I want Paksitan to win the series, so lets forget about trying to win the match. Go out bat sensibly and bat them out of the match. Draw the match and take the series and send the cry babies home.
I think the only thing a negative frame of mind will bring to us is a drawn series. If we go out to draw the match, there is very little chance we will actually draw it. We should look to win. Thats my point of view. Easier said than done, though.
Excusez moi, Do you think SA were actually cherishing the propsect of facing Shoaib in the second test?? I bet Not and this was in my mind one of the motivational factors behind complaint
Well, its not necessary that Shoaib Akhtar would be successful in the 2nd test as he was in the Ist test...like batters, they don't make centuries in every test...lol
But on the other hand, any ordinary pacer could surprise the SA team this time...you know what I mean, people on the lower side want to climbe...so Umar Gul could have been a success for Pak which the selectors did not see coming...but I have seen already because I have carved the ability to see into the future... so long...
And I am extremely sure, Youhana and Umar not playing for Pakistan this time could turn out to be an expensive hobby... :)
Moreover, I am not a fan of stastistics...I let flow my instincts...and more often they turn out to be good... :)
Well, its not necessary that Shoaib Akhtar would be successful in the 2nd test as he was in the Ist test...like batters, they don't make centuries in every test...lol
Its not necessery alright, but prospects of Shoaib being successful are higher than those of Umar or someone else. And SA will be far more confident when the take the ground yesterday.
Some of the guys were mentioning Mohammad Akram up there. This guy has been a consistent failure, though he bowled well in parts but he was given so many oppurtunites and converted none but one against Aussies in Perth where he got 5-128. Though i realize playing with Razzaq is not a good idea as umer gul or anyone else could have done the job but Mohamad Akram se acha tu abhi tuk Waqar hee hai :)
u know guyz wat i really fear .. i fear that our batting lineup mite crumble. according to the performance in the 1st game it shdn't, but how many times have we seen that happen?? the worst thing we need is for our batting to fail, when our bowling is so depleted anyway.
Its not necessery alright, but prospects of Shoaib being successful are higher than those of Umar or someone else. And SA will be far more confident when the take the ground yesterday.
Well, why SA is mentioning Shoaib Akhtar because of he created fear in SA team...thats why...I recognized that Akhtar has destroyed SA a few time within a couple of overs...but its only sometimes...so its the only fear in SA team minds...what he created...and its understandable...but SA don't know what they are going to get tomorrow...its all after statements...
The other pacers like Shabbir, Umar and Sami are the pacers of the future...could be very deadly at times... :)
SA tried hard to get Akhtar banned...but he has some injury too...so God is merciful on SA team this time...for a time being...
But, personally I am not afraid that Pakistan lose or win, but how we lose or win...that will translate our national cricket team's character for the future...
*Originally posted by akpower: *
u know guyz wat i really fear .. i fear that our batting lineup mite crumble. according to the performance in the 1st game it shdn't, but how many times have we seen that happen?? the worst thing we need is for our batting to fail, when our bowling is so depleted anyway.
yeah but if that happens (God Forbid) it would be our batsmen's fault, SA bowling is mediocre as was displayed in series against England and in the first test. So lets hope they dont mess it up :D
Well, why SA is mentioning Shoaib Akhtar because of he created fear in SA team...thats why...I recognized that Akhtar has destroyed SA a few time within a couple of overs...but its only sometimes...so its the only fear in SA team minds...what he created...and its understandable...but SA don't know what they are going to get tomorrow...its all after statements...
The other pacers like Shabbir, Umar and Sami are the pacers of the future...could be very deadly at times... :)
Shoaib has destroyed them within couple of overs ** consistently ** That was the word missing in your statement and that increases the fear factor.
And yes i agree that Umer and Shabbir should be given confidence to become permanent in team regardless of initial blips in their performance. I hope Shabbir make his mark tomorrow.
I still can't believe Razzaq is going to open the bowling. he shouldn't be in our test squad to begin with, let alone open the bowling...against south Africa!!! Doesnt sound too good. Razzaq should be saved for one days PERIOD. He is not Test material for me.
^^Razzaq is one of the most tactical bowler...you don't always need super speed...but more razzlings...good batters turn the super speeds into boundries just by having a faint nick or tick...lol
Sohaib has destroyed them within couple of overs ** consistently ** That was the word missing in your statement and that increases the fear factor.
