I hope Sami gets fit for the 2nd test and if he doesnt then i think our selectors will select Junaid Zia. ![]()
Hopefully our selectors will not make any stupid mistakes now.
I hope Sami gets fit for the 2nd test and if he doesnt then i think our selectors will select Junaid Zia. ![]()
Hopefully our selectors will not make any stupid mistakes now.
we should beef up our batting line up, and our spin attack....
have to save the series...
I say if we dont have Youhana, Sami and Shoaib playing we should go in with 2 regular spinners and i'll prefer Danish and Saqi.
here is my lineup (ofcourse saqi was not in initial 16 but who cares)
If Sami is fit, replace Saqi for Sami
I wouldn't agree with going into a game with only Shabbir as a front line seam bowler. And Saqi is not likely to be any more effective than Malik so I would stick with Mushy and hope he can get some batsmen out this time rather than just the one tail-ender.
So Pak will play without Shoaib, Sami, and Yoyo. Anyone else...
SA ki dua Allah nay sun li.
NO RAZZAQ For TESTS PLEASE. Keep Asim kamal
I think Sharaabi is right we should beef up our batting lineup and spinners can play a major role in 2nd test if Sami is also out.
Bas Allah se Dua karo ke hum 2nd test bhi jheet jaye ..and lastly no more respect for SA ![]()
*Originally posted by Decent 6Chora: *
I say if we dont have Youhana, Sami and Shoaib playing we should go in with 2 regular spinners and i'll prefer Danish and Saqi.
here is my lineup (ofcourse saqi was not in initial 16 but who cares)
If Sami is fit, replace Saqi for Sami
Bhai mere why is Asim Kamal not good enough to play in the 2nd test? Instead of Razzaq we should play Gul if Sami is not fit. We need another proper seamer. Smith and Gibbs will massacre Razzaq if he opens the bowling.
*Originally posted by Zabardast: *
My team choice for the 2nd test:
Taufeeq Umar (batter)
Imran Farhat (batter)
Yasir Hameed (batter)
**Yousuf Youhana (batter+VC)
*Inzamam-ul-Haq (batter+captain)
Shoaib Malik (batter+spinner)
+Moin Khan (wicketkeeper)
Abdul Razzaq (batter+pacer)
Mohammad Sami (pacer)
Shabbir Ahmed (pacer)
Danish Kaneria (spinner)
-Choice to drop Asim Kamal is heartbreaking while Mushtaq hasn't performed to expectations...
-We have 3 pacers and 2 effective spinners now...
-Our problem is that from our bowlers, we cannot expect lots of batting with the exception of Sami...so for the runs, the team have to rely heavily on the first 8... :)
-Giving Youhana a rest in the 2nd test to keep Asim Kamal is a gamble and could turn out to be very expensive...so I included Youhana for sure...and as we should have a VC too...
My new 11s after players' crisis:
Taufeeq Umar (batter)
Imran Farhat (batter)
Yasir Hameed (batter)
Inzamam-ul-Haq (batter+captain)
Asim Kamal (batter)
Shoaib Malik (batter+spinner)
*+Moin Khan (wicketkeeper+VC+batter)
Abdul Razzaq (batter+pacer)
Umar Gul (pacer)
Shabbir Ahmed (pacer)
Danish Kaneria (spinner)
The last 3 should contribute some 30-40 runs... :)
how about this:
taufiq (for his 170+ runs in the last match)
imran (for a 100+ opening partnership in both innnings, a record for pak)
yasir (for his current re-hot form)
inzi (cuz he is the captain)
asim (cuz he deserves it)
malik (cuz he will serve as a good spinner besides adding some 40-50 runs)
moin (can replace him with kamran, i wud not mind a single bit)
gul (cuz we r out of options)
shabir (ditto)
kaneria (cuz he shared MoM in the last match and the proteas have no idea what he gives them)
mansoor (why else wud u include him in the team if u wont play him)
other reasons:
mushi has been ineffective in both the odis and the test
saqi aint what he used to be, only fit for county now
yasir ali showed no signs of good bowling
junaid aint even fit for odi, why wud anyone take him in test
razzaq can only be lucky to get a wicket in test and he never even tries to get one
misbah has this funny way of batting against pacers which i never understand, he shud be bowled out easily
Armughal, what about Sami?
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Armughal, what about Sami?
he is doubtfull for 2nd test ...
i wish sami plays the second test match otherwise umar gul:smack:
Asim Kamal has to play, sitting him would be outrageous. The guy scored 99 runs in his only appearance. that shows something. HE could permanently take Yunis's spot in the middle order.
