Yousef Youhana
Inzamam-Ul-Haq
Shahid Afridi
Rashid Latif
Wasim Akram
Saqlain Mushtaq
Waqar Younis
Shoaib Akhtar

I wud replace Razzaq with Afridi, since Razzaq hasn't been doing anything with the bat or ball and hasnt looked any better than Afridi. Afridi come in the 30-40 overs and hit the England medium pacers and spinners since they only have 3 geniune bowlers.

I would somehow fit Azhar mahmood in this match. He needs to get off the mark in this tournament as Razzaq is not doing his part.

I think pakistan should have a reliatively easy time with England given England's not so great bowling. Pakistan's bowling should be able to limit England to less than 225 if England are to bat first, and should be easily able to post 260+ if Pakistan are to bat first.

With Rashid and Wasim in full swing...what about playing Sami as a regular 5th bowler. May be the first change...

If Anwar, Yoyo and Elahi's batting clicked and backed up by Rashid and Wasim's hitting...we can get to 250+ easily. And then with Shoieb and Wasim crushing the first 4 batsmen in first 10 overs...idealy Sami/Saqi next 10 will be killer. Because Sami is as fast as Wasim and is good with old ball, he can get atleast 2 wkts with an average rate... while Saqi will rip off the middle order easily. At that time we can bring in Shoib and Akram back to destroy the tailenders. I estimate if we field second then we can kill them with in 180.

On the other hand if we bowled first then we can still use the aforementioned plan with Waqar coming in as first change...but Sami should join him in his first spell. If Waqar is hammered we can introduce Saqi immediately after Waqar's second over. Together Saqi and Sami can slow down the runs as well as taking wickets in every other over. Saeed can also bowl after 20th over when Sami's first spell is over.

This will prolly restrict the goray kuttay to 220 all out in 45 overs.

And we can achieve this target easily if Saeed and Elahi gave us 80+ partnership in first 15 overs. Yoyo and Inzi should come at 3 and 4th respectively. while still have Younis spared, they can produce the real firepower. Not to mention that younis and Rashid can finish the game incase Aaloo got out. But believe me Wasim and Rashid both make a FULL RELIABLE SIXTH batsman. As they are making 60+ in 40 balls in each match ;) In the light of the above theory we don't need Afridi.....Saeed can bowl off spin... and Sami can do what Waqar is supposed to be doing if he was in form.

The most probable team shd, and would, be as follows

saeed
elahi
youhana
inzi
younis
abdul
rashid
wasim
saqi
waqar
shoaib

Afridi cant be given a chance. He’s plain useless, although i do agree that mite hit a quick 15, 20 against the not-2-awesome english bowling line-up. But u cant drop elahi, he’s scored 20 odd and 60 odd in 1st 2 games. Send youhana at #3, he’s our best batsman.

Waqar shd open the bowling, so that he can keep up the pressure after the 1st ten overs by introducing shoaib. With shoaib bowling, it also makes the other bowler better. Pakistan shd win this 1 with a decent margin to gain further confidence.

:jhanda:

Originally posted by Asif_k

Well, what can I say, you should consider yourself lucky that God was with your team on March 1st 1992. We had seen the water in the t.... of your batsmen.*

I can't believe you people are still crying about that, while India couldn't even make it to the semis.
Its true, Indian jealousy lasts eternity.

I think Shoaib and Wasim should bowl the first 14 overs.
Saqlain and Vikki should bowl the next 14.
Vikki should continue and bowl 10 along with Razzler.
Shoaib should bowl his last 3 once Vikki is done with his 10
Saqlain and Wasim should bowl the death overs.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
I think Shoaib and Wasim should bowl the first 14 overs.
Saqlain and Vikki should bowl the next 14.
Vikki should continue and bowl 10 along with Razzler.
Shoaib should bowl his last 3 once Vikki is done with his 10
Saqlain and Wasim should bowl the death overs.

I highly doubt Waqar will use 7 overs each from his ace seamers. I dont think Shoaib particualrly enjoys bowling long spells, and I dont I blame him for that. He comes blazing in from the first delivery and I think he wont bowl anymore then 5 overs unless the opposing team is raling at 35-7. We also need to preserve Wasim's overs too so incase someone is taking a hammering or if we need a breakthrough we can bring one of our main bowlers back. I think Waqar will bowl 5 from Shoaib and 6 from Akram.

