Pakistan Vs. England

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

In any case I think this match will be a cakewalk for pakistan.

Asif bhai I think you need to consult a doctor. :)

The real ice-cream cake will be served on March 1st.

no afridi. he's a liability. if waqar weren't the captain i would take him out too. youhana should come one down and inzi at 4. it would be a crime not to include saqi. so far, wasim is our player of the tournament. he should be bumped up the order (though not to one down) becuase he has been showing responsibility.

My line-up for England:

Maulana Sahib
Pathan Bhai
Aaloo
Masihi Biradaree wala
Khan Jee
Razia GhundoN may phuss gaee
Gilly's new boyfriend
The First Pakistani Cricketer to wear an earing
Don't hit me or I'll bowl a BEAMER
Doosra Bhai
I am the best, don't mess with me

rotfl:rotfl:rotfl:

Funguy ur funny man!

:dixsi:

*Originally posted by TUMS: *
if waqar weren't the captain i would take him out too.

Kindly enlighten us who would you include then?

Re: Pakistan Vs. England

*Originally posted by funguy: *
I am a little clueless on English bowling line-up. I know they have Caddick, Flintoff and Anderson for medium pacers. Who does spin and what kind?. Are they a real threat?. Who is the "Fifth bowler"?. Is it a combination of two all-rounders or a genuine fifth bowler?.

In batting, Michael Vaughn seems to be in good touch. Tresco has always been a good fast scorere.

How are Ronnie Irani, Ian Blackwell and Paul Collingwood?.

I can easily go to a web site and get a run down on the team but I would like to hear your comments.

Thanks.

well Caddick, Anderson are okay bowlers. Flintoff is a good all rouunder. White had a great Australian tour. Blkwell is a new find but I think Pakistan has good enough team to over come them.

I think the same team which played against Namibia will play but lets see.... I would also like to see Afridi ply in place of Elahi and promote Rashid as an opener. He is a technically correct batsman and can play his shots. Infact i read an article in which it was stated that it has already been discussed. Anyways lets see...

Saeed
Elahi
Youhana
Inzi
Younus
Rashid
Razzaq
Akram
Waqar
Saqlain
Shoaib

The most dangerous player I would worry about is not Tresco, Vaughan or Caddick but Nick Knight, he looks like a very talented batsman, his performance in Australia was very good as well.

I think everyone should realize that we have to play 6 bowlers, if we should play Afridi or Azhar Mahmood, both can contribute similiar with the bat and ball. But including one of them would means to leave out someone who played against Namibia, that is a very hard deicision so I would just go in with 5 bowlers.

Saeed Anwar
Saleem Elahi
Yousuf Youhana
Inzimam ul Haq
Younis Khan
Azhar Mahmood
Rashid Latif
Wasim Akram
Saqlain Mushtaq
Waqar Younis
Shoaib Akhtar

Waqar,Razzaq and saqlain all of them are suspect. So we need a sixth bolwer. We can't depend on Saeed bhai's left arm magic.

It was one of the most unimpressive 60 runs by elahi. Not to forget he was dropped when he was in 30's and through out the game he was struglling. Atleast he played better than the rest but I'm sure he won't last long with his cheaky shots against a better opponent.He is a tense starter and tends to move around in the very early stages of his innings making himself volnurable. That is what exatly Aamir Sohail mentioned. Its all about pitching at the right position and he is history.

I'm really wooried about Waqar Younis. Recently he was more effective with a newer ball. He piches to middle and leg in the early overs and was successful. When he pitches the same type of ball in his second spell when the ball is older . He gets WackeD! He is always off to a good start but in the later stages he totally lose it. He becomes very predcitable.

It is a very good idea for Shoaib to open though but he is a type of bowler who can bowl anytime and scare the hell out of the batsmen. We want the best of every bowler. I doubt Waqar can be really effective after Wasim and Shaoibs first spell. Hope I'm wrong.