And yes i agree that Umer and Shabbir should be given confidence to become permanent in team regardless of initial blips in their performance. I hope Shabbir make his mark tomorrow.
lol...you can never be consistent in cricket or in any other activity...its not mathematics...its like a batter not hitting the whole innings all 4s or 6s...they are people made of flesh and blood not robots...
ahan?? so what do you make of Saqlains continuous five wicket hauls in five consecutive innings? and Miandad's 10 consecutvie fiifties in oneday internationals? and Youhana's 6 consecutive fifties? If that isnt consistency, i dont know what it is :) And consistent doesnt mean 10 consectuve matches but with small gaps like Shoaib did, in first three onedayers than in this test. Occassional failures do occur but the gaps between these failures is what is called measure of consistency
*Originally posted by Zabardast: *
^^Okay, how about Inzamam's last world cup performace...19 runs out of 6 matches...and suddenly he the darling of all...lol...thats life...
oh yeah he was a 'consistent failure 'in the WC but yes his fortunes have changed since then. :D Good for him and pakistan cricket.
*Originally posted by Zabardast: *
^^Razzaq is one of the most tactical bowler...you don't always need super speed...but more razzlings...good batters turn the super speeds into boundries just by having a faint nick or tick...lol
I dont want him to be fast. I'd rather have him take wickets than bowl fast. But the thing is he doesnt look like taking wickets. He looks like a very, very ordinary bowler. Nothing special about him. Most he ever does is take 2 wickets in a one day. His performance in tests need to be seen but i doubt he'll do wonders as an opening bowler.
i m afraid that pakistan might lose the second match...the reasons are quite clear ...no shoiab ,no sami and we have no other quality backup bowler and our bowling is left debilitated without these two strike bowlers...with razaaq and shabbir i dont think we can take early breakthrougs which are very important to put opposition under some sort of pressure...spinners come into action later ....if the fast bowlers dont provide them with the early break throughs ,its difficult for them to operate as efficiently as one would wish....i dont think they would be able to bowl out the opposition twice...and one thing SA is quite a professional team and they do work on their weaknesses....they must have worked it out how to bowl at our batsmen who made scores in the first test....
these are just my views...and i hope they prove to be wrong and we win the second match ....
pakistan should go into the match with positive frame of mind ...not just trying to draw but try to play positive cricket and try to win it for us...
best of luck to pakistan cricket team...
LAHORE: Pakistan coach Javed Miandad has warned his players to prepare for a strong fightback from South Africa in the second test starting on Friday.
Pakistan won the first test in Lahore by eight wickets, only their second test win over South Africa in 10 matches and their first at home.
"Our players can’t afford to relax," Miandad told Reuters. "Test cricket these days is all about consistency, discipline and increased workload. We have to work much harder for the second test because they will come stronger at us." Miandad said he was satisfied with the way the younger players had performed in the first test.
"If anyone thinks he has learnt everything about cricket and has nothing more to learn he will be finished as an international cricketer within no time because nowadays cricket is all about consistent hard work and improvement," he said. Miandad, Pakistan’s leading test run-scorer in 124 matches, said he was determined for his side to complete a 2-0 series win in Faisalabad.
"We are up against a quality side but they are under pressure and they are facing problems against our spinners," he said. "We must not only be prepared for a comeback from them but also to overcome it."
Miandad said Pakistan would try to exploit South Africa’s inconsistency against spinners. Pakistan have included four slow bowlers in their squad for the second test, including leg spinners Mushtaq Ahmed, Danish Kaneria and rookie Mansoor Amjad, who has yet to play a first-class match. Pakistan spinners took 12 of 19 South African wickets in Lahore.
South Africa sealed a dramatic win the last time the sides met in Faisalabad in 1997 thanks to their pace attack. But indications are they might go into the game with both spinners, Paul Adams and Robin Peterson, who bowled well in the one-day series.
i wish them all the best!! Inshallah we will win!!
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
With Sami and Shoaib out of action the only way to survive this test is to bat SA out of it. Our batsmen will have to put up a massive score of around 500+ and use up good part of 2 days. Apart from that I don't see any other way out. Razzaq playing instead of Gul might indicate that PCB also wants a long batting line up as well.
I want Paksitan to win the series, so lets forget about trying to win the match. Go out bat sensibly and bat them out of the match. Draw the match and take the series and send the cry babies home.
Exactly. Lot depends on the openers. If Imran Farhat and Taufeeq can give us good start (100+) and (somehow) we take first innings lead of 100+ then there are real chances of Pakistan of not only winning the series but the match also.
I predicted Proteas to win the Test series by 1-0 - and it did not happen. now South Africa shouldn’t have any trouble of leveling this series with Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Sami out.