Pakistan Vs. England 1st ODI

Re: Pakistan Vs. England 1st ODI

Trescothick: ‘We’ve got to pick ourselves up’

Marcus Trescothick, England’s stand-in captain, insisted that his team would not be dwelling on their 2-0 defeat in the Test series, and were seeking to bounce back instantly in the five-match one-day series which gets underway at the Gadaffi Stadium on December 10.

Trescothick, who will lead the side in their one warm-up fixture at Bagh-e-Jinnah on Wednesday, could yet be in charge for the entire series, if Michael Vaughan’s knee injury prevents him from returning from England. But he insisted that he was not thinking that far ahead just yet. “Michael’s gone back to see the specialist and we’ll judge it from there,” he said. “I’m not going to suddenly make myself captain in the next couple of days. If and when I get told bad news, then I’ll look at it and get my plans in place.”

The immediate priority, he stressed, was for the team as a unit to bounce back from their failings of the past three weeks. “It was very disappointing to lose,” said Trescothick, “but our team spirit goes deeper than just one loss. We can pick ourselves up very quickly. We’ll take a few days off and have a wind-down, then get straight back into it.”

England’s record in overseas tournaments is staggeringly poor. Aside from victories over Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, they have not won a one-day series of note since Adam Hollioake’s men triumphed in Sharjah in 1997-98. And, with the 2007 World Cup looming large, Trescothick recognised that the time for rectifying that record was now.

“We’re always looking to win one-day competitions,” he said. "We’ve got 18 months until the World Cup and the base of our team is in place. These will be similar conditions to the West Indies, with generally flat and slow wickets, so we’ve got to perform and play well, especially because we missed out on the Tests.

“Pakistan are a good side,” he added. “They’ve got a lot of experience, and they are playing at home as well. We can beat them if we play well, but we’ve got to pick ourselves up after the last couple of weeks and perform on the pitch.”

That may be easier said than done, especially given the crushing disappointment about the manner in which their run of six consecutive Test series wins came to an end. “If we were going into this just having won the series we’d be cock-a-hoop without a doubt,” said Trescothick. “But it’s up to us to change it here. We can’t just let the game go just because they’ve won the Test series. We’ll be going into the first game on the 10th expecting to win it, and if we play well enough we will.”

In a departure from previous tours, the one-day quad, by and large, is the same as the Test squad, with only Matthew Hoggard and Vaughan missing from the team that played at Lahore. Vikram Solanki, Ian Blackwell and Kabir Ali have flown out as an injection of new blood, and Trescothick believed that the similarities between the two squads would be beneficial in the long run.
“The ideal situation is to keep a unit together,” he said. “We want to keep the best players involved in both forms of the game, because that makes a lot of difference. Take the Ashes for example, we only changed one player all summer, and I think that’ll be the way to go. Most of the best teams now have that situation, where players can adapt and are good enough to perform in both games.”

Even so, with a massive winter approaching in 2006-07, starting with the Ashes and culminating in the World Cup, such a policy could equally prove detrimental to the team’s fortunes. Andrew Flintoff, who appeared so drained in the final Test, seems likely to sit out Wednesday’s warm-up match at Bagh-e-Jinnah, along with Steve Harmison, but Trescothick insisted they would both have to play a full part in the five international matches.

“Of course it’s very demanding,” said Trescothick. “We need time off before big competitions, and I think there is definitely a case in the future for the odd person to be rested for a game at a time. But first we have to make sure we are winning games and tournaments consistently because, at end of the day, that is the most important thing.”

As if the problems of player fatigue were not enough, England will also have to get their heads around the new ICC regulations involving Powerplays and Supersubs, and Trescothick admitted it was not something he was much looking forward to.

“Trying to pick the right time for the Powerplay is a side of the captaincy that will be tough,” he admitted. “It’s not the same as in England, you can’t just bank on playing the first 20 overs straight through. It’s going to be totally different, and whoever’s captain is going to have to work out the timings and take a punt on when they use their blocks of five overs. It’s something for us to discuss as a group and hopefully get it right.”

