Pakistan: What should be done to emerge as a great nation

Please post your suggestions on what needs to be done to put the country back on track and long term solution to end the musical chair between corrupt politicians and dictatorship. Please post only if you have any optimism left for the country.

The preface:
I have come to conclusion (after reading post 1948 history of Pakistan) that the real problem of this country is its millitary. They are eating up 80% of budget and they created and supported all these political parties so the musical chairs can continue and nobody touches or question the white elephant. The defeat of Ms. Jinnah in 60, the rise of Bhutto, Mujeeb, Maudoodi/JI, The holy Afghan Jihad, drama of Islamization, Junejo, Nawaz, JUI, MQM, PPI, return of BB, Kashmir movement, rise of Taliban and then their fall is all millitary and establishment’s plans. They will never want a justice system in the country where they can be questioned.

Remember the historical words of Maharaja on Nov 3 speech.** “intezamiya aur law inforcement agencies (IG police and ISI chief) dari howi hai, theek se kaam nahi karsakti, baat baat per court mein hazri deni parti hai, unko sazaaein di jarahi hain”** For me this clearly states that millitary and establishment will never tolerate a justice system which will not protect their supremacy. In real millitary and establishment are civil servent, they are just servents of people of Pakistan. But unfortunately they are raping this nation for last 60 years. Haraam moonh ko lag gaya hai.

I think, the only solution is to do a white wash. Have some clean technocrats rule the country for 5 years or so.

These must be the priorities to eliminate corruption and a solid and accountable administration throughout country. Below are my suggestions for administration and accountablity system. Please write about your suggestions regarding reduction of poverty and inflation, social welfare, healthcare, education, economics, transportation, privatization, communication, import/export, manufacturing, banking, foriegn policy, terms with FATA, dealing with local Mullahs etc etc.

1. A justice system that protects the constitution and basic rights and is accountable for itself.

2. In any case, the constitution may never be suspended. The person (civil or millitary) who does that should be hanged.

3. The check and balance must be in place between presidency, PM, Senate and SC.

4. The millitary in any case must not interfere with the politics and politician. It should never attempt any coup again, no matter what. They serve as servent only, do not let them become masters again.

5. All the current corrupt parties must be banned (actually 99% of them) and any murderer may not become governor again, no looter may ever become PM or any kind of minister.

6. There should be study held by government for each sector by experts (private sector and university professor and professionals) and expert from other countries, to lay down a solid plan for country’s prosperity in all regions.

7. New election commission law must be written with all the research and to make sure that sincere people get elected and no ghundas enter into parliment.

8. An independent Accountablity department must work and report to SC. It must not work under any ministry and must not comprise of any minister either. Here is how its top managment should be.

1 Head by an elected member from the list below. They should nominate and elect the head themselve.

2 Members of government from National Assembly

2 members of opposition from National Assembly

1 Member of government from each provincial assembly

1 Member of opposition from each provincial assembly

2 Member of Senate

1 Member of SC/HC bar consil

1 Millitary (Brigadier rank) officer as an observer/advisor

1 civil rights/social service personality as observer/advisor

1 person from Media as an observer/advisor

All the government’s deals and contracts with private sectors and foriegn countries must be screened through this department. To assure no one takes kickbacks and the bidding process is transparent.

I know this is just a dream and I may not live to see a clean and tansparent system in the country. But atleast I can wish.

2 Likes

Re: Pakistan: What should be done to emerge as a great nation

I say: In addition to ^^^^^

1. a capped limit of two terms on President and PM

2. NAB be independant and not governed by the ruling party administration or any one member but rather supervised through National Assembly.

-only have faith on ALLAH SWT (not on mullahs, junk politicians, and army)

• get education and LEARN TO EXECUTE that education. werna gadhay bhut sari kitaboon k saath bhut hain, ratoon totay k terha :smack2:

p.s. we ourselves lacks the responsibilty to make it better. we always blame the system. we try to fix the system INSTEAD OF OURSELVES!

I take a more social view of things. The problem is the Pakistani people.

1. Intolerant.

2. Violent. It begins in our childhood, with the way we parent.

3. Uneducated. Granted education does not equal enlightenment, but there is some correlation, I think. At least, education makes one a more informed citizen and less likely to be herded like sheep. Which means your government is more likely to be intelligent and cunning.

4. Ethnocentric.

5. Irreligious and ridiculously far from spiritual.

6. Ritualistic.

7. Misogynists

8. Disorganized mess.

A government created out of such a people is only doomed.

:( u listed all the things u see as being wrong....the topic says to list/suggest things to undo the damage

Yeah, so anyone reading that list should double check if they have any of those traits, and start by reversing them, instead of complaining like little kids.

"Okay"

Problem is ... who will do the white wash? Any idea for that?

1. A justice system that protects the constitution and basic rights and is accountable for itself.
Who will be the "justices" accountable to? I'd think combination of Senate and Parliament (or special committes formed from both of them).

2. In any case, the constitution may never be suspended. The person (civil or millitary) who does that should be hanged.

The problem here is military is the "might", in case they take over (as is the case now) who will send them back to barracks? My initial thought is to remove the "COAS" post, make a "joint council" of the three forces for coordination among themselves etc.

5. All the current corrupt parties must be banned (actually 99% of them) and any murderer may not become governor again, no looter may ever become PM or any kind of minister.

I think this kind of law is still in place, perhaps need to be modified so that anyone whose case is pending in court may not hold a seat in govt office.

6. New election commission law must be written with all the research and to make sure that sincere people get elected and no ghundas enter into parliment.

The basic requirement of participation in an election must be election within the party (if 5 year is parliament term then election participants must've been selected after previous national/provincial elections).

7. An independent Accountablity department must work and report to SC. It must not work under any ministry and must not comprise of any minister either. Here is how its top managment should be.
:

I agree with this list though there may be additions but the concept would be same.

2 Likes

Please start a separate thread for "reviving the society", this thread is more focused on the govt revival etc.

You missed the very first step. That would be for a certain dominant ethnicity to stop treating others in Pakistan as their slaves. A lot of good will come once this evil practice stops.

^ There must be a contitutional section dedicated for anti racism laws and there must be harmony among the provinces. All the racist parties must be banned.

There is no hope of Pakistan emergeing as great nation. Not in our lifetime. Pakistan will either have mmilitary regime, which if continues will tighten its noose on all institutions of teh country and will keep increasing its business empire. The other way round, it will be democracy, in which there will be no one party able to get nation-wide support. In Sindh, there will be stark contrast of MQM/PPP, in NWFP- religious or nationalist parties, Baloochistan- regional parties, in Punjab the same old families of politicians always join the "ruling" league.

In that case his favourite MQM will be banned.

Not before all of Punjab's dominant parties are banned.

Punjab's parties have never done any ethnic politics.

Two communities have benefitted from the creation of Pakistan more than anyone else - Punjabies and the Karachi group (urdu, gujrati and memon speaking migrants from India) and they have a greater responsbility to take care of others here and make Pakistan prosper.

Is this some bad joke? Punjab's political soul is based upon the concept of "we are Pakistan, rest are traitors" concept.

Had Punjab's politicians rejected the ethnic fascism of MQM, we wud not have any traitors.

Like all other communities in Pakistan, punjabies are also ethnicially inclined. One of my freinds office colleague in London was surprisedly remarked by his fellow Lahori worker "tum kaisay Pakistani ho, tum ko punjabi nahee aati"!