Damn I didn’t realise it was a day-night match. That’s the only thing which might throw a spanner in the works. Batting under lights can be quite difficult - I remember against SA in the recent series the ball started jagging all over the place when the lights came on. Who knows, if we lose the toss and bat second, in those conditions England’s medium pacers might start looking like world beaters :eek:

For that reason alone Afridi shouldn’t be considered. He should only play games in the sub-continent or against the likes of Holland.

Conditions and ground would be the same as the opening match between SA and WI. It is very hard to chase targets under lights at Newlands. Toss will be crucial. I hope Vikki elects to bat first.

Facing Shoaib and Wasim under lights will be an added challenge for the English. Chasing anything over 240 under lights will be tough.

What a bummer... the toss is going to play a big part which is ridiculous.

Here is a cracker,

I was just watching a tv program in whcih Afridi and Wasim Bari were guests (ofcourse recorded before the team depareted for SA). Ramiz was teh anchor person, he asked Afridi that which bowler do you respect the most.

He replied "well i respect many bowlers but when i m playing, i dont respect anyone and thats my negative as well as positive point at the same time then he referred to an incident that Kumble said to saqlain ‘yaar Afridi aisa batsman hai jisay na apni izzat ki fikr hai na bolwer ki’ "

That phrase cracked me up. :rotfl: :hehe:

Yeah :hehe:

Yeah Afridi liked batting against Kumble :hehe:

In another program before the WOrldcup, the interviewer asked Afridi what goes on in team meetings when batting strategy is being discussed. To this Afridi said, " Buss coaches tau yehi kehtay hain k shuroo may aahista khailo aur innings banao…laikin may tau sub say yehi kehta hooN k her aik ka apna style hay khailnay kaa,jiss ki jau marzi ho woh khailay". And this is exactly what he does. :hehe:

He was asked if he listened to Coach and captain before going out to bat. He said, " Kaafi sumjhaatay hain k aisa kerna weaisa kerna, laikin jub may wicket per pohunchta hooN tau sub kuch bhool jaata hoon… aur apnay style say he khailta hooN"

I only want him to go out and hit every ball. This is what he does best. Let him be himself.

Do they still call him in Batting Strategy meetings ?? :hehe: May be they should include a session on tullaybazzi also just for him :slight_smile:

Originally posted by funguy: *
He was asked if he listened to Coach and captain before going out to bat. **He said, " Kaafi sumjhaatay hain k aisa kerna weaisa kerna, laikin jub may wicket per pohunchta hooN tau sub kuch bhool jaata hoon... aur apnay style say he khailta hooN"

I watched the show. I think above is the reason why he finds himself out of the team rather than any thing else. Total disregard for the team's position and strategy must be punished.

Saby, that was hilarious. Afridi does have a liking for Kumble, come to think of it most Pak batsmen do. Saeed is another one.

A sweet reminder regarding Kumble and Pakistani batsmen is on cards from A interactor here :D

I hope he doesn't forget to give due credit to Umpire Jayaprakash ;)

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *

I disagree. Our bowling is what makes our team what it is. Our batting is nto capable of winning matches. I don't think that our world cup campaign will be able to handle another bad day for the bowlers. Afridi must be played for his backup bowling. Waqar has a tendency to go for a lot of runs, Saqi doesn't have a lot of bowling under his belt and the Razzler is taking his place in the team for granted. To expect Wasim and Shoaib to win every match is unfair on the duo.

Afridi can be dropped against disciplined and efficient demolition machines such as Australia but against others he should be played.

Sambrilian....playing an Afridi in your lineup is like going out with onlt 10 batsmen.

He will NOT be able to survive the Caddick's swinging deliveries. Atleast Elahi has some technique and know-how. As far as bowling is concerned, we do not need to worry about 6th bowler. As we saw in the Pak Aus match, Younis Khan is capable enough to bowl a good 4 to 6 overs, a perhaps even pick up a vital wicket.

I must say we should stick to the same team we played against Namibia. And Please NO AFRIDI....for Pakistan's sake.