Pakistan VS New Zealand | 8th March

Re: Pakistan VS New Zealand | 8th March

This pretty much sums it up...

Cricinfo
The day's most ironic moment came when Kamran Akmal, who dropped Taylor twice before he reached double digits, nicked Southee to slip. Taylor, now standing-in as captain, did not give Kamran any favours.

Something for Pak to think about. Afridi and Misbah cant save you in every match. People like Younis have to take on more responsibility. We need to concentrate on what went wrong in the closing overs off the match when NZ smashed our bowling to pieces. They scored 100 in the last 5 overs and we lost by 110 runs. Says it all.

current point table situation is:

Group A
Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR For Against
New Zealand 4 3 1 0 0 6 +1.848 746/141.3 630/184.0
Pakistan 4 3 1 0 0 6 +0.760 970/200.0 818/200.0
Sri Lanka 4 2 1 0 1 5 +2.663 744/118.4 541/150.0
Australia 3 2 0 0 1 5 +1.813 469/84.0 377/100.0
Zimbabwe 3 1 2 0 0 2 +0.079 631/150.0 551/133.3
Canada 4 1 3 0 0 2 -2.083 582/195.3 1012/200.0
Kenya 4 0 4 0 0 0 -3.403 521/200.0 734/122.1

Wow, NZ is on the top of points table with twice the runrate as Pak.
good job zealanders :k:

At least the runrate is in +

Can we change the wicketkeeper during the innings when he is having bad time or we have to wait till the match is lost? :D

hain??? It was NOT over till Razzaq was on that crease!!! That guy works miracles sometimes!!!

First defeat of pakistan to newzealand since 1983 worldcup

^^ AAliya ji it was over when NZ scored 90+ in 20+ balls.

Razzaq and Gul saved our Net runrate from going negative.

Are we really thru to QFs? :konfused:

From cricinfo:

Tim Southee:“It was the sort of day you are dreaming of, we were thinkiing of 245 and then suddenly … oit was some of the cleanest hitting I have ever seen. The partnership at the end from Pakistan is slightly disappointing.”
New Zealand are now top of table on net run rate.Here’s the latest points table.

**This match will be remembered for the surreal onslaught at the end of New Zealand’s innings, and Kamran Akmal’s disastrous effort behind the stumps. Pakistan lost it in the final six over of New Zealand’s batting and the first seven of theirs. **

Post-match presentation:

Shahid Afridi: “I have no excuse. We didn’t bowl well, we didn’t field well, you can win games based on fielding, but I am confident of my team and myself, we will not repeat this performance. We should learn from what we did in this game.”
Ross Taylor: "To have them six down after 20 overs was a credit for the bowlers. We didn’t want to be complacent at the break. I had a bit of luck early on, even when I was at 30 or 40, but the way Nathan and Jake came out and hit it rubbed off. " No update on Vettori. Taylor says “we’ll just have to find out over the next couple of days.”

SO what??? They could have done it too…Razzaq can do it…he jst didn’t do it today!!! You can’t work miracles everyday :snooty:

If we did it in Australia (Malinga and Angelo)..and they are no where near Razzaq…then anything is possible in cricket…jst didn’t happen today..and jst coz a disaster happens at the beginning of a match you should never give up..and Pakistan did not give up…which is good!

If we lose to Zimbabwe then who knows

very well played newzealand in both batting and bowling therefore the victory was very well deserved. congrats to the team and to all the fans.

Pakistan- a pretty poor performance but credits should be given to razzaq, umar akmal and umar gul for taking the score to 191 which isnot shameful as i thought game will finish before we are even gonna make 100.

pak's bowling wasnot good either only gul was able to do wonders with his wickets. but overall support was needed.

and people with this loss pakistan is surely going to QFs since NZ, srilanka, england, west indies and south africa have all lost one match each. does that mean they arenot gonna be in QFs?

we have won 3 previous matches ek haarne se kuch nahi hota. though pakistan must improve its batting and bowling.

inshallah the next match of pakistan will bring smiles on everyones face. inshallah and ameen

Will know much before that when(if) Sri Lanka beats Zimbabwe.

Yeah unless we lose to ZIm :smiley:

It probably will come down to Net Run Rate of which Pakistan suffered a great loss today.

Hamen tu Akmal ne lota, taylor mai kahan dam tha,

Hamien chakkkay b tab lagy, jab power play khatum tha...

yup it could do :(

i hope jo bhi kal khel raha hai uska nrr bohat neeche chala jaye