Pakistan vs Sri Lanka, First Test, Galle, Jul 4-8, 2009

Pakistan lost the match by 50 odd runs.. and this happens when to professional side come across each other... and please keep the luck for ur self, you may need that to beat sides like West Indies and Bangladesh or Zimbabwe or May be Kenya... We play for enjoyment, we celebrate our success and we learn from our mistakes..

but i can feel the pain, you being thrown out of the major tournaments.. is it still hurting???

Finally...some good news :)

:wink:
:hula:
:mocking:

I am a big advocate for Salman Butt. He is NOT a T20 player but he is a decent opener in both tests and ODIs. People say he is a flat track bully but how many of our openers are even good flat track bullies? He has had a decent run in tests and ODIs and performed well lately but T20 WC, no not his best arena.

Re: Pakistan vs Sri Lanka, First Test, Galle, Jul 4-8, 2009

^^ I don't know if he is good or not, but his averages are certainly not very good

In the Test format of Cricket Butt Sahib have an average of 28.65 in 22 Matches with the strike rate of 44... all these figures do state that, test is not his arena......

What an opportunity squandered!

Pakistan managed to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory. No matter how well Herath and Thushara bowled we should not have lost this game as we were chasing a mere 97 runs with 8 wickets in hand on a 4th day pitch. There were not too many demons in the track but Pakistan made a mess out of the run chase with some poor shot selection. All credit to Sri Lanka’s bowlers for bowling in the right areas and putting pressure on the batsmen.

This loss was as bad as the one against South Africa at home in 1997 when we needed 148 for victory on day 4. I never thought that we w’d lose the game.
http://www.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63768.html

I have nothing but ‘herath’ on this display from our batsmen.

Don’t be too disheartened guys, we have also won games in the past that we should have probably lost. NZ for instance succumbed here to the brilliance of the two W’s in 1993. NZ (needing just 127 for victory) lost in unbelievable fashion
http://www.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63597.html

That is the beauty of test cricket.

LOL, Pakistan is full of surprises :)

I know your views on Butt, but he is just not a player, his batting sucks, his fielding sucks and thank God he doesnt bowl. :mad:

The whipping should not hurt !!!! after all it was just a practice match and Pakistan did manage to win the world cup :D

Damn, Pakistan lost! :-(

woah ! :eek: - I just came to the office and wanted to check if the match was over yet - like everyone else, I pretty much thought Pak would’ve won by now - and what I saw could only make me say “What the F!!”.

This was really Pak’s match to lose… all credit to SL bowling :k:

i also felt he is a good player. Whenever he plays with India, he seems to score big. But looking at statsguru, he only plays against India I guess. His 3 away hundreds all came against India. That probably why Ehsan bhai thinks he is flat track bully.
His test average is also not spectacular.

Goodone. :D

:bailan :mad2: :mad3:

For Butt sahab specially :kursi: :smilestar:

For rest of the team :hehe:

^ For scoring the most runs in the 4th innings? It's not like everyone else scored fifty and he missed.

Anyway, I'm speechless. How the hell did they lose this match? Or is it another case of making hero out of a zero?

amazing batting performance, only we know how to pull it off :chai:

**Pakistan started the day in command, and one thought the game would be over by lunch. It certainly looks that way now, but with Sri Lanka as the winning team. Yousuf was done in by an excellent arm ball, but his partner Butt started the slide, playing a needless heave that cost him his wicket. Malik was out to a beauty, but Akmal, one of the senior members of this side, played a shot that wasn't on and was caught plumb. Misbah's ill-judged attempt at a single resulted in his downfall, and all of a sudden Pakistan are staring down the barrel.

**Add to that his brilliant performance in the first innings and his flawless fielding and you wonder why he is not a legend already.

This is exactly how my morning started.

Pakistan should call Imran Nazir ( if possible) or bring in Abdul Razaq in the place of Salman Butt, let Butt sahib have some fun in pavilion and let the players play the game... Abdul Razaq will strenghten the bowling while adding value to the batting side as well..

Kamran Akmal can open with Khuram ...

^^^

Dude, when was the last time u saw an keeper opening in test ???
I hope u r talkin abt ODI.