Congratulations to Pak :k:
Though I wish there wud have been an India-Pak match ![]()
Congratulations to Pak :k:
Though I wish there wud have been an India-Pak match ![]()
I got a prize from him when he the guest of honour at the prize ceremony at the Alkhobar school. Seemed like one hell of a guy.
Sir Tahir Sheikh was the master of the ceremony for the night. Two of my favourite people.
No, I didn’t know that Man but you and sambrialian are lucky to know that. ![]()
I studied only 9th and 10th Grade in Al-Khobar School and first three months of First year (April-June) spent in Tulaahs’. ![]()
After Matric result, I left KSA and came to the USA. Since then, I haven’t gone back to the KSA. I still have friends in Khober, who loves to stand in front of Sunshine Hotel after school.
You know what am talkin’ about. Let’s not be more specific on this subject. Shhhhhh! :nono:
Atleast we won in something
awesome!!!
what a great show by our paki team. lets hope they can continue to play inspiring hockey and win all major tournaments this yr.
:k: :k: :k:
Congratulations to Pakistan. ![]()
*Originally posted by teaser: *
indians ko kya hoa, gum ho gay
Arey Bhai yahin HaiN - We also have a life beyond Gupshup unlike some members.
Anyways - Congratulaions to Pakistan Hockey Teams and its fans. :)
Congrats to Pak team for a victory, lets hope its a step toward regaining our greatness in hockey.
What this thread started out to mock the Pakistanis and went onto to become a celebration.
Good job, Congratulations to Pakistani hockey team on the success, I hope that they can keep it up :k:
Dawn Editorial on Pakistan’s Victory. ![]()
**Pakistan’s victory against World Champions Germany in the Azlan Shah hockey tournament in Malaysia, making up for the initial reverse, has come as a pleasant surprise. This is the country’s third success in the prestigious event in eight outings. **
Its overall performance in the event was consistent and impressive. By outclassing New Zealand in the opening game and subsequently Malaysia, Pakistan once again has asserted its potential and calibre. These victories, following the inglorious slump in 2001 when its team returned for the first time without a medal being relegated to the fourth position, can act as spur to bolster the team’s sagging morale. The forthcoming competitions will be more demanding and must be prepared for in right earnest. These challenges can only be faced by hard work and proper coaching.
**A combination of talent and training in the light of modern requirements is essential to stay among the top contenders. A balanced blend of experienced talent and promising newcomers can sustain the improvement now in evidence. Unfortunately, the patronage necessary to groom fresh talent is lacking - which has restricted progress over the years. **
The reason for this drought is lack of resources and facilities. While in the initial years hockey was the centre of attention in sports circles cricket gradually assumed a dominant position to the exclusion of all other games. **However, following our poor showing in the recent World Cup, popular interest in cricket has suddenly declined. In this context, the new hockey success offers another chance for the game to regain its lost glory. A lot depends on how successfully the central organization and zonal associations make use of the opportunity now at hand. **
:-)
congrats to pakistan :-)
I feel sorry, really sorry to see other sports activities and tournaments suffer due to our undue attention towards the game of cricket and cricketers. Thats so sad.Here they are the champions, yet not many people know about them or celebrated their acheivement and there the entire nation is till discussing cricket and raising hue and cry as to why we lost.
[thumb=B]hock1.JPG[/thumb]
Shehnaz Shaikh
[thumb=B]hock2.JPG[/thumb]
Nicely done, teaser. ![]()
Azlan Shah Cup: Pakistan emerge as top-scoring nation
KARACHI: Pakistan, the champions of the 2003 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in the Malaysian city of Ipoh, were also the best scoring side of the five-nation competition.
According to figures provided by hockey statistician SA Razi on Tuesday, Pakistan scored a total of 14 goals as compared to 11 registered by the previous champions Germany. Pakistan conceded six goals to finish with a goal difference of +8. World champions Germany ended with a +5 goal difference.
New Zealand who finished third by beating Korea in the play-off scored 13 goals while 15 were scored against them including a six-goal blitz by Pakistan in the tournament opener on March 22.
Korea could manage six goals and conceded 11 with Malaysia also having similar goal figures.
A total of 12 matches were played during the tournament which was restricted to five teams after India pulled out of the event at the last moment.
**Pakistan’s short corner specialist Sohail Abbas who was voted as the best player of the tournament finished as the joint top scorer along with New Zealand’s Hayden Shew. Max Landshut of Germany scored four goals while Pakistani striker Kashif Jawwad had three goals to his credit.
Pakistan, who won the title for the third time after claiming it in 1999 and 2000, had a satisfactory short corner conversion ratio during the competition. They claimed a total of 23 short corners and converted nine of them - six directly and the other three on indirect attempts. **
They conceded an equal number of short corners during the competition through which three goals were scored by the rival teams.
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Arey Bhai yahin HaiN - We also have a life beyond Gupshup unlike some members.
Anyways - Congratulaions to Pakistan Hockey Teams and its fans. :)
Sure you do, 24 hours bheta rehta hai pakistani forum par... Sharam kar
As for the hockey team, hats off to them, once again they have made fools out of the indians without even playing them ;)
What was the reason to cancel this tour? harassment of indian workers? hehehehe Whats reason are they going to use next, the confiscation of asif's dhoti by the malaysian govt?