re: Pakistan vs India T20 World Cup 2014. H/L post#246
Team Pakistan did not put up a challenging total on the board. On a pitch like today’s it would have been tough for any team to defend the total of 130. Good luck in the next game Pakistan.
guys why is afridi being sent out to bat so low in the order? In this format and given his terrific form shouldn't he be getting more overs to score from?
This will be Pakistan's 9th defeat in World Cups against India
50-Overs:1992, 1996, 1999, 2003 & 2011
T20: 2007 x2 (Group match: Tied, India won by bowl out and the Final), 2012 & 2014
India-Pakistan matches are about pressure although the pressure thing is more of media hype than anything else
So I think it is safe to conclude that Indians are mentally tougher (deliver in games that matter) than Pakistanis despite our better overall record against them
guys why is afridi being sent out to bat so low in the order? In this format and given his terrific form shouldn't he be getting more overs to score from?
There is no such thing as batting 'form' with Afridi. Either he clicks or gets out with a glorious duck.
guys why is afridi being sent out to bat so low in the order? In this format and given **his terrific form **shouldn't he be getting more overs to score from?
Are you talking about uniform? Because even with 8 balls he faced he didn't score much, with bowling he couldn't do much..... so which form is it? :p
I had a feeling, 130 was not going to be enough, to beat India. Pakistan probably needed at least another 30 to 40 runs to make this a competitive match. Aside from batting, I think Pakistan's fielding has also let them down in this match. They have another important match on Sunday, and a loss in that match could certainly end their chances of qualifying to the next round. I have a feeling that we have yet to see the best of Pakistan, and they will surely bounce back.
India 4 Pakistan 0 in World T20s. India have been in pretty poor form coming into this tournament, but they have been on top today. The gamble with three specialist spinners worked wonders, with Amit Mishra a leading contender for the Man of the Match award. Once the Pakistan batting could muster only 130, it was always going to be tough to defend. There were a few tight moments, but India were never really in deep trouble in the chase.
Are we really seeing the Fall of Rome type scenario with Pakistani bowling? There was a time when their bowling line could easily defend below par score with some class, now they cannot even put pressure on the opposition. Having said, you have to give to Indian batsmen, they live up to their reputation with such clean, powerful and timely hitting. Alas, Pakistanis batsmen are such ugly hitters, honestly. Okay, maybe awkward not ugly.
From the team we defeated in Asia Cup they have three players come back into the squad and that strengthens their squad quite significantly, Yuraj, Rina and Dhoni. So watch out. It is not going to be easy especially if we have kukri opening the bowling.
Lulz uncle please in dono se dar rhay hai ap
Ayee baat samajh mein, Raina three catches and a wonderful innings at the end.
Yaar ye malik ki bajey Imran Nazir ko ley aao...ya even Misbah would be better.
Frankly speaking...mujhey bohat khushi hui is haar sey...in TV channels ka berra'gharq ho...is qadar hype create kar di thi....bohat acha huwa...ro ab beitth ke.
Pakistan were at least 20 to 30 runs short. They will have to iron out their batting weaknesses before the next match. Todays disaster started when Shehzad ran out Akmal. He needs to improve his running and calling .
but never mind three more matches to go and we need to win them all.
Are we really seeing the Fall of Rome type scenario with Pakistani bowling? There was a time when their bowling line could easily defend below par score with some class, now they cannot even put pressure on the opposition. Having said, you have to give to Indian batsmen, they live up to their reputation with such clean, powerful and timely hitting. Alas, Pakistanis batsmen are such ugly hitters, honestly. Okay, maybe awkward not ugly.
Your post is just a decade-late. You are talking about the time when the likes of Ekram, Waqeh, Actor and Saqi used to have the ball. Now the lot we have is well below average. Overall, the entire team is a very average unit...in fact it's a club level team if you take out some sporadic sparkles.