cogtraz to Pakistan ![]()
:bhangra::bhangra::bhangra::bhangra::bhangra::bhangra:
cogtraz to Pakistan ![]()
:bhangra::bhangra::bhangra::bhangra::bhangra::bhangra:
:bhangra: :bhangra:
Well Played Pakistan !
:bhangra: :bhangra:
*Too bad, This second biggest chase could not be aired on television due to stupid professionals *
sabyy… pakistan main bhi nai dekha gaya ![]()
nah naa pp
, itna acha match thaa and i really missed watching it ![]()
Sami and Razzaq more than made up for thier bowling performances ![]()
Oh my god... what a match, and razzaq and sami winning it in such style after such pathetic bowling. So tell me, did ANYBODY, ANYWHERE actually watched this match? Also, did any guppie talked to Dishnetwork for refund?
**Razzaq is the worthy Man of the Match :k: **
Jayzee, GEO ppl just said that the issue has been resolved and next match will be aired, so i think Dishnet will also air the match as a result.
*Originally posted by Zabardast: *
Okay...who will be the MoM...Razzaq? :)
Man of the Match: Abdul Razzaq... :D
And this is all the Cricinfo people had to say about this amazing, once in a lifetime type of match:
And that's it Pakistan has won the 1st ODI by 3 wickets
Man of the Match: Abdul Razzaq
For the match bulletin and tour details please visit www.cricinfo.com
So Pakistan take a 1-0 lead in this series. Join Wisden CricInfo
again day after tomorrow for live coverage of the second ODI, also
at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore. That ODI starts at 6:00 GMT
Wonder if this Indian owned website had said the same thing had it been India instead of Pakistan in the same situation? Oh, sorry, I forgot, India could NOT have been in this situation, considering the thrashing they got in NZ earlier this year.
bhayee I couldnt believe my eyes whenI sawthe results on GEO…
really amazing, we missed a hell of a match…i dont know how to describe the situation, because I m totally in shock…
did any one manage to see the match…
Razzaq Baycharay ko tinaay 4 or 6 maray thaay Cainrs nay , os nay hisaab barabar ker diyaa ![]()
*Originally posted by Jayzee: *
And this is all the Cricinfo people had to say about this amazing, once in a lifetime type of match:
And that's it Pakistan has won the 1st ODI by 3 wickets
Man of the Match: Abdul Razzaq
For the match bulletin and tour details please visit www.cricinfo.com
So Pakistan take a 1-0 lead in this series. Join Wisden CricInfo
again day after tomorrow for live coverage of the second ODI, also
at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore. That ODI starts at 6:00 GMT
Wonder if this Indian owned website had said the same thing had it been India instead of Pakistan in the same situation? Oh, sorry, I forgot, India could NOT have been in this situation, considering the thrashing they got in NZ earlier this year.
bhai, we should set up our own site.
Cb-- Match kaheen bhi nai dekha ja saka.. not even in pakistan
Hell of a match though.
Jayzee— u are right, had india won this match, cricinfo commentator would have been going crazy ![]()
**Though i must congratulate this young NZ team laballed all alphabets in recent days but they played really well and nearly surprised Pakistan. Hats off to Cairns for marvellous batting performance :k: **
Thanks so much for the support guys; I agree saby, this was an awesome performance by NZ specially considering that they were playing with SIX debutantes. I have a feeling though that this was NZs' best chance to win against pakistan, unless they repeat this type of batting again. NZs' bowling, with a couple of exceptions, was horrible and unfortunately looks like it will stay that way unless there is a miraculous improvement (or pak's batting fails); Pak's wasn't great either, but it will be bolstered once Shoaib gets back in the 3rd match.
*Originally posted by Jayzee: *
Thanks so much for the support guys; I agree saby, this was an awesome performance by NZ specially considering that they were playing with SIX debutantes. I have a feeling though that this was NZs' best chance to win against pakistan, unless they repeat this type of batting again. NZs' bowling, with a couple of exceptions, was horrible and unfortunately looks like it will stay that way unless there is a miraculous improvement (or pak's batting fails); Pak's wasn't great either, but it will be bolstered once Shoaib gets back in the 3rd match.
i agree with you jayzee. i think this was NZs last chance. i expect easy sailing as i don't see sami, kaneria, razzler having any other horrendous performance with the balls like today. plus shoaib comes back in 3rd match so its over for our zealander friends.
You can judge their professionalism from the fact that they started the morning by pointing fingers at pakistan TV when they should’ve secured the license atleast a week ago. Compare that to BBC who stayed at objective as possible during their row with UK govt.
So I still lay the blame squarely on Geo. They won the contract and it was their duty to cover everything up. People don’t care what the problems were. They should’ve been resolved before the match started. Like ARY very rightly said “What kind of a Dhamaka is this? This is no Dhamaka. This is not even a patakha!”
Still can’t believe these professionals robbed us of such a great match. What good is it watching the highlights when you know the result. ![]()
^^ oh ARY joined the row too?? who said this on ARY and which program , repet hoga dekhnay main shughal hoga..![]()
Secondly, blame lies with PEMRA too who had to issue the NOC for uplink and obviuosly they had to go through ptv too, lazy bums ![]()
Thirdly, do you think PTV were happy with the contract being issued to GEO?? nah i dont think so and they created as much problesm as they could.