*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *
I doubt Waqar can be really effective after Wasim and Shaoibs first spell. Hope I'm wrong.

wel he was effective enough in the first game, dimissed jimmy maher, got spanked in the later overs but so was everyone...
Its too soon to judge that. Lets hope he bowls well against England.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
My line-up for England:

Maulana Sahib
Pathan Bhai
Aaloo
Masihi Biradaree wala
Khan Jee
Razia GhundoN may phuss gaee
Gilly's new boyfriend
The First Pakistani Cricketer to wear an earing
Don't hit me or I'll bowl a BEAMER
Doosra Bhai
I am the best, don't mess with me

LoL

At first glance I serioulsy thought Gilly is a model in pakistan and one of the cricketer is dating her. Come to think of it , gilly=gilchrist and his bf Rashid latif lol.
It was funny reading their statements how they "maintained" their close relationships over the years and yet they fought

When is the match people?

*Originally posted by Bismah: *
When is the match people?

Saturday 22 February. It is a day/night match and therefore will start at 12.30pm GMT.

BISMAH: The match between Pakistan and England is coming up this saturday. it is a D/N match.

Saleem Elahi looked in great form against Australia but looked very shaky against Namibia. I think he is going to perform really good against England because the way he has been criticized he might have something to prove. Ganguly, Dravid, and Sehwag did notch up their performances today and i hope Elahi would do the same. Afridi is fun to watch but he's too big of a risk to be in the team right now.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Asif bhai I think you need to consult a doctor. :)

Sorry I missed this one. ehsan bhai one day you guys claim that Pak is the best team and at par with Australia (If not better) and next day you suggest me to consult a doctor for saying it will be an easy match for Pakistan. I am sure Aussie will beat England easily. And If you think Pak team is as good as Aussie, then why cant they ?

asif bhai......pakistan is sure in top 4 teams in the world...but don't forget their unpredictiblity and unability to cope with the pressure. khair England ke match mein itna pressure nahi hoga, however its a very important match for pak and it has to be won by big margin. but the match with India....I can't say anything about that. Pakistan is a better side than India by all means but when it comes to take that arch-rival intense pressure, they are the biggest looser. All 3 WC matches against India and the Final of the 99WC are the best example. There was no match of India's 99 team and Pakistan's roaring lions, but those lions are vulnerable to loose in those extremely intense condition. Inida has an upper hand in that area.

92 final was a different story....England didn't have enough water in their t..... to face our lethal attack.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

Sorry I missed this one. ehsan bhai one day you guys claim that Pak is the best team and at par with Australia (If not better) and next day you suggest me to consult a doctor for saying it will be an easy match for Pakistan. I am sure Aussie will beat England easily. And If you think Pak team is as good as Aussie, then why cant they ?

Asif bhai nowhere have i claimed that. In fact before the start of the world cup I said that this world cup is all about who comes second. Of course, I would like Pakistan to win it but Aussies are a class apart.

And chill bhai dont take everything so seriously. It was meant to be a light hearted remark. :)

*Originally posted by smooth_guy: * All 3 WC matches against India and the Final of the 99WC are the best example. There was no match of India's 99 team and Pakistan's roaring lions, but those lions are vulnerable to loose in those extremely intense condition. Inida has an upper hand in that area.

Smooth guy - First of all Give credit where it is due. Indian team of 1999 was as good as the paki team and it played well enough to beat them. Pakistan was not under any pressure in super six stage in 1999 because they just needed to win 1 (out of 3) to reach SF and they had to play Zimbabwe after India's game.

92 final was a different story....England didn't have enough water in their t..... to face our lethal attack.

Well, what can I say, you should consider yourself lucky that God was with your team on March 1st 1992. We had seen the water in the t.... of your batsmen.

A match in Old Traffled and Pak/Inda are playing…talking of no pressure :frusty: sahi jarahe ho bhai !!!

But mentally Indian players are much better than their Pakistani conterparts.

Ask Wasim Bhai - He says by nature we are meak log :hehe: