Pakistan Vs England - 1st Test

Saeed Anwar looks to be in great touch once again. 80 odd in the first game and then a brilliant 201. So thats very important since he will be the key to our batting in this series. Elahi played well for his 90 odd as well - but the others such as Mohammad Wasim, Younis Khan, Inzamam Ul Haq, and Yousef Youhana are yet to find touch during the warm up games so the middle order could be a worry once more. Looks like Saqlain may get the nod ahead of lil Mushy however Shoaib looks like missing out.

A bowling attach consisting of Wasim,Waqar,Razzaq, and Saqlain may be on the cards but I think Pakistan has to play five bowlers…meaning we should go for Wasim,Waqar,Sami,Mushtaq and Azhar Mahmood. Azhar is a better seam bowler than Razzaq and may be more effective.

Either way - I think it should be a great game..with Pakistan starting off as underdogs against the Poms after a very long time.

Believe In Angels.

Laterz,
ManiaX.

My team
Saeed
Elahi
Faisal Iqbal
Inzi
Youhana
Razak
Lateef
Saqi
Waqar
Waseem
Samie

This is not an exciting or best side that we can put out there … Afridi or Imran should be playing in place of Elahi .. the sixth batsman option is just a myth if five does not click than a sixth man would not do any good either … Lateef is not gonna produce with bat but his keeping will do, few held catches will tilt the game… Razak is not a match winner but he can be a stop gap batsman and a relive bowler .. Again if Ws Samie or Saqi wont get the job done then the other or fifth bowler wont do it either .. Azhar is a good choice but his recent bout with injuries and lack of performance does not make him a contender … Shoaib .. if it is General Sahib’s way then he would sleep with him .. but the guy is baron .. give it up . leave him for Rawalpindi streets so he can pick up his Gunda-Gardi where he was a little better and perfect fit.

Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go

Originally posted by Rooster-Blues:
**My team
Saeed
Elahi

Faisal Iqbal or Younis Khan
Inzi
Youhana
Razak
Lateef
Saqi
Waqar
Waseem
Samie

Shoaib .. if it is General Sahib’s way then he would sleep with him .. but the guy is baron .. give it up . leave him for Rawalpindi streets so he can pick up his Gunda-Gardi where he was a little better and perfect fit.

Razzaq is ok but Azhar has not showed some good bowling performance in the recent matches instead batted well scoring 80*
In place of M.Wasim Afridi should have been brought as Wasim can't score more than 25-35 in general.

Let's GO WASIM bowl the opening over huhuhuhhuuhhhuuuuuuu BOLD or Saeed have straight shot for a big SIX!!!!
hu huhuhuhuhhhuuuuuuuuuuCHAKAAAAA

England v Pakistan factbox before the first test starting at Lord's on Thursday:

Head-to-heads:

England have the upper hand since the teams' first meeting in 1954 but Pakistan have dominated recent exchanges.

Until losing at home to Nasser Hussain's team at the end of last year, they had won five successive series against the English, with seven test wins and only one defeat during that run. They have won their last three series in England.

Recent form:

A resurgent England team have won their last four test series, at home against Zimbabwe (1-0) and West Indies (3-1) and away to Pakistan (1-0) and Sri Lanka (2-1).

Pakistan had a mediocre 2000-01, losing to England and drawing 1-1 in New Zealand after being robbed of their best players though injury.

Key players:

Dominic Cork - the Derbyshire captain and all-rounder, refreshed after several months off with a back injury, loves this venue. He took seven for 43 on his 1995 debut and last year took four for 39 and three for 13 against West Indies before snatching victory from the jaws of defeat with 33 not out.

Waqar Younis - not only will he play a vital part in the game as an opening bowler, he also has a key role as captain. If he fails to unite his team behind him, England will fancy their chances.

Venue: Lord's - regarded as the home of cricket, housing the headquarters of the International Cricket Council as well as the England and Wales Cricket Board. Owned by the Marylebone Cricket Club, which was established in 1787.

England will launch their test series against Pakistan on Thursday with a concerted opening assault on both Waqar Younis's captaincy and his team's morale.