GEO TV web site's ticker is saying that the highlights will be aired after 1 hour 9:00 pm PST, and the complete match 2morrow at 10:00 am PST on GEO, so stay tuned may be u get to see it in u r parts of the world...
I did see some of the highlights on GEO, they do have the recordings, but problem in showing the live match....
Pakistan were over the line, and New Zealand could scarcely believe it. The last 65 runs had come off only 28 balls. Things happened so fast, that :rotato: New Zealand will need a day or two to recover :rotato: .
Anand Vasu is assistant editor of Wisden Cricinfo.
It was in their news in the morning. They were showing it live. The comment was not part of the news but some doctor who also hosts news and views on ARY every night. I suppose ARY was a little sore cuz if the rights hadn’t gone to Geo, then ARY music would be showing the match. Tune into nes and Views tonight. Around 9-10 pm. Lets hope some clarification comes from a third neuteral party.
Abt PTV. yes, I agree they played their dirty role too. The point I am trying to emphasise is that it was Geo’s responsibility to air the match. If PTV succeeded in blocking the match from going on air, then its not PTV’s fault, but its Geo’s lousy management. The genera public doesnt care if PTV interfered or ZTV. We just want to watch the match, and Geo has to make sure that we do.
Razzaq blasts Pakistan to victory](http://www-pak.cricket.org/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/NOV/015448_PAKNZ2003-04_29NOV2003.html)
A collective effort from Pakistan’s batsmen lifted them to an exciting win over New Zealand at Lahore. An inspired spell of batting, in which Abdul Razzaq clouted 47 from just 22 balls, helped Pakistan chase down a mammoth 292 with two overs to spare. This gave Pakistan the surge of confidence they have lacked in recent times. The three-wicket win gave Pakistan a 1-0 lead in the five-match one-day series.
When New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat, they needed to put a big total on the board. Having done that, they could hardly believe their eyes as Pakistan ran away with the game. New Zealand handed debuts to six players: Craig Cumming, Richard Jones, Hamish Marshall, Michael Mason, Matthew Walker and Kerry Walmsley. With massive inexperience in the ranks, New Zealand needed one of the seniors to step up and take charge. Cairns, leading the side in the absence of Stephen Fleming, played the role to perfection.
After a shaky start, Mathew Sinclair and Marshall batted with caution, and strung together a 99-run stand that kept the Pakistan bowlers at bay. They kept the scoring rate ticking over, making their 99 runs from 21.2 overs.
Against the run of play, Sinclair and Marshall were both dismissed. Each had made 55, and their dismissals, with more than ten overs to go, brought Cairns and Jacob Oram together. Curiously enough, the fall of these two wickets close to the 40th over proved to be a blessing in disguise for New Zealand. Cairns and Oram boosted the scoring rate with lusty blows and as many as 112 runs were scored in the final ten overs, taking New Zealand to a massive 291.
Cairns’s intent was obvious, even as he walked out to the middle with the score on 178 and with more than 10 overs to go. He could make the difference between a merely healthy total and an imposing one - and he did so in emphatic fashion. Cairns cut and drove the medium-pacers with power, but reserved his most brutal effort for the hapless Danish Kaneria.
Kaneria’s last over, the 48th of the innings, went for 22 runs. The second, third and fourth balls of the over were all despatched into the stands in style. After pulling the ball over midwicket, Cairns showed he was no one-trick pony. He came down the track and dumped one ball into the stands over long off, and finished with a big heave over midwicket.
Jacob Oram (35) provided Cairns with good support, and was only dismissed off the first ball of the final over. By then, though, it hardly made a difference. Cairns’s 51-ball 84, inlcuding five fours and six sixes took New Zealand to a strong position.
Pakistan have chased down big totals in the past, and still remain a dangerous, if incosistent, force in international cricket. They got off to the worst possible start, when they lost Imran Farhat off only the third ball of the innings. Then, Yousuf Youhana (42) and Yasir Hameed (52) laid the foundation blocks to a famous win, adding 90 runs for the second wicket in 17 overs.
The fact that Pakistan scored 292 in 40 overs with no-one making more than 52 is testimony to the manner in which they built partnerships and always remained within striking distance of the asking rate. Inzamam-ul-Haq (49) played with characteristic fluency, mixing big hitting with careful defence. When he was trapped lbw by Cairns in the 37th over (194 for 4), Pakistan were in deep trouble.
Moin Khan (43), promoted to No. 5, used his experience to good effect, stealing runs from under the noses of the New Zealanders. He set himself up for a final charge, but could not resist cutting at a wide one from Daniel Vettori, and edged a catch to Brendon McCullum behind the stumps (196 for 5).
Misbah-ul-Haq and Shoaib Malik fell without causing a flutter and Pakistan looked dead and buried at 227 for 7 in 43.2 overs. They still needed 65 runs from 40 balls with only Razzaq and the tail to follow. In an innings that will long be remembered by those fortunate enough to witness it, Razzaq hit the cover off the ball in a 22-ball display of power hitting. At 47 not out (three fours, two sixes), he found himself an unlikely hero. Pakistan were over the line, and New Zealand could scarcely believe it. The last 65 runs had come off only 28 balls. Things happened so fast, that New Zealand will need a day or two to recover.