They already left the field for bad light. Its perhaps end of the game.
Light meters out
Umps meeting again about the light
light offered and accepted
it also started to rain.. perhaps if rain fades away, the light may become better, but there will be very few overs for Pakistan to play even if bowl them all out.
Stupid rain ![]()
damn i missed the party! must be a treat to watch and i was attending this AQEEQA in our community :(
Sami #$@##$%^ up NZ and hope those idiot commentrators have praised him for atleast once!
had we got them a bit early (at around 60/70 run) tub bhee hamarey pass chance hota but i guess now after this rain-stop this is a certain draw!
How sad, Pakistan had a chance to win but rain played spoilsport.
infect game was much alike the IND-AUS game with the difference of rain :(
*Originally posted by Decent 6Chora: *
infect game was much alike the IND-AUS game with the difference of rain :(
Rain took away more than one day :(
RAIN RAIN RAIN
*Originally posted by Changez_like: *
Rain took away more than one day :(
On the other hand a draw is not bad at all considering Pak was staring down a barrel on day 2. Chasing even a small target of 220 on a soggy pitch might have resulted in a disaster that Pak did well to avoid. At least the team goes into the second test all gung ho.
^ Karina, yes, at one point we were looking to push it to a draw esp. when our main strike bowler couldn't do much in 1st inning and our big guns in batting couldn't take us to avoid follow on, now that Moin has done it and Sami struck his rhythm we suddenly wished there was no rain and we had had all the overs that we could :)
It's sad that match drawn, Pakistan was never in the game when things look bad at the end of Day 3. Then, Moin Khan and Mohammad Sami took the stand, and Pakistan restore its pride. Today, Sami was a different bowler. I must say, wicket of Stephen Fleming was the one delivery that surprised him! Sami bowled his heart out. It's good he resolved his No Balls issues in this Test match and paid back Kiwis ON-THEIR-FACE.
Umer Gul and Shabbir Ahmed bowled great as well.
Even though, the match drawn but it ended on a high note for Pakistan. Especially for Sami. There was no way for him to get the five wicket haul but he did get in the end, demoslished New Zealand
*Originally posted by karina: *
On the other hand a draw is not bad at all considering Pak was staring down a barrel on day 2. Chasing even a small target of 220 on a soggy pitch might have resulted in a disaster that Pak did well to avoid. At least the team goes into the second test all gung ho.
lo ye phir a gai. phir kehtay hain ke hum to PAK ko support kar rahay thay, yeah maybe in a negative way ;)
Changez - I know, I was just trying to make you feel better.:)
Teaser - YOu got a serious problem with civilised conversation dude - and stop winking maniacally every time you talk to me.;)
yeah you are right, Pakistans batting might have flopped in these kind of circumstances, but you never know, Farhat and Hameed, they can knock the bowling pretty badlyy ![]()
anyway in all, what a day for Pakistan, Sami into form and Gull bowling nicely.. and just see the zest and spice these youngsters add to the team, Taufeeq took a blinder at the second slip to dismiss Vettori off the bowling of Sami… In all well palyed Both teams and Well Played Pakistan in the last two days ![]()
*Originally posted by karina: *
Teaser - YOu got a serious problem with civilised conversation dude - and stop winking maniacally every time you talk to me.;)
I'd say the same about you maybe u need to fix yourself ;) ye winking kanhi lagti hai kya? ;)
Being negative and on top of that you think u r being civilise wah wah ye moon aur masoor ke daal ;)
Sami and Gul give New Zealand a fright
The Wisden Bulletin by Lynn McConnell
December 23, 2003
New Zealand 563 (Fleming 192, Vettori 137*; Shabbir 5-117) and 96 for 8 (Sami 5-44) drew with Pakistan 463 (Moin 137; Tuffey 5-87)
Scorecard
Hamilton’s clouds parted long enough on the last day of the first Test between New Zealand and Pakistan for another advertisement for Test cricket’s virtues to be played out. Soon, though, the skies opened, and a reeling New Zealand team was let off the hook. A win would have been unlikely for Pakistan, but they gave themselves every chance of an upset, reducing New Zealand to 52 for 7.
Mohammad Sami found the rhythm that had deserted him in his no-ball plagued first innings and bowled with dazzling speed and accuracy, his fastest ball being measured at 154 kmph. It was too much for the sleepy New Zealanders, who had moped around during a morning lost to bad weather. The umpires decided to start after lunch, with 75 overs possible in a day that was originally to have been contested over 105 overs.
Sami, who last performed a destruction job in the first Test of Pakistan’s last series in New Zealand, in 2000-01, at Eden Park, when New Zealand lost nine wickets for 26 runs, wound up and routed the top-order. He took 5 for 44, and at the start of play bowled 13 overs unchanged and took 4 for 32. Support from Umar Gul who dismissed Mark Richardson, caught behind by Moin Khan, for 15 and then bowled Chris Cairns, off successive balls, was an unexpected bonus.
New Zealand had reached a tentative 13 when Sami homed in on the length and line that made him so devastating. Lou Vincent got a full ball which flew to Imran Farhat who leapt high at second slip to pull in the catch (13 for 1). Stephen Fleming, the first innings century-maker, then got an edge from a good-length rising ball that was taken by Moin Khan (13 for 2). Fleming was out for a duck after facing only four balls.
Scott Styris began to play some shots but, on 20, he got another fine ball from Sami which was taken by Taufeeq in the slips (42 for 3). Then, on the same score, Richardson was surprised by a ball from Umar Gul which he edged to Moin, having scored 15. Cairns departed next ball (42 for 5), and then in an obvious reflection of the panic among the New Zealanders, Craig McMillan ran himself out attempting a second run on Sami’s arm (47 for 6). The throw beat McMillan, who had scored 2. Robbie Hart chose to not play a shot to the first ball he received and was bowled (52 for 7).
The rot was halted by Jacob Oram and Daniel Vettori who got New Zealand through to 87 for 7 at tea. They added 35 runs to halt Pakistan’s momentum and lengthen the demand on the Pakistan batsmen, should they pick up the last three wickets quickly enough to attempt a run chase. There were 37 overs left when the last session began and New Zealand’s lead was 187. Vettori became Sami’s fifth victim when offering a sharp chance that was taken at second slip by Taufeeq Umar (95 for 8). But soon after bad light halted play, and rain set in soon after to force the end of the match.
It brought to an end a match which, had it been played out over five uninterrupted days might have been a classic. It featured fine centuries by Stephen Fleming (192) and Daniel Vettori (137 not out), for New Zealand, and Moin Khan (137) for Pakistan. The lower-orders of both sides flourished. Daryl Tuffey took a five-wicket bag for New Zealand with a big-hearted display on a largely unhelpful pitch while Sami demonstrated the worth of outright pace on the last afternoon. The stage has been set for a riveting contest in the second Test at Wellington’s Basin Reserve.
© Wisden Cricinfo Ltd
link
argh not you too. ![]()
Oh well, I agree with everthing. HOnestly, Pakistan came back strongly. It was a bit like Brisbane where rain ended the match at a juncture where it could have gone either way. In today’s match i would have given Pak a slight edge had there been some more overs for a chase, considering NZ bowling hasn’t been all that hot. So well done and all that, and here’s wishing you better weather for the next test. :k:
Well done pakistan :k; keep ur tails up
Ahh, I didnt notice, this "
" was cozing some problem, accept my appologies mam, for winking at you :)…
Thanx for your support ![]()