Pakistan Victory over India - after match discuzion

If pakistani Fans can convince themselfes that Afrid is just a bowler who can bat then they will do lots of favour to themselves,Afridi and Pakistani team. Even after counting him as bowler you still have 7 batsmen. I think he bats damn well for a number 9 guy.

I agree - mitti paao... as long as we win :)

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
If pakistani Fans can convince themselfes that Afrid is just a bowler who can bat then they will do lots of favour to themselves,Afridi and Pakistani team. Even after counting him as bowler you still have 7 batsmen. I think he bats damn well for a number 9 guy.

Yep. At least I believe that. He has developed into quite a useful oneday bowler, his recent records shows that. His batting is an additional bonus for now.

Very interesting discussion guys, i'm impressed with your knowledge and analysis of cricket. There is no doubt that Pakistan doesn't win the game yesterday without Afridi. That being said, we have been saying for years that he needs to build his innings. The point is, if all of this is obvious to all of us arm chair captains, don't you think it's obvious to our management? I think it is but they insist on using him as a slogger. Look at Shoaib Akhtar. He was hyped by our management as the next world's fasters bowler and he tried his best to live up to that, injuring himself and giving up way too many runs in the process. Now he is our first change bowler and was quite effective. It's all about knowing your role. I cannot tell how miscast Afridi is at one down. That is the backbone of your team. He's also ill-suited to open since he blasts away but doesn't build the innings, thus always causing your team to play catch up. He is extremely effective in the middle order, as a poor man's Abdul Razzaq.

His two sixes will not be as big as Miandad's one six but make no mistake, that won the game for Pakistan and may be our coming of age victory. We could lay an egg against the Windies but I wouldn't count on it. Kudos to Woolmer for shedding the dust off a marvelous talent like Afridi, who, for all his critics, has single handedly won two matches for Pakistan against India this year (yesterday's match and game two against India in Pakistan).

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
And I think that is what Bob Woolmer told Afridi. The common wisdom here with our arm-chair critics is that Afridi should use more head and stick around and play a long productive innings. Woolmer's thinking is that Afridi can not be curbed, so might as well turn the lemon into lemonade. He probably asked Afridi to go out there and blast the bowlers all over and get the NRR to below 3.5.
Guys, you heard it here first! :)

Just now, Bob Woolmer put this on his website

Shahid Afrid's innings ceratinly made it easier for us to get to the total and although his end was not great he did exactly the job expected of him.

*Originally posted by lyallpur larka: *
elahi the same thing happened to me... i turned on the tv and were were 14-2... maybe we were watching the game at the same palce? hats off to yoyo who has always been a match winner, it was great to see him fighting espeically at the end with all the cramping... reminded me of asim kamal during the india tests although that was a losing effort.... rana bowled his heart out... it seems like rana and sami are actually dangerous bowling together but whenever the two S's are in tandem they cant really do anything... brining shoaib first change was a good move but he was brought in too late... should have came in earlier and finished off india.... cant wait for the semi's and then Inshallah the final at Lords

hmm,, Lyallpur sahib, perhaps you did watch the game with me. I watched in South Duggan, but the only guy I did'nt know there was an Indian guy named Moe shomething... Said he worked for G.She.S, I don't know could that be you?
Yeah the semifinal will be a blast, it will be great to have a low tension game for once since we won't be playing India....
I dont't know why the hell you guys are talking about kicking out Afridi or whatever, he clearly won us the game.
But then again, a week ago people here were arguing to kick Youhana and Shaoib off the team :) ... so whatever

no, it is not the matter of being impressed or not...what my views are that pakistan (at the moment) is not the best team in the world...they do not have class players (plz dont tell me that hameed, farhat, malik or afridi are class players)...they are good but not the best....so if our attitude is that this is the best we have, so we have to continue with them, is WRONG....we need to look for replacements...opening slot has always been a problem for us (since the days of sohail and anwar)...