Exactly :k: But Im worried…Without, Shoaib, Sami, and Youhana, how will our team perform? ![]()
oh khair hai yaar, Allah malik hai
Ramazan bhi shru ho jaaye gaa tu duaayain lag jaayin gee insha’allah ![]()
If Sami and Shoaib are out there's nothing we can do about it now except let Gul and Shabbir take their place, roll up their sleeves and give it their best shot. I still think they are more than capable of doing a good job and will look forward to another great test match and hopefully we'll take the series 2-0 inshallah. I can't see a draw.
i’m actually ** glad ** sami mite not play provided he fails the fitness test on friday morning. there has always been a hype about sami since his debut against new zealand in new zealand where he actually took wickets for once.
And since thenhe has hardly took regular wickets, he’ll get the occasional 2 or 3 but isn’t consistent.
he is a fast bowler but thats it, not good enough @ international level but for some odd reason pcb’s love affair with him continues, they are sticking by him, lucky him, if only the same treatment was given to all players :nono:
Sami never commanded a regular place in the team till the two W’s left so it is not his fault that he has not been able to produce at the highest level. However, since then he has taken over the role of the strike bowler he has bowled quite well and is rapidly developing into a very lethal bowler. Apart from Shoaib name one new bowler who can bowl as well as him?
South Africa up against it](http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/OCT/377194_PAKRSA2003-04_23OCT2003.html)
South Africa may be relieved with Richie Benaud’s ruling which has kept Shoaib Akhtar out of the second Test at Faisalabad, but Graeme Smith and his not-so-merry men will still be hard-pressed to level the series after the first-Test debacle. Akhtar was instrumental in starting the slide in the second innings at Lahore, but more worrying for Eric Simons, the South African coach, was his batsmen’s inability to come to terms with Pakistan’s spinners.
Between them, Danish Kaneria, Shoaib Malik and Mushtaq Ahmed took 12 wickets in the Lahore Test. Mushtaq was the least of the threats, though, which persuaded the selectors to call up Mansoor Amjad, a 17-year-old wrist-spinner who has yet to play a first-class match, although he has appeared for Pakistan’s age-group teams. He is unlikely to make his debut at Faisalabad, but South Africa can expect another severe examination by spin at the Iqbal Stadium.
The lack of experience in playing quality spin bowling showed quite clearly at Lahore, as none of the batsmen attempted to use their feet and smother the spin. There were also far too many batsmen who got starts, and then failed to cash in: Smith, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis and Boeta Dippenaar all made scores of between 24 and 33 in the first innings at Lahore.
To make matters worse, the South Africans have no-one to exploit the conditions, which are again likely to favour the slow bowlers. Paul Adams picked up seven wickets in Pakistan’s first innings in the first Test, but also served up plenty of hit-me balls - and he was taken apart in the second innings, when he disappeared for 57 in 11 overs. The only other spinner in the squad, Robin Peterson, is hardly a wicket-taking option.
Pakistan might be one strike bowler short, but their batting will be bolstered by the return of Inzamam-ul-Haq, their captain, who missed the first Test with a hamstring injury. He will step in for Yousuf Youhana, who has a hamstring strain of his own. Pakistan’s line-up in Lahore lacked experience, but Asim Kamal, the 27-year-old left-hander who filled in for Inzamam there, made an encouraging 99 on his debut. It was an excellent example of how to construct a Test-match innings. It lacked the flourish of extravagant shotmaking, but in a batting order already bursting with exciting strokeplayers, Kamal’s solidity is a huge asset.
Smith’s short stint as South Africa’s captain has been notable for his hard-nosed approach, and his earnest attempt to ensure that his side shrugs off the choker’s tag that it has been stuck with. The South Africans demonstrated this newfound steel as recently as the one-day series in Pakistan, turning a 0-2 deficit into a 3-2 series win. It is time to display that resolve again.
Pakistan (probable): 1 Taufeeq Umar, 2 Imran Farhat, 3 Yasir Hameed, 4 Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), 5 Asim Kamal, 6 Abdul Razzaq, 7 Moin Khan (wk), 8 Shoaib Malik, 9 Mushtaq Ahmed, 10 Mohammad Sami, 11 Danish Kaneria.
South Africa (probable): 1 Graeme Smith (capt), 2 Herschelle Gibbs, 3 Gary Kirsten, 4 Jacques Kallis, 5 Boeta Dippenaar, 6 Neil McKenzie, 7 Mark Boucher (wk), 8 Shaun Pollock, 9 Paul Adams, 10 Makhaya Ntini, 11 Andre Nel.
So Sami is in? Great :k: Mushtaq still in, what was need for calling that young guy?