hello, where were u?
imran weldone :k:
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
[thumb=D]a3111.JPG[/thumb]
Who's your daddy now?!!
(talking abt S.Africa) :)
Taufeeq and Imran really put the work in early on against some good bowling with the new ball and they earned every run. Farhat will definitely grow into a better player and in fact you could see him mature as his test career has taken off in this series. Where before he was getting out for 40’s and 50’s today he looked like he wanted to make a big one. What’s more he still looks like hungry for more tomorrow. Looks like he’s got a taste for it now ![]()
Seriously I was impressed by how focused he stayed and I think he probably learnt a lot from Asim Kamal’s approach in the last match. I fancy Inzi to get a big score as well tomorrow and I think if we can get through the new ball tomorrow we will have the S Africans on the rack by the end of play.
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
[thumb=D]a3111.JPG[/thumb]
That is Pakistani Tiger in disguise
We have a lot of batting to come so we should expect a good first innings lead. Imran and Inzi look solid then we have Asim Kamal, Moin, Shoaib Malik and Razzaq all capable of batting. Mushi can give some of them company as well. We should be looking for a lead of close to 200. We are only 40 odd runs behind and we need about 250 more to gain a big lead. While 200 might be too optimistic we should definatley go for above 150. Even 150 will put South African batsmen back to the wall. Then it will be upto Kaneria to turn the magic on and get us as little a target as possible as batting 4th is never easy. We should look to play all day tomorrow and then have a bowl at South Africa on day 4. Two very productive days for Pakistan and the great thing is our opening. As soon as we dropped Hafeez we got three back to back century opening stands. Best of luck to Pakistan. If we stick to our plan tomorrow we will definatley eliminate any chance of loosing and leave the option of winning or draw.
Well played Pakistan. :k:
I slept at 2:30 am and wake up at 6 again to check the status aur Allah ka naam lay ker TV khola and I was like WOW. Pakistan 171/1 I was about to make the TEA liken phir Yasir Hameed out ho gaya. So for the better of Pakistan I decided to go to bed and the decision proved right too. Pakistan is still 2 wickets down only and I m so pleased with my self . I m going to eat something special in brunch ![]()
Now Pakistan should play as they are playing until tea with the exception to bring the RR somewhere around 3.5. Once they have wickets in hand after tea they can go after the bowling. If Pakistan don’t lose too many wickets, I want (and expect) them to take at least 275 runs lead at the end of day 3.
Well don’t Imaran and Taufeeq! :k:
woohoo another century stand :k:
Very good application by our openers, now Yasir Hameed is beginning to disappoint he has scored total of 57 in 3 innings, I hope he scores better in next inning if there is one ![]()
Overall very good performance thus far in both tests.
Hafeez dropping did wonders, I hope PCB learns to drop a player who consistently fails for back to back games.
Imran Farhat has worked on his temprament and hopefully continue to play all day tomorrow and not listen to Zabardast :k:
This is awesome stuff from pakistan. I am so glad to see this performance... remember folks, all this runrate discussion is hardly of any importance in test cricket: its the wickets that count... as you can recall, at the end of 10 overs, pakistani score was only 10/0, but since we had wickets in hand, we have now ended up with a comfortable 3.0. Also, if any guppie can please double check, but I am pretty sure that this is a WORLD RECORD that an opening pair has given a century opening stand in 3 consecutive test innings. Keep it up Imran and Taufeeq, we are so proud of you...
What a performance, very well done to the Pakistan team
What stuck out most for me today was the solid team spirit, something the Pakistan team has been lacking of late.
