Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
*I guess its a good thing,we need Sami and Shoaib firing and then Razzler getting a little assistance from the pitch too. Lets see what Saqlain & Mushtaq (whichever happens to play) can do on these pitches.
Sami aur Shoaib ki firing tau theek hai... per jo jawabi firing ayay gi na hamaree baari, uss ka bhi koi ilaaj hona chahiyay.
Faisal ![]()
i meant expectations are high from Mushtaq Ahmed who bowled his heart out this season in the County Cricket(UK) - is this not the reason Mushtaq Ahmed has been recalled in Pakistan side?
^ Oh I know that u meant Mushtaq... and I am suggesting to keep these (expectations i.e.) low. :)
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Sami aur Shoaib ki firing tau theek hai... per jo jawabi firing ayay gi na hamaree baari, uss ka bhi koi ilaaj hona chahiyay.
Ya to hamera batsmen us ka samnaa karain ya chorian pehan kar gahr beth jayain. Our strength is our bowling and I think its time we recongnize that. Battting has failed us on all kinds of tracks, fast tracks, slow tracks, seaming trakcs, bouncy tracks. So I guess it doesnt make any differnce and we should give seamer friendly wickets a try.
oh i see… i thought u meant SA had the edge everywhere except for the spin department… it was a good analysis ![]()
why are we trying to make fair pitches… its not like anyone else does this… we should make pitches that favour our team… so we have the home field advantage…
^LL I agree. The pitches shoudl favour spin so we can take advanteg of Mushy and Saqi. The SA team should be really weak in this department.
I am really interested to see what happens to Hafeez now that Rashid is no longer captain. Apprently Rashid was supporting Hafeez, I would not be surprised to see a new opener now
Anybody have any ideas?
I highly doubt we will play both Mushtaq & Saqlain in the same team. Our real strength remains fast bowlers. We need supporting tracks for Sami and Shoaib so I think this is a wise move.
*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
I highly doubt we will play both Mushtaq & Saqlain in the same team. Our real strength remains fast bowlers. We need supporting tracks for Sami and Shoaib so I think this is a wise move.
i agree... i would be really surprised to see mushy play in the ODI series unless our pace bowling is tossed around which i doubt... however, if they are to play a specialist spinner in the ODI's then saqi is the man for that job.... but mushi is a must for the tests....
elahi sahib... i have a feeling salman butt may come in if hafeez fails in his first match... or possibly even play in the first match as an opener
Heavy security as South Africa arrive in Pakistan
South Africa arrived in Pakistan to a reception heavy on security. A bomb blast in Karachi jeopardised the tour, and as expected, heightened security will be a part of their entourage wherever they go in Pakistan.
A dozen Pakistani commandos cordoned off the arrival terminal at the Allama Iqbal International Airport in Lahore. The South Africans were then escorted to their hotel by a convoy of 20 police vehicles.
At the hotel itself, sniffer dogs were employed to check the second floor of the hotel, even as many policemen patrolled outside the building. “Around 150 commandos have been deployed to keep tight security around the team in the hotel and on the ground as they are our valued guests,” Salim Zia Agha, deputy superintendent of police, told AFP.
“I am happy that the South African team has arrived here and hope they have left whatever happened in the last week behind,” said M Moolla, the South African High Commissioner who met the team at the airport. “I look forward to seeing some exciting cricket from this young South African team.”
SA is a piece of cake as long as I visit GS KK! :)
*Miandad welcomed them with the statement: "We have seen their videos and have discussed their weak areas. As Steve Waugh put it, they are chokers in crunch matches. We will try to capitalize on it." *
Steve Waugh could afford to say that, he had a team which could back up the big words. I'm not sure it's wise to openly be calling South Africans chokers with the team we've got at present.
Does anyone know who the Pak openers are for the ODI's? Imran nazir and ? And does Inzi come at 4 or 5?
our batting at the top of the order will is our biggest weakeness...and will cause us problems.
*Originally posted by karina: *
Does anyone know who the Pak openers are for the ODI's? Imran nazir and ? And does Inzi come at 4 or 5?
it does'nt really matter...
they are all the same...gone are the days....when we used to make 100 run opening parterships :(
^^ Don't be pessimistic. In adversity are born lions.
I think as Hafeez failed to impress in the Bangladesh series its time to give him a little "rest" and bring in either Imran Farhat or Salman Butt to open along with Yasir Hameed. YoYo should stay at #3 followed by Inzi & Younis Khan.
:k: exactly.
I think the SA tour will be make or break for Hafeez. Any weaknesses outside off stump or lack of footwork will be exploited. He's a gritty character and has talent but I'm not sure that will be enough.
City Nazim XI 99/0 (24.0 ov)
Imran Farhat on a 60....Faisal Athar on 31
a good sign....defn.