Re: Pakistan vs. West Indies @ Hagley Oval, Christchurch CWC 2015 10th. Match
KKF what u r trying to establish?
All Pakistani batsmen were caught out. Is it a new record ![]()
In world cup, a team can only lose 3 matches at most, but not with such big margin. If team loses with such big margins as Pakistan did against India and WI, team could not expect to qualify.
Can we pull an upset by defeating UAE or Zim?
Can Pakistani team be immediately banned from playing next matches to avoid some embarassment? Please, pretty please!!
I hope so
WC 2003 memories ![]()
as per baba bulley shah “Lai bay qadraaN naal Yaari - Tay tuT gai taRak kar kay”
Khotay day puttar ![]()
Ehsan Bhai, you could be right. There is possibility if weather helps us. For instance if WI and Ireland loses against UAE, or rain make them lose a point to Zib and UAE (and UAE do not wins against any other team). On the other hand it is also possible that WI and Ireland also loses against other teams with big margin, like over 150 runs.
All 12. If you count the dropped catches
lakh dee lanat…such an embarrassing defeat from such a pathetic team. we dropped 6-7 catches, missed 2 easy run outs
batted so bad…i mean there was nothing in the wicket. we just needed to stay 5-7 overs quietly.
anyway, what overhaul are we talking about? it is not like we have some magical players sitting on the bench. this is the best we have minus few players here and there.
haris sohail, yasir shah, imran khan, shoaib maqsood, umar akmal, irfan, safraz, sohail khan…yahiee sab to hai. when this team was selected, general feeling from everyone was that this is the best we have except fawad alam shd be there for younis khan. all former players said the same thing. so lets be honest.
i am just trying to set the expectations right. recovery will take time and it needs from grass root level. anyway a different topic.
You are wrong. If team would be selected on merit, very few (if any) players of present team would be in team.
You know name of these players because their parchi is strong and thus they managed to get selected in Pakistan team and thus got known. Those who really do deserve to be in team, most of them are little known, hence we miss them.
sure..i know your merit theory saleem bhai. all karchi players shd be in the team. PERIOD.
we have a simple theory … everyone is corrupt. everyone is safrashi…whole team is on parchiee. waqar, moeen, misbah all of them are corrupt and did not select best players…why? to embarrass themselves like this? moeen is also from karachi and has been part of selection committee for a while..iqbal qasim is also from karachi…
there may be one player here or there but it is not like we have some great fast bowlers sitting outside..or some great spin talent out there that is not selected. show me one article from minadad or zaheer abbas or wasim bari who said that this is unfair team selection when the team was announced.
Catches Ka Ghussa Jany Di Jiye and I agree that we don’t have enough talent or I must say Misbah should get retirement from ODI long before.
I have remembered that Vetori was captain of NZ and showing great performance but his team was not. They changed the captain and you can see the results. I respect misbah but fact is fact.
If you check my old posts, you will see that I always supported Misbah as player. Couple of years ago, when Harris Sohail was unknown, i pointed out on this forum that he (along with Fawad) should be in team (because his first class average was only second to Fawad).
I do not care if all players are from Lahore, as long as they are in team on merit of performance and no one outside the team is better than them.
saleem bhai.. you know very well that i admire many of your analyses but the reason i am taking a stand on this merit theory is because if the real problem with this WC team is selection of parchi and safarshi players then the solution is simple. we can go back to home, put a new selection committee, which under pressure and shear national embarrassment will do a better job and will select those talented players.
but i am afraid that is not the case. that is why i am respectfully asking everyone that if this team is safrashi then kindly point out 2-3 top fast bowlers, 2-3 top spin bowlers and 3-4 top batsmen who are available but were not selected for the world cup. I also humbly asked that when this team was announced show me one article in which from former greats ( miandad, mohammad yousaf, rashid latif, wasim bari, wasim akram, zaheer abbas) vehemently criticized this WC squad saying that 4-5 top players have been rejected. everyone knew that that is all we have (more or less).
once we acknowledge that our bench is also pretty empty only then we can get into the real discussion that what went wrong in last 10 years? why are we not getting zaheer abbas, miandad, inzimam, rashid latif, wasm akrams, waqar younis, saqlain anymore? our first class structure is still the same (habib bank vs PIA type) for last 40 years…why was it producing some talent before but not anymore? .. where is the problem? what else changed…school cricket? grass root level? that is all
^^ I do slightly disagree with PD, we had Hamad Azan, Babar Azam kind of players, also we had Anwar Ali and Sadaf kind of players who were left behind to have kind of Younas Khan, Jamshed, kind of things..
Had the team be:
Ahmed Shehzad
Fawad Alam
Babar Azam
Haris Sohal
Sohaib Maqsood
Misbah
Umer Akmal
Raza Hasan
Anwar Ali
Mohd Irfan
Yasir
we may have had a different result card in our hand, but we continue to ignore new talent and let it get wasted and do merry-go-round, i.e., bring back Sohail Tanveer, Shoaib and old tested and failed cricketers..
These should have been given a run against NZ and Aus in UAE and should have been taken to Australia to play… but guess what…we had all flopped in our side and our chairman was not optimistic about the team…
Inn sab ko eik hi saf mai khara kar kai goli sai urra do along with this govt…Iss gareeb qoum ko koi toa kushi dai do…
anwar ali is just an OK player like many others we have in the team…nothing special. he has been given many chances and i dont recall one winning spell from him.
fine, kick sohail or wahab out and bring anwar ali. if you think he would have made a genuine difference to this bowling attack then what can i say.
Hammad azam, after 60 odd first class matches, he still averages only 25 in the first class cricket with 110 odd wickets… had terrible first class season with bat last year…plus his biggest problem is his medium speed bowling (125K only at best). I mean it is so easy just to name players but there is a lot more to it.
fawad alam, we all know shd be there but he is not a new players..been there for over 6 years i think.
babar azam is not consistent…still averages only 34 in first class matches. reputation is that either he scores big or will be out cheap. so he is just another 34+ average player.
anyway, afridi, younis and misbah will never play for pak again after this WC…and we will see all these players in action. lets hope for the best.
and yes in bowling department there is nothing… there is only one bowler that i want to test..and that is sadaf ali. heard good things about his stamina and wicket taking ability…but he is another left handed fast bowler…so will not bring any diversity
^^ Till we get a star, we should go with the OK players, Anwar Ali is a great fielder and he was one of the guys in U19 who helped Pakistan to play finals, same is the case with Hammad Azam, now Virat Kohli was in the same batch but he got picked up, they groomed him, and what we did, we picked them up and let them sit on the bench or just allow them a match or two…
The old brat of team is not going to improve, we need to have players like Babar Azam in team and let them be coached and teach them how to build inning, how to chase and how to capitalize on partnerships and how not to throw a wicket, whereas, we cannot teach all this to Shahid Afridi, Younis Khan, Mohd Hafeez and many other stalwarts.
The thing is, we don’t know if we have star or not, but we do need to work on the average players to make them something special… Babar Azam, Anwar Ali may not the best but i am sure Babar Azam would be a better player than Younis Khan, as a matter of fact, even i can play better than him and it goes for many others.