the expected platform.