P.S. Who was that guy in the white bandana? How could I have missed him? :love: ![]()
u dunw anan knwo the story.. aik to sara din i waited for the match to come and it was suppose to start at 12:30 am..i was soo happy ke i will watch the whole pakistani inning live and also post at the same time… but someone came from pakistan.. he was sleeping in my computer room and my brother’;s friend came and they were all like 10 guys… watchin the match ![]()
so na main yehan aasaki aur na hi match dekhh saki ![]()
i missssed everything ![]()
pakistan jab bhi acha khailta hia main nahi dekh pati ![]()
he is Imran Farhat
oh i m so sorry u missed all the fun
but dont feel that bad u will be able to see some great batting tomorrow hope imran does 150+
ps. i missed all the fun to ![]()
Haha…Pak team always listen to me…more than their captain, manager, coach and selectors…what you guys thing…I am not Zabardast for nothing… ![]()
Keep hitting ferociously and merciless tomorrow…okay… ![]()
PS: I am going to make this team a great one in the coming months…so Aussies would have to think twice to play against Pakistan…
Okay…we lost the ODI series due to injuries and openers’ problems…but now on, we should win more often… ![]()
RED-HOT Openers
[thumb=D]taufeeqfarhat1.JPG[/thumb]
The future looks bright for Pakistan with Taufeeq and Farhat up top
**Taufeeq Umar and Imran Farhat believe they can become one of Pakistan’s all-time great opening partners. **
The left-handers scored their third successive century stand together against South Africa to put Pakistan in a strong position in the second Test.
Pakistan have searched hard for a dependable opening pair since the days of Aamir Sohail and Saeed Anwar.
**“We feel we are confident and capable enough of resolving this problem and being around a while,” **Taufeeq said.
Taufeeq and Umar added a stand of 137 to their first-Test efforts of 109 and 134 as Pakistan reached 237-2 to trail South Africa by 41 runs in Faisalabad.
**Taufeeq has scored two hundreds and three fifties in four Tests against South Africa. **
After reaching 123 not out - his maiden Test hundred - Farhat said he and his partner wanted to emulate the feats of Sohail and Anwar.
**“They were the best opening pair to play for Pakistan and we are inspired to emulate them,” he said. “We can make this slot our own.” **
Since the retirement of Sohail in 2000, Taufeeq has had eight different opening partners in 17 Tests.
Farhat, who was recalled to the team for the current series after one year on the sidelines, said playing against Australia in 2002 had helped him.
**“Last year when I played against them in Sharjah against McGrath and Shane Warne, I realised to survive in international cricket I needed to change my attitude and adjust my technique accordingly,” he explained. “After that series I became more serious about my batting and have cut out the risky shots. I try to concentrate harder now and keep a value on my wicket. I did that today.” **
**The deeds of Farhat and Taufeeq against the hapless South African bowlers have seen them become the first Pakistan opening pair to post century stands in three consecutive Test innings. **
…and that’s how we party…{BREAK}…:dhimpak:
[thumb=D]_39491935_far_inzy2031.JPG[/thumb]
Star-In-The-Making Hugged by a Legend
- Imran Farhat’s Statement of Intent:
I want to make a permanent place in the team and hope this series would go a long way in resurrecting my career
Ameen
:bhangra:
i like it when players can break away from given norms and wear something unique. It breaks the monotony. I think bandana under the helmet is a good idea. not only is it unique, but it must also help keep the sweat away. i wonder why more batsmen don't wear it.
Mashallah!
Great performance once again by both opening batsmen. If they can bat all day today and put up lead of 200+, Pak will definetly have chance of wining the match and the series. Inshallah!
It looks like Pak opening problem is solved. Keep it up, guys.
We're proud of you!
I know tooooo early to say, but still :-)
[thumb=D]Saeed_Imran.JPG[/thumb]
[thumb=D]Saeed_Imran2.JPG[/thumb]
**== SOURCE ==](http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/031025/323/ec4ti.html) **
Farhat, with his opening partner Taufeeq Umer, hit 109 and 134 in the first Test in Lahore and the pair added 137 to become*** Pakistan’s only duo to record three century stands in successive innings of Test matches.***
They joined an elite club, including England’s two sets of openers – Jack Hobbs and Herbert Sutcliffe, and Len Hutton and Cyril Washbrook – and the Australian pair of Mathew Hayden and Justin Langer, to compile three century stands in three successive Test innings.
The duo, both from Lahore, exploited the lack of firepower in the South African bowling attack.