Five years ago, England’s one-day series was memorable for a plague of flies at Lahore and riots at Rawalpindi that necessitated the use of tear gas. But Trescothick was able to laugh at the memories, and didn’t rule out the likelihood of a repeat performance. “It’s always good fun out here,” he said. “The crowd enjoys what goes on and generally you get a full house which is good. It all adds to the fun of the fair and it’s what you’d expect in this part of the world.”

Ultimately, though, England’s one-day series offers a final opportunity for England to finish a memorable year on a high note, and Trescothick recognised that fact. “We all know how important the summer was, and it was a great victory,” he said. “But we also wanted to sustain our run of unbeaten series wins, and we’ve given that away now. So it’s important we stay positive at least, and make sure nothing wrong with our team morale. At the end of the day they outplayed us, so we’ve just got to make sure we try to win.”

Michael Vaughan is out of the ODI series.

^^ aaaaaaaaaah dar gayaa :D. saree injury abhii yaad aain gee.

This is a another setback for England, specially after their key bowler and ace spinner **GILES, **is out of the squad :D.

That sucks big time since the match would be ending around 8am in the morning here in US (central time). And after 1 hour I have to be at work. The good thing about test matches was that they were ending around 5:15am and I was getting 3 hours sleep.
Can some one die because of lack of sleep? Because I think these Pakistani homes games are going to kill me one day:(

^ not realy ! But still its a heart ache :elmo:

Damn ATN putting the damn series on PPV instead of CBN. :mad: discremination against Paki fans.

Gosh that’s why i love to live in Europe :smiley:

U don’t miss any match if u know a trick or two (regardless of the TV Channel) :biggthumb

bhut acha hoa:dhimpak:
tum canadians hamesha muftay mein match dekhtay thay. Tum logo ko bhee mallom hona chahiey kay DISH PPV jub hum US walo ko loot ta hay tu humaray dil aur jaib par kaisee guzartee hay :stuck_out_tongue:

^ we are still watchin matches plus everything else for free fyi :D

I didn’t mean other PPV events or sports. I was only talking about cricket (specially Pakistani matches).

Ghareeb log:p

At least there will be a break of 2-3 days between ODIs so it won’t matter.

yeh kis kisam ka schedule hai bhai ??? 3rd ODI 3 dafa khaila ja raha hai? waaaa rayyyy !! :smiley:

I pointed it out in time, but for some reason the EDIT button aint appearing. I need to check with the Admins.

^ EDIT button disappears after 24 hours.

Thank God All the matches are D/N, Warna staying up all night was a Nightmare, atleast with the D/N matches I can wake up at maybe 3 or 4 am and watch the remaining overs.

Its good razzaq is back, and i am sure he will be in his tremendous form. but i am just wondering about the top order batsmans performance. As fear of afridi bat on the pitch is not available.

I think Pakistan will win the one day series 3-2!
But i dont think Razzak should be included (well he should only until Afridi returns)

^^ :hoonh: do you know who Razzaq is, please no comparison b/w Razzy and Afridi both are asset and compliement each other well, and add Shoaib Malik to the mix the trio create heck of problems for the other teams :stuck_out_tongue:

So what will our lineup be? It's a pretty solid lineup right now

Pakistan (probable)
1 Salman Butt
2 Kamran Akmal (wk)
3 Shoaib Malik
4 Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt)
5 Mohammad Yousuf
6 Younis Khan
7 Abdul Razzaq
8 Rana Naved-ul-Hasan
9 Shoaib Akhtar
10 Mohammad Sami
11 Danish Kaneria
Supersub Yasir Arafat

Who makes room for Afridi when he returns? Razzaq? But I like having his fast bowling flexibility and his explosiveness can turn a match. Would Akmal move down the order for him so Shahid can open? I would love it if Younis Khan could become a better one down option, he's a devastating player and the future. This lineup can give you fits with its flexibility, what a nice splattering of power hitting, dependability, all-rounders and lethal spin and speed!

Shoaib Malik isn’t playing in the first game, so Yasir Hameed will be taking his place. I think Kaneria will be the super sub and Arafat might be in the playing eleven, since Kaneria’s batting/fielding is hardly ODI standards. Once Afridi is comes back, Arafat would have to make way.

^ Why do you say that Malik will not play. The last I heard he was playing even after his dash from Australia.

http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/051209/2/fgio.html