Pakistan vs England, 1st Test, Multan

Re: Pakistan vs England, 1st Test, Multan

Bhayeee, replacement of Asim… give me a break..

I really dont think that Asim played so miserable in the past that we need his replacement so early.. I believe if Younis Khan can be in the team for 5 odd years now, then Asim Kamal should be kept as well.. Younis khan only shined recently.. but Kamal showed his act already on a number of situations.

^ Yaar I dont wanna start all taht younis discsussion again but Younis still had many hundred before his recent purple patch.

Heck yea, Younis scored a century on debut, Kamal came close to it but didnt quite do it.

Damn you’re good and those fools are going to fight it out for 4 more days while we now already know what’s gonna happen. Only if test cricekt was so simple, we wouldnt evne need to play the series just dial “Peer Syed Sahib” and he would let us know the result we give the winning captain the trophy and watch Jay Leno instead of test match cricket.

I said "I sort of feel", not "this is what will definitely happen".

I gotta say all the mystery of the pitch should be laid to rest, it had swing, spin, variable bounce which was good to see. (usual in Pakistani pitches) I kinda like this pitch, I hope Pakistan fast bowlers make the most of it. We are going to certainly miss Rana Naveed's banana outswinger's/!!!

Day one : England team seems to be in high spirits after having a slight advantage over Pakistan at close of play.

There is NO sign of whinging and whining from England camp (the great old English tradition), I guess they have not experienced upset tummies and bum rashes as yet .... any ideas !!!!

Bhaijan Where did I say that there was a need of replacing asim kamal???
I have been saying since the beginning that asim kamal is the ONLY player in the current lineup with a true test match temperament and its a totally different discussion that why he is not in the current lineup.
I was arguing when people said that hasan is in the side replacing afridi. I think hasan is in the side competing with asim kamal and right now has taken his place.
Afridi was replaced in order to accomodate malik in the side.

oh hello? were we watchign the same match? The pitch was as placid as it gets. No swing whatsoever. It as in entirely different nature than the one Engalnd faced in warm up matches and it is typical pakistani pitch.

Yaar Saby bhai… plz dont compare the Pakistan A match pitch with the first test match pitch plzzzz,

and Yes we were watching the same match, didnt you see outswingers by M. Hoggard, one of which got K. Akmal before the end of the 1st days play.

Did Pakistani players played badly/ give away the wickets maybe? is this an only 300 run wickets, Certainly not!

and the wicket is not that placid at all as we all thought, didnt you see late seam and swing movement, which got Younis khan, good dipping yorkers which got M. Yousef and H. Raza, yes you can say both were lazy but those were good balls to get out on.

Bhaijan It was the same pitch which most of us were expecting, yes DEAD for the first couple of days and than probably assisting kaneria by day 4 and 5.
Whoever watched that report of Multan pitch which was shown on GEO and was thinking that its going to be a green top was living in the fools paradise. C’mon we have seen enough cricket to atleast predict what will be the pitch like in the initial test matches in Pakistan. They never had the balls to make a bowler friendly pitch during the days of 2 W’s.
Now thats the different story that how our players always can manage to make a batting friendly pitch into a bowler friendly one:D

if Asim is not performing in recent matches, side matches and there is new kid who is performing in domestic and side match it was natural for our selection committee to give the young gun a chance, otherwise there is no point of having domestic cricket matches.

I was really surprised at the inclusion of Shabbir over Rana since the latter can also bat and get runs on the board for us. Now only Shoaib Akhtar in the tail end can offer some batting and support Inzi at the crease. The crucial wicket was Akmal’s, for he had survived he and Inzi could have gelled into a good partnership.

I’d be satisfied if we made it to 300 or so. It at least gives the bowlers something go to at when England bat. Good luck boys :jhanda:

Dont tell me that you are comparing rana and shabbir on the basis of their batting skills and giving no consideration to their bowling. Bhaijan there primary job is to bowl and not bat. And when it comes to bowling shabbir is a better test bowler.

^ Rana hasn't been given a proper chance at Test matches yet. Shabbir's stats are based on his old action while his new bowling action is yet to be proved. Rana's fighting spirit, with both bat and ball always wins with me :)

2nd day begins... Freddi continues his over from yesterday

sami gone

Sami gone as well, Pakistan now 244/7 :(

i am surprised inzi exposed him for a whole over

i think tail enders should just slog, otherwise its just an exercise of waiting for that edge, I don't think any of them have the ability to offer any support to inzi