England may be the form team at Lord's but they are fully aware of Pakistan's ability to surprise, despite a shambolic run-up to the two-test series.

A good start by the tourists would not only give new skipper Waqar instant credibility but would also remind Pakistan of their reputation as the most naturally talented team in the world.

England captain Nasser Hussain said: ``If we can get into them early at Lord's, I think it will plant a few seeds of doubt.

``If we don't, they'll start getting behind Waqar and start playing some good cricket.''

Waqar, meanwhile, knows he will be under the spotlight.

I'm trying to take it lightly,'' he said.But there's lots of pressure in being captain.''

Pakistan, realistically, have no right to pose a challenge as they seek their fourth series win in a row in England.

They lost their home series to Hussain and Co. at the end of last year, before sacking coach Javed Miandad and captain Moin Khan.

Many of their top players were sidelined with injury, while strike bowler Shoaib Akhtar also had to remodel his action after being reported for the second time in his turbulent career.

Their tour party was then expanded from 16 players to 17 amid media reports that Waqar, prolonging a two-year feud with Wasim Akram, had tried and failed to bar the former captain from the squad.

To top all that, Pakistan arrived in England without a coach. Richard Pybus had to catch up with them after being offered a short-term contract at the last minute.

As England opener Michael Atherton once said, however, the only predictable thing about Pakistan is their unpredictability.

Theirs is a team packed full of match-winners. Wasim is the only player in the world with 400 wickets in both tests and one-dayers, Waqar has 319 test wickets and was the key bowler when Pakistan won in England in 1992 and 1996.

Inzamam-ul-Haq, meanwhile, has scored centuries in his last six series during which he has only once averaged under 50, while Shoaib, pre-remodelling, was considered the quickest bowler in the world.

Saeed Anwar is among the best opening batsmen in the world, Abdur Razzaq among the best all-rounders. And then there are Saqlain Mushtaq and Mushtaq Ahmed, two spinners who would walk into the England team.

With Shoaib struggling for fitness and 20-year-old pace bowler Mohammad Sami hampered by a shin problem, both could play on Thursday.

Two spinners are possible,'' said Waqar.We have not made up our minds yet on the bowling combinations.''

England, meanwhile, adding up to more than their individual parts under coach Duncan Fletcher, look certain to go into the game with seven specialist batsmen -- one of them 28-year-old debutant Ian Ward -- and four seamers.

That would leave off-spinner Colin Croft on the sidelines.

The only real question mark hangs over all-rounder Craig White. A key man in England's four consecutive series victories, he has a stiff back and faces a final fitness test on Wednesday after missing bowling sessions on both previous days.

If he is ruled out, England could start with a second uncapped player, left-arm seamer Ryan Sidebottom.

History offers mixed messages on the likely Lord's outcome.

Last year, England won both tests there, beating Zimbabwe by an innings and 209 runs -- seamer Ed Giddins taking five for 15 in the first innings and Darren Gough and Andy Caddick taking four each in the second -- and beating West Indies thanks to a fine all-round performance by Dominic Cork.

Pakistan, however, won the 1992 fixture, thanks to Wasim Akram's four for 66 and 45 not out on the final day, and in 1996, with Inzamam scoring 148 and Waqar taking eight wickets.

So, predictably, anything could happen.

Heh heh heh I’m going to Lord’s to watch the 1st test on Saturday…

Okay, i went to the test and got so depressed at about 4pm after Inzamam’s wicket fell that I got up and left…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

The result of the first inning is England 392/10 and terrible start by the Pakistanis as 4 quick wickets fell down. Then after that Yousuf Youhana and Younis Khan settled down a liitle bit and took the score to 115/4, with Younis Khan with 32 for 41 balls and Youhana with 23 runs.
The match stopped 15 minutes before their regular time because of the bad lightning.

Thank you, come again

can Pakistan save the follow on.

Originally posted by ehsan:

definitely, i feel. younis khan will have a half century.

Originally posted by ehsan:

It's not looking good at all. They have just lost another wicket ( Yousaf Youhana ).

