Pakistan world cup preliminary squad

Re: Pakistan world cup preliminary squad

Wow. He went south in a hurry.

aap ke pur-zor israar pe Ehsan Adil ko drop kar dete hayn… ab to 15 ho gaye na? :slight_smile:

Drop karna tha toh Ehsan koh hee kyun. Aap koh ehsan naam say koi masla hai. :nahi:

Don't they say Karan north of the Vindhyas?

"The Grand Plan" - Khawaja Asif is the one behind Shoaib Malik. Whatever happened to the promising allrounder Hammad Azam? Now that Hafeez is banned from bowling, and with 68 days till WC, don't think he'll be able to get his bowling action correction. He shouldn't be included in the 15 just for his batting, - he cannot bat as opener in the bouncy/swinging wickets down under. If Shoaib & Kamran are selected, forget going passed the first round.

I do not know how many players are there in Pakistan, whom we do not even know, as they were not given any chance though they deserve to be in Pakistan team … on the other hand, from players that I know … here are my selection, and I only took their performance as criteria:

World cup team ... ODI and 20-20 (selected batsmen with good average and strike rates).

Sarfraz
Shahzad/Shoaib
Fawad
Misbah
Sohail
Umar Akmal
Sohail Tanvir
Afridi
Imran khan
Gul/Irfan/Anwer/Bhatti
Wahab
Ajmal
Yasir shah/Zulfiqar Babar

Test team (may not be too accurate as far as bowlers are concerned): Average of all batsmen I selected have over 40 in first class … prefer one whose average is ~50 … in batting order.

Sarfraz
Shahzad/Shoaib
Fawad
Misbah
Sohail
Yunus
Umar Akmal
Ajmal
Sohail/Anwer/Gul/Bhatti
Yasir shah/Zulfiqar Babar
Wahab/Irfan

I would not mind given explanation for each of my choice and their batting order. :)

What is Hafeez is doing in the squad.. bouncy pitches, moving/swinging deliveries... and he can't bowl.. so what is he doing there.. a free trip of WC??

Kamran Akmal + Shoaib Malik, a solid case of Parchi... with a keeper like Sarfaraz Ahmed and Omer Akmal as back up keeper.. whats the point.. unless he have provided some tagri sifarsh... and shoaib malik... what is this guy doing there... his inclusion in the team is enough to bring the morale of the team down...

My fifteen for world cup:

Sarfraz
Shazad
Shoaib
Fawad
Misbah
Harris Sohail
Umar Akmal
Sohail Tanvir
Afridi
Imran Khan
Zulfiqar Babar
Anwer Ali
Gul
Wahab
Saeed Ajmal

Anwer, Gul, Wahab, Irfan, Bhatti … they all have similar bowling averages, but Anwer is better batsman with much higher batting average (list A average = 22.60 … strike rate in twenty20 is ~140).

Gul, Irfan, Wahab, Bhatti (Any two from them … probably Gul and Wahab that I included in the list)

Haris Sohail is listed in middle order and today he showed his all rounder skills…

I can only put up with one ehsan, and you know who that is :chai:

as long as un ko deewaar mai nahi chuna sab chalta hai :wink:

I know you mean Ehsanullah the TTP spokesman. Kya choice hai. :nahi:

My 15 men squad for WC

Openers
Ahmed Shehzad, Nasir Jamshed
Middle order
Misbah-ul-Haq, Fawad Alam, Haris Sohail, Umar Akmal
Allrounders
Shahid Afridi, Anwar Ali
Wicketkeepers
Sarfraz Ahmed
Fast bowlers
Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Ehsan Adil
Spinners
Raza Hasan, Yasir Shah

How come your 15 man squad doesn't have 16 men?

This would be my final 15 for the World Cup

Openers:
Ahmed Shehzad
Hafeez
Nasir Jamshed

Middle Order
Sohaib Maqsood
Umar Akmal
Haris Sohail
Fawad Alam
Misbah ul Haq (c)

All rounder
Shahid Afridi

Wicket keeper
Sarfraz

Fast Bowlers
Irfan
Junaid
Wahab

Spinners
Saeed Ajmal (provided he has corrected his action by then)
Yasir Shah/ Zulfiqar Babar

Both Irfan and Junaid cannot bat so (reluctantly) a case could be made for Sohail Tanvir's inclusion in place of Junaid (struggles with the ball in the death overs). Umar Gul doesn't bowl well in the death overs either

Yes, because thats where Sania was (literally, I mean) ;)

With the 5 ODI ongoing between Pak vs NZ, and Pakistan at 123/5, I would to open the debate... After these ODIs, is there any room for Asad Shafiq or Umar Akmal for the WC bound squad? They haven't justified their selection with any significant contribution. With Sohaib Maqsood fit, he should fill in one of those positions, and Fawad Alam should get the second one? Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanir & Anwar Ali - anyone of these 3 deserve to be in the WC squad? They haven't proved it either. Hope Junaid is fit by then. We are in deep trouble at the WC.

For bowling, I don't think we have many options with Junaid and Gul injured and Ajmal and Hafeez banned. We might have to pick up mediocre bowlers. But, in batting, I think we have several good options available. I think Fawad Alam and Sohaib Maqsood will be good replacement for Asad Shafiq and Umar Akmal. Though that one hundred might have given Younis a lifeline, I think we need to replace him as well.

I agree on Younis. I love Younis Khan, he is a legend but in the test arena. Not made for ODIs, and the century in the 4th ODI means he will definitely get a ticket for the WC. I know he is an awesome gentleman and he’ll probably retire from ODIs after the WC. Even Saleem Malik has a better ODI average than Younis Khan, and we are talking about 2 different era of cricket. With T20 cricket so common nowadays, high scoring ODIs are very common. See the stats:
Cricket Records | Records | Pakistan | One-Day Internationals | Most runs | ESPN Cricinfo

I don't know why Asad is being selected for ODI

He is completely useless