Pakistan Vs SA - Pakistan ODI team announced

Pakistan in South Africa 2012-13 : Shahid Afridi makes ODI comeback in South Africa | Cricket News | South Africa v Pakistan | ESPN Cricinfo

Pakistan in South Africa 2012-13Shahid Afridi makes ODI comebackESPNcricinfo staff
February 20, 2013
[RIGHT]Comments: 6 | Login via http://i.imgci.com/espncricinfo/connect_fb_icon.png | Text size: A | A[/RIGHT]

[TABLE=“width: 320, align: right”]

http://www.espncricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/152600/152640.2.jpg

[TABLE]
[TR]
[TD=“class: stryPicCptn”]Shahid Afridi is expected to play his first ODI since September last year © AFP

Enlarge

[/TD]
[/TR]

Shahid Afridi has made a comeback to Pakistan’s ODI squad for the series in South Africa, after being omitted for the tour of India in December last year. Batsman Asad Shafiq and spinner Abdur Rehman were the other inclusions for the five-match series that begins on March 10.
The players left out from the ODI squad that went to India were Anwar Ali, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail and Zulfiqar Babar. There was only one change to the Twenty20 squad, with Wahab Riaz replacing Sohail Tanvir, who was part of the team that had travelled to India.
ODI squad: Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Wahab Riaz, Umar Gul, Imran Farhat, Abdur Rehman.
Twenty20 squad: Mohammad Hafeez, NasirI Jamshed, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Umar Gul, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Amin, Zulfiqar Babar, Asad Ali, Junaid Khan.
More to follow

Re: Pakistan Vs SA - Pakistan ODI team announced

Dau match Afghanistan kay saath khila kar PCB selection nay decided kar liya keh afridi should be back to form now.

:afridi: is back …Now the ODI series gets more interesting! :yk:

Good luck to lala and Umar Akmal, hopefully they will make the best on this return. Where is Raza Hassan? Glad that Azhar is dropped and Asad is in :k: Shoaib Malik :smack:

I am wondering too about Raza Hasan. Probably PCB feels Shoaib can bat but they forget that he bats good once in a while only.

UA needs to show he has learned something during his time off.

Abdur Rehman is never a ODI bowler IMO ......Raza Hassan should have been in his spot

^^ So what is the news on Raza Hasan, is he still injured?

What a backward move by Iqbal Qasim. :facepalm: :afridi:

Raza Hassan is still injured as per Geo tv.

Good to see Afridi back but on what merit? What did he do to earn the recall? iqbal qasim ko splice mayn khana tu nahi khila diya? :D

Waleed aur DA ki duaen aur manatten :p

Splice ki 1 year ki membership mil gyi hai Iqbal Qasim ko :D

Neither Afridi nor Malik deserved a Pak recall based on recent ODI performances

So basically Afridi has been sent as a 'specialist' spinner. On present batting perform, he doesnt justify his place as an allrounder .... the problem is Afridi has not been bowling well either for some time now.

pakpasssion**

If it were only 2 or 3 ODIs, then maybe we wouldn’t have selected Afridi" - Iqbal Qasim

**On Afridi's Selection & Future:

**"Shahid Afridi played against Afghanistan and he remained fit. Right now, the South Africans are playing our fast bowlers well and our bowling is struggling. We’ve seen that if you have a variety of spinners, it is a benefit. Shahid Afridi is a right arm spinner of which we have a lacking of. We have given the captain this option for the 5 ODIs. If it were only 2 or 3, then maybe we wouldn’t have selected him. Since there are 5, you need a variety. If at any stage you need him, you can play him."

*"I’m not saying that Afridi will be a part of the playing XI. He will be a part of the 16 and will be available. He will be in the variety and available for whenever he’s needed in the series. Looking at the series, you want a second spinner to support Saeed Ajmal, I’m only referring to Afridi’s bowling. Not his batting capability."

"We have sent Afridi based on his right-arm spin, which we are lacking of at the moment. If the fast bowlers were doing well, perhaps we wouldn’t have sent Afridi. There are 5 ODIs, not 1. The need for him might come up. There’s nothing wrong with having a variety."

**"I believe that we should have variety in the team and there should be a right-arm leg-spinner in the team."

"Afridi's selection does not involve my personal interests. If that was the case, I would not have never dropped him in the first place."

"South Africa is his last chance. He (Afridi) has to perform."
On Team Selection and Criteria:

"The tests series is still happening. We’ve lost the series, but there is still a test to play so we can’t comment on the test squad."

"Adnan Akmal was not playing when we made our selection for the test series. He played the last match after we had announced the team. Also, Sarfraz was in good form. The selection was based off performance. For us, both Adnan and Sarfraz are important. We sent Safraz to South Africa based off performance. Looking at his current performance, hopefully he will score runs in the third test. Our job is to send players based off performance. If a player doesn’t perform, he won’t be given a spot in the team."

"No future for any player is ever closed. Once this tour is over, Aizaz Cheema will be considered for the next series. Wahab Riaz has performed better than Aizaz Cheema. I did not send Tanvir Ahmed to South Africa. That was the team management’s request. If he or any player doesn’t perform in the test series after being selected, then he won’t be considered the next time."

"I did not call Tanvir Ahmed. That was team management's call. We were responsible for sending the 16-man squad"

"Tanvir Ahmed performed well in domestic cricket. If he doesn't perform well in Tests, he will be automatically out of the team"

"Any player who does not perform on the tour will not be considered for selection in later matches"

"Sarfraz Ahmed was given a chance through this entire Test series. It is unfair to player to play him for one match and then drop him for the team. It is clear in front all of us what his potential is. In the coming days, whoever is better for team will be in the team. "

"Based on the T20 team that went to India, we had a discussion with Mohammad Hafeez. He (Mohammad Hafeez) was not interested in having Asad Shafiq in the T20 team.

"Taking suggestions and input is part of the selection committee's job - which we did in talking to both captains. Selecting the team is our job. If we don't take input during the selection process , everyone will call the selection a 'rubber stamp'."

On Player Fitness:

"Regarding fitness levels, if a player becomes unfit during practice, than that is not my fault. If a player becomes unfit without even playing, than it must have happened during practice. We have a medical staff that tours with the team, it is their responsibility to keep the players fit."

"I cannot take responsibility for the fitness of players when they are on tour"

"After the squad is selected, the team management comes in to play when the tour starts. The captain and team management's request comes directly to the Chairman. The selection committee will 99.9% of the time give the go-ahead on this request because those requirements are assessed over there and not here."

Well I think Pakistanis better not keep any high hopes from him. Most of us can easily forecast another failure of him, atleast as a batsman. He may be able to do some tight bowling though. Now when he's back in squad, shouldnt be carried over after his couple of failures.

LOL at IQ's comments about Sarfaraz and Adnan. Ok so afridi is there to be the right arm spin back up to saeed...i see.."tau Iqbal sahab aapkay mayanaaz kaptaan Mr. profesur kis kaam keh leeyay hain..woh bhee tau right arm spinner hain..now answer...got it. Thank you come again.

I noticed that Hammad Azam or any other emerging all rounder was not given a chance by PCB once again.
All the rest of the world plays T20s with all rounders...while Chacha IQ simply wants to play 34-40 year old slow bowlers such as Mr. Zulfiqar Babar.
Did any one say parchee piya jee??

He got younger. He is now 31- yr old Afridi.