Pakistan vs England, 1st Test, Multan

Re: Pakistan vs England, 1st Test, Multan

all three quickies lacked match practice as pointed out by the commentators. they seemed to have forgotten how to bowl to lefties. my question is why the hell dint our board play these bowlers in the practice match. What was the point of playing arafat, asif.... if they werent going to be included in the test.

Khan Sahib I agree with you, the fault with is with everyone except Shoaib. I wonder why people did not have the same problem with Akram, waqar and Imran, but than compared to shoaib they were just mediocre bowlers and people had no expectation of them.

I just hope he delivers during the test series. I really do.

This is what happens when the idiots at PCB Selection give preference to parchi holders.

Same here Ehsan bhai I really hope shoaib can pick atleast 15 wickets in this match since 20 is not possible anymore. Didn’t use the word deliver since it has totally different meaning when we talk about shoaib. People don’t care how he bowls. They only want him to take wickets otherwise to them he is not delivering.
Yes people had no such problems with imran, wasim or waqar since they had no attitude problem like shoaib. People have problem with shoaib’ attitude and there is nothing wrong with it but than they take it to such an extreme where they start criticizing him on each and every ball while ignoring the performace of others. It has happened in the past and will continue to happen in the future unless people start realizing that yes there is problem with shoaib attitude but there is some thing wrong with our attitude as well.

P.S. Shoaib has a long way to go to achieve the stature of imran wasim and waqar and I doubt he will. They were greats and people should come out of dream land and their fantasies and stop comparing shoaib with them only than they will be able to appreciate and realize that he is not the all time best but yes he is best among the current lot.

Insha’allah. Preferrably starting tomorrow morning.

Khan Sahib there is nothing wrong with the problem people have with Shoaib. It is frustration, because like me they realise that he is capable of delivering much more than he does and if only he concentrated on cricket and put the team and his country above himself he could accomplish much more than what he is doing currently. It is this frustration which lead people to criticize him. If he gave it all he is got and did not get results people would not criticize, but it is the feeling (rightly or wrongly) that somehow he is not 100% committed to the team which creates problem. Anyway I dont want to start another shoaib discussion so I will let the matter rest and as I said I hope he delivers.

I think, I've had enough with Sami. He used to be an excellent bowler but for last couple of year he has lost it all. I blame Shoaib Aktar for that. :-)
Anyway, if he doesn't perform, kick his ass out of team.

Yes Ehsan bhai there is a problem. The problem is that people single him out when criticising the teams performance. Shoaib was not at his best yesterday but didn’t perform badly as well. But still there is no heated discussion about the battng failures which lead us to this potentially miserable point nor did anyone discussed the highly uninspirational captaincy by inzi. I heard Manjeraker saying that sami is capable of delivering and alot has been said about him and his abilities in the last couple of years, it is about time that he should start to deliver.
People should criticize players but they should not be bias when doing so.
I also dont want to start another shoaib discussion so lets pray and hope that for the betterment of our team, our players will deliver in next 3 days (inshallah).

^ Much as I would like Pakistan to win this match we sadly are heading towards an innings defeat as things stand. I cant see this lot batting for 2 plus days to save the match or put up 600 plus in order to trouble England for the second time. Sorry but true state of affairs. :(

The only hope is to restrict them somehow to 400 and and then batting sensible to give them a target of 200-250. Hopefully by than the pitch will have something for kaneria and malik.
Anyway, enjoyed the discussion with you as always:k:

This is very hard now… they need a miracle…
the way the are bowling and the way trescothik is batting and more to come (Flintoff, etc) its gonnna be very hard. Shoaib has lost his touch and will need time to get back to wicket taking mode.

I agree with fkhan2, we do need to restrict them under 400 and then bat well.
Yousuf, Raza, and Malik need to concentrate on getting runs… they way they got out was pathetic… I was so mad. Look at Raza, pushing a yorker towards covers. :mad:

Butt and Inzi need to bat well again to save the defeat…

game kay bachchay tou baaz nahi aayega :smiley: Let me add some spice.

Now since Shoaib has been forced into mouth constipation by PCB, his die-hard fans are doing the job for him. Match the last year’s Akhtar’s statement regarding 7 Aussie batsmen…and him being the only bowler to get them out (which sounded like Danesh and rest of the 10 players were doing nothing) and game’s superb classic attack on pie throwers. The reality is they all failed to impress.

In one line : Our Shoaib is becoming Jaheer Bhai :elmo: The most senior, who impresses with his spells…but just impresses…NO WICKETS :rotfl:

On a series note, I hope Akhtar and Danesh will kill pomis in first three hours this morning.

*:rotfl: at Zaheer’s reference! We really need some good bowling today. I really wouldn’t care even if Sami takes 7 wickets and slaps me straight! I need to see a fight today.

On a side note, anyone supporting Sami and saying that Shoaib did not take any wickets but he did, go watch the match instead of looking at petty statistics on cricinfo. Sami bowled some of the most meethay pies you will ever see! We should all be used to it by now though. He is a very “talunted cricter”, he will come good some day :rotfl:.*

hmmm.. I am furious at the team selection. Even though I knew they would play these 3 seamers, but I ask why? Sami has been injured, same with shabbir. Shoaib has been totally out of form and out of action. So who decides that these guys should play because they were in the team before they got injured/kicked out?? Just cos they were in the team before??? no tests?? no trials??? shouldnt you be playing your best 11 players on that day in terms on form and the recent performances?? shouldnt it be strictly merit??

They have all been totally out of action and are strictly out of practice. Why is a gem like Rana sitting outside after great performances for Pakistan and for his county??? Even the conditions wouldv suited him more than any of the other three seamers... He's great with both new and the old ball, has a much better line and length than sami or shoaib.... and whats the deal with shabbir??? he used to bowl in the mid 140's, hes now bowling at an awesome 115 km/h!!! fine ur a line and length bowler, but who told him to bowl THAT slow on an already dead wicket???

:rolleyes: Well said KaKa ^^
I am sure you know the website? www.bobwoolmer.com :stuck_out_tongue:

He is not bending his arm anymore..

Hainnnnn??? Yeah smoothie cricinfo dekh karr hamesha bolta tha? Shak tu hota tha kay yeah anand vasu fan hay koi:D
And I was always wasting my time arguing with him:D

Shoaib bowled well (relatively) and was unlucky not to get a wicket. But I do miss the days when he used to steam in and turn test matches around with a single spell. Sami was totally out of it, his career is on the line now, Pakistan has a LOT of fast bowling reserves which they will pressured to use if the current lot don't perform. Shabbir looked like he was recovering from a hangover.

Sadly I will have to agree with Ehsan bhai, this thing is headed towards an innings defeat unless something of Mohali like proportion happens. Unlike in India, the current lot's body language is not terribly encouraging either.

What you guys think the match depends on this day 3 or we lost the game already? I doubt our bowlers can do anything, I am very disappointed by the bowlers.

No need to be disappointed. Look at the bright side. This is the 3rd day, England managed to score only 253 runs in their time yesterday. It has not been easy sailing for either side because of some good bowling and a very slow track. If Pakistan manages to limit England lead, then there is a bright chance we may be abke to draw this match.