120-5

ok to avoid the follow on, they need another 122 runs.... well 118 cus Azhar Mahmood has just hit a 4.

[This message has been edited by Kajoor (edited May 20, 2001).]

203 all out.

we follow on

boy it hurts bad style.

Saeed Anwar's dismisalls during the last one year remind me of a buddy of mine who was an identical off stump bunny. It seems that anyone who can pitch the ball just a touch outside off stump on a good length or just short of a good length can easily get Anwar caught behind by the keeper and slips. You would have thought a player of his calibre would know that the bowlers would keep plugging away at that line and he needs to adjust his game but no...Anwar it seems will never learn.

Same goes for Inzy. His lack of concentration and casual approach may look nice when he plays against Sri Lanka or India but when the opposition gets tougher...Inzy looks pretty ordinary.

Just a pathetic performance by Pakistan.
Its really disappointing !

Wasim Akram needs to go...Pakistan HAS to play Mushtaq Ahmed AND Saqlain Mushtaq in the next game...Shoaib is trying his best but he is still unfit and thats why I think he should be left out. Both the allrounders Azhar and Razzaq have bowled and batted very well and should stay in the side.

The only player who looked good was Younis Khan - even though the Umpire was blind when he gave him out in the 2nd innings.

Elahi is another Wasti in the making...so it should be bye bye Elahi and in comes Imran Farhat. Yousef Youhana is the best player in the team so I think Vicky should stick with him....

I would drop Anwar and Inzy too - just to shake them up but no one has the balls to do so...so lets hope Pybus does his job and makes the two of them watch some of their dismisalls on video...if they have any common sense....maybe they`ll learn...who knows.

I doubt it though.

[This message has been edited by ManiaX (edited May 20, 2001).]

in both da innings da opener gave us a very good start leaving da wickets before scoring a double fig.
Afridi would have been a better one to play a few shots.

DISASTER AND PATHETIC - TWO WORDS TO DESCRIBE THE INEPT PERFORMANCE OF THE PAKISTANI TEAM. ENGLAND HAS NOT WON IT WE HAVE LOST IT.

pakistani teams depends a lot on saeed and as always he lets them down saeed should be allowed to play in asia bec in australia or england he cant even get to his 50 imran nazir n shahid afridi are better openers we should have had a spinner in the team both of them are the best in the world n not even one is playing that was the stupidst decision by the captain

You gotta admit - those catches by Graham Thorpe were something which were straight out of the textbooks. Classic stuff.

I'm worried about Inzamam - he has got the ability to tap away a boundary but he just can't manoeuvre himself to to hook the ball away. On a good day he can pull the ball but his talent only lies in straight shots. Plus he commits himself too early with his shots -he only takes the line into account before deciding.

Saeed has also got to learn to adapt - he gets preyed on his weaknesses too many times, more often than not, he has to take the walk.

Razzaq, Younis Khan, Mahmood, Youhana - I do like these guys. They can hold their own game.

Congratulations to Gough and Caddick. They played well. Cork tries too hard occasionally though. It doesn't help his game.

They shoot partypoopers, don't they?

[This message has been edited by Mr Partypooper (edited May 20, 2001).]

well Pakistan a disadtorous performance by the batsmen, well the bowling wasnt also that great as they were not aware that they were bowling in england n keeeepin the ball too short rather then then keeepin it a little full and in the let the seam do the work, they were totally unlike the English bowlers, who got 20 out 15 wickets caught behind!

umm i guess the batting has to be looked upon or otherwise the second test and the the triangular tournament will be a disaster tooo.....

so hope for the best

~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!!

there r 17 replies to this one n there r 17 players in da squad u got my idea.
just everyone of us shall kill one player n da whole team will be finished n then there will be no stuff to bother of n no other be izzati for pakistan.
i will qatal shoaib akhter

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

Can I kill Tauqir Zia? since Iam the 18th!

Thank you, come again

Umair, if you do that you will have to face the wrath of uncle Musharraf, and that could be as daunting a task as Pakistan team trying to bat one whole day. so beware