Pakistan vs Sri Lanka - ODI Series, January 2009

Umar Amin new face in Pakistan’s 15-man squad

Nineteen-year-old batsman Umar Amin has been rewarded for his impact on the domestic season with a call-up to Pakistan’s 15-man squad for the first ODI against Sri Lanka on January 21 in Karachi. The team, the first picked by a new-look selection committee headed by Abdul Qadir, has gone back to traditional Pakistani strength, pace, but is not entirely without surprise.

Pakistan squad :

Shoaib Malik (capt), Misbah-ul-Haq, Salman Butt, Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal (wk) , Sohail Tanvir, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Iftikhar Anjum, Saeed Ajmal, Khurram Manzoor, Sohail Khan, Yasir Arafat, Umar Amin

More…

Re: Pakistan vs Sri Lanka - ODI Series, January 2009

I cant wait! :D

neva heard abt tht guy b4..
:hmmm:

shuker hey some one under 20 has been brought into the team (at the expensive of the other though)

Terrible squad…I dont see how Manzoor got selected ahead of Nasir Jamshed and how in the world can they justify dropping Fawad Alam? If like the article said, the wickets are going to be bouncier and quicker than the past and Pakistan would be relying on its strength, which is pace…then what is Saeed Ajmal doing part of the squad when we have Afridi and Malik who are more than good enough ODI spinners.

Only good decision I see is the inclusion of Umer Amin…hopefully he gets a game.

Instead of Sohail Khan, who hasnt really played that great in the ongoing Quiad-e-Azam tournament…They should have included Mohammad Talha…he’s been on fire in the tournament and had a great RBS 20/20 tounrament as well.

Pathetic selection committee :nook:

Finally we get some cricket.
Otherwise we will have to move
Khail Khilari > Cricketnama

forum to
Khail Khilari -> Other Sports

Salman Butt keeps losing his partner. Hopefully Nasir Jamshed will come back into the team, unless Khurram Manzoor performs.

Exactly...and Khurram Manzoor is a good player no doubt...but I would rather have him for test matches with Butt because he's not a big hitter...just like Butt. In this day and age, we need at least one attacking opener alongside a solid opener to take advantage of the power plays. Nasir Jamshed's aggression and big hitting was the perfect option with Butt rotating the strike and hitting the odd boundry.

The only reason I can see why the selectors dropped Jamshed was to select Umer Amin. Umer Amin bats up the order, usually at #3 or either opens...and I dont see him batting at #3, 4, or 5 because thats where Younis, Misbah, and Malik bat...and im sure Amin aint replacing any of those batsmen.

where's fawad alam??and wat abt moh'd talha???
this saeed ajmal guy has got major parchi!

parchi nahe...parcha

parcha doo...
kharcha loo...

LOL @ your sense of humour

Some cricket is long overdue to our cricket-starved fans

Inzi bhai though would have enjoyed this prolonged rest with pay

and Schedule changed (once again) on SL request. Now they dont want to play game in Multan (on 27th) and wrap up the ODI series in 4 days due to “expected” Indian tour. So now we have games on 2 consecutive days in Karachi (on 21 and 22). Ullu k pathey 3 din aur ruk ker multan main game nahi khail saktey.

talk about “naeee nawaliee dulhan k nakhrey”
or “Allah husub daita hai tu nazakat aa hee jatee hai”

SL is acting like that one pretty gal in whole school class jo baqi sub ko ullu baeey rakhtee hai. We gotta pay it back with interest whenever possible !

^ Actually I think its not the SL board which is causing the problem...its BCCI doing its best to disturb Pakistan through the back door. BCCI wants to be in Sri Lanka on certain dates and are pushing SL board to gets its way with the PCB. PCB approached SL first to play a series yet SL is only playing 3 ODI's against Pakistan but 5 with India and a T20 as well?

Does anyone know who is showing this series on Internet?

• aankhay maling, angrayi laying *

to kab se hay ye dhamaka khez series?

HAHAHA!

jiski lathi uske bhens.

PCB is no more than a pet to BCCI.

I don't know if BCCI is forcing SL board for these changes however the way I see it BCCI has spoiled a chance for PCB of having a 5 ODI,1 T20 and 3 Test series with Srilanka. It is my personal opnion but ethically BCCI should have let SL play with Pakistan.

It may sound like whinning but is there even a comparison between the amount of cricket India played in 2008 with what Pakistan played in 2008? India toured Australia, Srilanka, BD, Zimbabwe whereas Australia, South Africa, England toured India.There were altogether 18 tests which India played along wih several ODI's.

Pakistan on the other hand suffered as a result of PCB's incompetence and the double standards of foreign cricket boards.

What difference would it make if India doesn't play with Srilanka? Again this is my personal opinion with which you may or may not agree.

India will be playing an extra test and an extra T20 game against NZand will be leaving for NZ on Feb. 20 (8 days earlier than originally scheduled).

In this case obviously they wanted to schedule Srilankan tour in such a way that would give them some time to rest before leaving for NZ.

An itinerary announced by SL board todaylooks perfect with 5 ODI games and a T20 game between Jan. 29 and Feb. 10, allowing Indian team a rest of 10 days before their NZ tour.

However all this arrangement first resulted in Pakistan losing a chance to play 5 ODI, 3 Tests and 1 T20 match series with SL and then SL revising the 3-ODI itinerary (Jan 21, 24 and 27) to a new schedule of Jan. 20, 21 and 24so that SL team can go back and play India on Jan 28.