Pakistan & World Affairs GupShup is Dead

Where are the people who were very enthusiastic in participating in the discussions and filled up the thread with mushroom of their, thoughts, comments. Some always very pertinent and informative with solid arguments. I presume it was originated in the mid 1990's and it flourished for many years to come. I think people have left this forum since at least last 5, 6 years because of not much interest left in the topics or discussions. The new moderators and administration have failed to attract new people as compared to the old ones. But I may be wrong. Where have those intelligent people disappeared? Credit goes to one and only one Anwar Pasha who is always there to make some life out of this already dead forum. :)​

Two things IMO. One is life has happened to most of users and priorities have changed. Second, people have run out of patience to wait for others to login and comment to have a serious discussion. Now forums like FB and whatsapp have people responding within minutes. And those are the people who would most likely agree to you since it’ll be on a likeminded page or group. Also people dont even have temperament anymore to bear a difference of opinion. The classic GS old threads are an amazing example of how a political discussion can and should go on while still keeping the sanity as well as civility.
Kudos to all the active GSers for last many years.. :hat:

Really not agreed on that. For many years FB and WhatsApp were there but P & W Affairs forum flourished, very popular and the discussions you do in this forum, you can not do on fb and WApp. I have seen the change in last five or six years. Perhaps old participants have lost their appetite for this forum, unfortunately. They are no more interested in Pakistani politics. I still remember the mushroom of comments on first ‘dharna’ of Imran Khan in 2014, that balloon had exploded in 2022 after stupid action of Imran Khan dissolving NA and than resigning. I don’t remember a cricket match when he left the ground in match knowing that he would lost the match. He was a fighter, he should have fought till end, never ever left the political arena to ‘chor’ according to him.

Very few number of participants is the reason why I avoid starting new threads and prefer to use existing threads instead. I still prefer GS' format of discussions though over WhatsApp. One big reason why people left was non-existent moderation on GS. I think GS moderation swung from one extreme to another. People were badly insulted and humiliated here while the moderators remained asleep.

I am relatively new on GS. I joined right before the mega slump happened. GS has lot of potential as it provides a safe-space for Pakistanis to discuss topics pertinent to them without harassment from Indians. So it's not too late. I'm sure if moderation continues to do it's job, many people will return.

Now discussion like these have taken over political forums :smokin:

[quote=““Sheeda Pistol””]
Now discussion like these have taken over political forums :smokin:

What political forums? Can you name few? Perhaps they were already there when gs originated and the forum continue enjoyed popularity for many years to come.

Pakistani forums are micromanaged. It is I think in the Pakistani trait to be abusive which I have seen in other forums. This is why I signed up for this forum as the team treated us like adults.

I think that SID has Americanized hence his laissez faire approach to freedom of speech in this forum. He needs to be sent Altaf bhai for proper training to get rid of this azaad khiyalaat. I’d send him to interior Sindh but he might never come back!

I believe there is not much gas (for lack of a better word) left in these forms. Anyone of us remaining visitors can start multiple threads on multiple topics here but they look more like an "FYI" with hardly any participation. So the notion of discussion from the discussion forum is long gone.

[quote=““Sheeda Pistol””]
I believe there is not much gas (for lack of a better word) left in these forms. Anyone of us remaining visitors can start multiple threads on multiple topics here but they look more like an “FYI” with hardly any participation. So the notion of discussion from the discussion forum is long gone.

I have to agree on that. After killing of the ‘Last of Mohican’ Benazir Bhutto, the politics in Pakistan became ‘hybrid’. A lot of interference from Supreme/High Courts involving in 100% political issues which should have been resolved in assemblies but poking of CJPs made the politics as their ‘ghar ki londhi’. Involvement of military in every field including directing courts what kind of decisions they have to take is also destroyed the real sense of democracy in the country. Corrupt politicians again and again relieved of their charges by the courts made Pakistan most corrupt country on earth. Frequent U-turns on promises, agenda by the leaders particularly Imran Khan, also involving military in every decision by him made politics as obsolete. May be some of these reasons that why the politics in Pakistan is dead so is this forum…:slight_smile:

It took TWO weeks to approve me. No wonder. TWO weeks.

The moderators are drunk with power and act like little hitlars as i have noted from previous discussions.

Give someone a badge or bit a of power and it goes to their heads. i wont be surprised if they refresh the screen every few minutes 24/7 to stop people saying the wrong thing.

In another forum the mods deleted everyone’s comments for a ‘fresh’ start and it never recovered as the members were raging as all their hard work and toil was destroyed.

Moderator/administrator please say something, about the main failure of this forum :). However partly he is right, we faced a number of moderators since 1990s, some of them were exactly as defined above. But on and off a well balanced moderator or moderators were replaced by these ‘hitlars’ :slight_smile:

Aaho ji ye sab sattu pi ke tun hen. Effy pa ji you pleese bring the coup. Be avar new army chief na