Re: Pakistan vs West Indies: 1st Test @ Barbados
no ball and two runs scored....
aahh.... no more wicket :(
This match is as good as lost but anything under 420 shuold give a semblence of an outside chance.
Bad bad day for Paki batting, credit sud also be given where due...Fidel bowled exceptionally well with fiery speed and was backed by good fielding.
Result seems to be pretty much in favor of WI, but this is cricket and funnier things hv happened.....lets c what happens tomorrow...
we have totally blown it
]… our 1st innings no show has made us the favourites to lose dis test match. i’m optimistic but nah i can’t see us pulling of a victory now. i guess we will have to come back again to secure our first ever test series win in the carib’.
Pakistan team has dug herself into a huge hole from where it is almost impossible to get out. The only way, Pakistan can save this game is to bat for 2+ days, which is mighty difficult even for well-established batting line-ups, and certainly not something we should expect the present lot to deliver.
Its easy to say "I told you so" when our team is staring into a certain defeat, but it doesn't give any joy. Even going into this match, and as I commented yesterday, the inexperience of Pakistan's batting line was worrying, to say the least. By some weird quirks of fate, we are without our two most experienced batsmen in this game... Inzamam and Youhanna. One other person who may have stuck around, Shoaib Malik, is banned by the Pakistan Board. This leaves a batting line up, that is extremely talented by all means, but lacking that vital ingredient, experience, which only time can teach them.
Historically Pakistan team takes a while to get from ODI mode to the Test mode, and vice versa. Seeing the kind of shots offered by our batsmen, it was clear that they are not in the test match state-of-mind. The breezy strokes can work in both forms of the game, if you are a Lara or a Gilchrist, but it won't work if you are a Yasir or a Salman. In a test match, you need to apply yourself and settle down. Runs will come as long as you stay at the crease. The bam-bam-boom style of ODI's can be hard to get out of for the youngsters, and this is one area where the experienced players and the coach have to play a vital role.
West Indian bowlers did extremely well. Despite our batsmen literally gifting their wickets away, it always take bowlers who stick to their game plan, in order to rout a complete batting line up. And routed Pakistan were. I think Edwards bowled really well. Stuck to a good line and length and troubled the batsmen through out. The supporting cast wasn't bad either. My impression is that the umpiring is fairly ordinary in this game, though we still have 3 days to go and will see more.
From here, the match is certain to produce a result, and it can only produce one kind of result. So lets not waste our time about how many runs target Pakistan will get, but rather focus on the positives we can take from Bridgetown to Jamaica. Our bowling has done reasonably well. Not exceptional, but well. Shabbir's return to test match fitness is a great sign. Shabbir and Razzaq bowled well. Rana and the spinners are sticking to their guns as well. Fielding has been mediocre, and extras continue to be a worry. The team should take this match as a learning exercise and come up with enough winning tricks to triumph in Jamaica to level the series and come back happy.
chalo yaar, Allah jo karey ga behtar karey ga. Haar jeet to kahil ka hissa hay. Hum ODIs 3-0 say jeetay, bohot hay.
** heart broken karrich ker kay **
the bowling has been good for pak Alhumdulillah...the batting has let us down, and the only reason for that is the lack of experience...the cruical middle-order of the team lacks the experience due to the absence of yoyo, inzi and malik - and that has been the main factor...the "big guns" aren't there for pak...
looking at the whole days result, where at the end WI leads by 369 with 6 wickets in hand, i am hoping that the pak bowlers will pose some problems to the WI batsmen tomorrow morn due to the conditons (like the pak batsmen had problems cuz of the swing etc this morn) and will manage to restrict WI to a lead of no more than 450 runs...and after the first session is done, the conditions would've eased up and pak would come in to bat under better conditions...hopefully the batsmen use their common sense and stick to the basics, and get as close to the required target as is possible...slow and steady wins the race...pak would have another 2.5 days to make it, and it surely is possible still with the talent that pak has...just a matter of nerves now...younis has to step up to the challenge, take charge and has to lead by example...show the youngsters how its done...
Nice posts DesiMunda and Faisal :k:
Lets hope for a fightback or even a fight. I dont see us saving this match realistically but stranger things have happened.
our lads should remember 'mohali' maybe that will lift them a bit.
Horrible day for us.. but not such a bad finish. Inshallah we will draw it. :D
BTW.. if anyone wants videos for today's play let me know. So that I can PM you the links before going to work.
Aaj tau tel maiN bhigo bhigo kar paRi hai :D
:bhangra:
for windies
4 pak.
Only count Inzi and Yoyo. Shoaib Malik is no good when the ball is swinging. For that matter, even Yoyo is very suspect with the moving ball. Inzi is our only class player who can bat on any wicket.
Check your last 100 post they all begin with Go and end with Windies. Grow up. You can support whatever you want but do write something else just for a change.
ya allah yeh kya hogaya....chances are slim to save this match but lets hope...inshallah we can save our self...anything can happen in cricket
369 for Windes right now, we might be looking at a score over 450. I would say 480-500+ if Hinds and Chanderpaul sticks. Can Pakistan draw this? less than likely...
You just sound idiotic now. Really.
Not a chance from what I can see. I predicted a 50/50 chance in the absence of Inzi before the match, little did I know that Yoyo will also be not able to play. So that makes even worse in terms of middle order. Most of the players are playing their first ever series in Windies and with extreme decipline showdown by WI bowlers a defeat is most likely.
And yeah there is a way we can save this match, even win
If Salman and Yasir come on the pitch with their boriya bistar to spend night on the pitch. On a series note, Afridi should not be sent to open the innings and Sal+Yas+Bazid have a good chance to prove their worth, specially for Yasir its a big oppertunity to score a century and become hero for the series. A century is long due on this kid and he is a bit shaky since Indian tour. First we need to contain WI within 425 then we can lay out a plan.
And again, Malik is the answer for our test opener slot. I have said it gizzilions of times and will say again, he has all the germs of a good batsman (even he is super versatile that he can play at any position his team wants). I think we just shrud off his all rounder image for tests and play him as specialist opener. Plus he is a full package with great fielding and supporting economical bowling too (I know his bowling is not suitable for tests but still a backup though).