Pakistan vs England, 1st Test, Multan

Re: Pakistan vs England, 1st Test, Multan

Reasonable fightback by Pak batsmen, still not enough. Yunus Khan batted well for his 48 but went out ona stupid shot. Butt is ina good nick, hopefully will get a century tomorrow. Pakistan needs to build a sizable lead and then make sure they bat out enough time which doesnt give england the chance to go for a win. Difficult prospects but achievable.

Boys fought back well. We need a lead of 200+, with Danish bowling last on this increasingly helpful wicket.

Insha-Allah.

Well the big score has to come from Butt, but whether he is capable of such long periods of concentration remains to be seen. Another doubt is Yousuf, how bad is his shoulder and how does it affect his ability to bat? Hopefully if Yousuf and Butt can get a big partnership, platform is set for Inzi.

Regardless of individuals, what is clear is that Pakistan will have to bat all day tomorrow.

Insha-Allah khair.

Mashallah … what a comeback other than Younus Khan Pathan’s wicket …ullu ka charkha 2-3 overs aur khail laita tu kia Piaz-Roti kharab ho jatee? :smash:

Inshallah Pakistan will take 350 runs lead :jhanda:

19 runs behind and already lost 2 wickets :frowning:

on a brighter side, when I went to sleep Tresco and Freddie were spanking our bowlers like crazy and I thought that when I wake up in the morning I’ll see Eng score in 500+ but :alhamd: they were removed for team total of 418!

Good bowling by Shabbira :k: Sami still needs to learn to use those “massive swingers” to get wickets otherwise he will become a “swinger” himself :o, good bowling by Shoaib as well :k:

Malikay :mad: and Younis :bash: had to lose wicket just when only 1 over was left for the day.

I hope (really) that Salman, Inzamam, Hasan and Kamran can putup some decent score :insha:

well in this innings it is crucial that all our batsmen contribute because playing with 6 batsmen in the test will be needed now as we need to put up a big score!

Inzi needs to come in next. He needs to move himself up the order, atleast to a number 3 position. He's coming way down the order, and he gets to bat with the tailenders which is no good.

If Pakistan can get a lead of 200, they will win. Anything under 150 and it's 0-1.

I predict Pakistan will be all-out for 210 giving England an easy routing of 67 runs.

This is test time for all the mental toughness Chaacha Bob keeps yapping about. If Pakistan can turn the tide from this position and win the match or at least give a target of 200...then Chaacha got his namak halaal'ed.

They have to play session by session. We can only afford to lose sami by lunch, although it would be better if he can stay. He has the batting talent to stay and give support to butt. Pakistan has to bat the whole day that means atleast one big knock and useful contributions from the other recongnized batsmen. If they can survive the whole day, I guess score will be around 400. Only than they will be in a position to not only save the match but also challenge england.

Overall impressive fight back by Pakistan:k:

Good comeback but still not enough. I agree Pakistan must bat whole day tomorrow, inshallah. Lead of 200-250+ will be good enough. Ya Allah khair.

• Dil ko behlaane ke liyee Ghalib, …*

If we bat all day today we will score at most 300 runs, even that is pushing it. I am guessing around 260ish. The point is not scoring too many runs the point is surviving today. If we survive today that means not only we will have runs to play with but also that it would give England that much less time to get those runs. They would have to play fast to get there and may loose wickets in the process and get under pressure. If not they will try to defend to play for a draw which will enable us to go for all out attack. In any case we HAVE to survive today. Even if we score 250 and loose like 5-6 wickets we would be in a good position to declare or be all out around lunch the next day.

Dil kay behlaane kay liye Ghalibyeh khyal aacha hai.

Desperate situation calls for desperate solutions. :smiley:

We will need someone to do what Razzaq and Akmal did in India. bauhat hee kathan samasya hai.:crying:

Yousaf has been horribly out of form latley, hasnt played a long innings in a while. Younis is already gone so the only other options would be Salman Butt to carry on, Inzamam and Hasan Raza. This is a golden oppurtunity for Raza to cement his place in the side. They are all capable of doing it, it's a matter of who will stand upto the English bowling. Of course we have Akmal himself who surprised us last time in India. So there is some batting to come still, let's hope they play their part.

DRAW is out of question.

I think the game is very evenly poised at this moment. If Pak manages to get a score aorund 350....the match will get very interesting. A target score of >200 in the 4th innings for England could mean that the match could go either way.

At this point I will place a 3-2 odd in favor of England to win.

We need some1 like Asim kamal.

I would agree that although the game is kinda evenly poised with England having a slight advantage mostly cause of Younis's wicket that fell late yesterday but I think time is of essense here. Having a lead of 200 wont prove enough if Pakistan get all out by tea today. We need to survive today under all circumstances. If we survive today the lead would be around 200 anyway but more importantly England would have much less time to get it. Ideally Pakistan will have to bat till about lunch or a little before that tomorrow morning to secure our position and then go hard at them. I highly doubt that would happen though so for now I am hoping they survive today. there are 8 wickets in hand, I dont know how long Sami will survive but we have 3 more specialist batsmen plus a keeper who has shown he can bat. Man do we miss Razzaq. His importance is not noticed when he is around only if he is not there.

i want to see the plan pakistan has, will they tell sami to play his hand ala shahid nazir in the tour game even though we were chasing a target at that time, i just hate it when tailenders try to block and cant but give their wicket away! maybe a counter attack can shift some momentum! lets see what happens!