now, let me ask u a question...if afridi got out on 2 runs (in an attempt to hit a sixer), what would have ur reaction been??? give an honest reply..or better still, if rana naveed, sami and shoaib akhter failed to perform after afridi's dismissal...i can guarantee that u would be one of the first to raise the finger on him...

as for malik...i never said that he is not good...he is a very talented batsman, but he is just not good for no. 3 position...its expereince that wins u matches...ask any captain in the world...he will tell u that no. 3 position is the most important position in any cricket team...we need the expereince of inzi or yohanna there...inzi has played a lot on this position, so why is he hesitant now to go one-down?? why place this big burden on youngsters, who are not able to handle pressure very well...

*Originally posted by saby: *

Seems like you are seldom impressed with anything. When Australians attack even till the end, we call them genius or what not but when Afridi does that (with his limited abilities) we call him moron and mindless etc? I suggest you seriuosly need to consider your thoughts on the question you presented yourself. Malik failed in one or two games and you are suggesting hasty decisions. Remember, Youhana spent a good one year or two at number three slot before he moved again down the order. Inzimam never fancied it and finally Shoaib Malik scored some good runs for us at this position and after his two failures, you suggest a tried change again.

I dont like the way Afridi slogs all the time or plays premediated strokes but i am a huge admirer of the aggressive spirit he plays the game with, bowling batting or fielding.

*Originally posted by knightofhearts: *
i can guarantee that u would be one of the first to raise the finger on him...

I seldom raise a finger against Afridi because I dont expect him to score. And those who know me in KK realize that I seldom raise fingers against a player. (which i recently have done against Moin Khan)

Regarding number three, it is certain that Inzi and youhana wont move up the order to play at that position. So that leaves Malik, and thats our best bet. I have compromized that it is not going to happen and Malik has clicked on more occassions than he failed so its all good as far as i am concerned.

when a player doesnt perform, people do raise fingers on them....
but when????
only when good players dont perform....

when inzi doesnt perform, he is criticized....
but when farhat gets out every match with a single figure score no one bothers....

so raising fingers when a player doesnt perform is no criteria to judge the quality of a player....

and why talk about "if"....

what if wasim dint take so many wickets, wud u still think he is a good bowler????
what if sachin dint make so many runs wud u still call him a good player just cuz his technique is right????

dont alk about what if....

*Originally posted by elahi: *

hmm,, Lyallpur sahib, perhaps you did watch the game with me. I watched in South Duggan, but the only guy I did'nt know there was an Indian guy named Moe shomething... Said he worked for G.She.S, I don't know could that be you?
Yeah the semifinal will be a blast, it will be great to have a low tension game for once since we won't be playing India....
I dont't know why the hell you guys are talking about kicking out Afridi or whatever, he clearly won us the game.
But then again, a week ago people here were arguing to kick Youhana and Shaoib off the team :) ... so whatever

elahi yaar, i think you were there in the south duggan area... were you the guy wearing the pakistani jersey and the white shalwar bottom? i remember that india guy i think his name was moe daipe or something, this guy imran embarassed him in front of everyone and he went home... and to top things off his car got stolen too.... what a bad day to cheer for india

*Originally posted by lyallpur larka: *

elahi yaar, i think you were there in the south duggan area... were you the guy wearing the pakistani jersey and the white shalwar bottom? i remember that india guy i think his name was moe daipe or something, this guy imran embarassed him in front of everyone and he went home... and to top things off his car got stolen too.... what a bad day to cheer for india

acha uss ka naam Daipe tha, I was wondering
ahhahah damn dawg u dont say that guys car got stolen, it's like a Beamer rite..........
I heard some guys found it and chased the gorra who stole it into a Walmart.
Yeah I saw the embarrasment, it was a bit over teh top, don't u say.
I had the Paki jersey, thats real authentic from Rawalpindi u know
I'm sure the Indians felt terrible on Sunday, but hey, sometimes you win, sometimes u lose rite........