Pakistan vs England 4th ODI @ Rawalpindi

Re: Pakistan vs England 4th ODI @ Rawalpindi

**Trescothick seeks urgent response **](BBC SPORT | Cricket | England | Trescothick seeks urgent response)

Acting captain Marcus Trescothick admitted that England’s one-day form needs to improve urgently.

Having won the first match of the ODI series in Pakistan, England were easily beaten in the next two, equalling their worst ever defeat with a 165-run loss.

“We’ve not improved in the one-day game as much as Tests, it’s something we are trying to address,” Trescothick said.

“We’ve got to make sure we get on top of it quickly, because we are not that far away from major competitions.”

The key England opener, yet to fire in the series with scores of 13, 16 and 22, is hopeful that the tourists can win the remaining two matches to steal the series, despite the ascendancy being firmly with Pakistan at present.

“If we win the next two everyone will be cock-a-hoop, and all this will pretty much be forgotten,” the left-hander said.

England appeared jaded in the previous two matches, however, as they near the end of a disappointing tour in which they lost the Test series 2-0.

“I don’t know why we often seem to start off really well in series and then fall off at the end,” Trescothick said. “Maybe it is the mental side of the game, and how we approach individual matches or read the different situations.”

One factor that the captain would not be blaming is injuries, which have resulted in Michael Vaughan, Ashley Giles and Kevin Pietersen all flying home early. “You can’t always rely on having your same team fully fit all the way through,” Trescothick said. “You have to have the right replacements to come in and win you games. It’s not something you can use as an excuse.”

Latest news from Inzi (Geo) is that the team will remain unchanged for the rest of the series. This means Arafat will remain as the supersub. That's good news: Arafat is a bowler with the ability to bowl accurate yorkers and isn't afraid of using the short ball. His speed ranged from 85-92 mph so he isn't a "medium pacer" by any means. I hope we can get to see him with the bat too.

On a sidenote, I would like to see Akhtar rested if we clinch the series on Monday. He is looking a bit tired (still wearing the calf strapping) and it will be good for him to rest up for the Indian series. Great opportunity to see what Asif has got to offer.

Arafat can come in for Shoaib for the 5th one dayer if Pakistan wins the next one. He really impressed me on Thursday.

I missed Pakistan's bowling, I wish someone could put Yasir's bowling clips :D

England could be doing hundred things wrong and hundred things right but
Pakistan is on the roll! There always comes a time when several things start to go wrong and luck evades you despite all efforts.

The present team form is result of several experiments that were started few months back is now paying dividends. However this form can not sustain it self for ever but one can certainly prolong it ten fold with dedications, sacrifice and professionalism.
We the fans have equal responsibility and should speak our wows and standby our young players.

It is true that there are several hundred budding players knocking at the selection room’s door. It’s better for them to keep focused on the domestic level rather than
To waste their time into needless frusteration and selection pressure. If it can happen for them than there is no stopping.

Mashallah Pakistan is blessed with talents! :jhanda:

england r scared out of their wits :hehe: inshallah pak will take the series 4-1 :jhanda:

:jhanda: for the possible decider… :slight_smile:

Inzi said on GEO that the pitch is likely to take spin and therefore the supersub could very well be a spinner. Arshad again. Arghhhhh.!!! :rolleyes:

^ surprise surprise

Just heared Inzi on GEO and he thinks Pindi pitch is a little spin pitch so they might think of a spinner for super sub.

For Allah sake NO Arshad...plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

why do pakistan need another spinner for?..... they already have danish and afridi.....

On Woolmer's website someone asked why in the world Arshad is being used, because of him we have been unable to avail the supersub for the first 2 ODI's. The response was "the reasons are obvious to us and we are happy with how it is going".

So no surprises if we treated to another classic exhibition of deadly offspin brought to you by the unrecognized genius that is the 35 year old Arshad.

Harmison not playing? Man these guys are dropping like flies. But who can blame him :hehe:

They should send their England A team. I'm sure they would perform better.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

^ Considering the way Harmison has been bowling this series, this sudden "flu" is quite convenient.

Oye saab log sudhar jaao, yeh ODI ke thread menay kholi hai :rolleyes: and Pakistan must win :snooty: so:nono3: no one should get over confidence Okay, Inshalla with good team work they will win the game :dhimpak: :jhanda:

I’m ready ! Bring it on , :jhanda:

kitna time baqi hai? :rolleyes:

so who won the toss?

Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first