Pakistan V SL - First ODI

Re: Pakistan V SL - First ODI

Yay :jhanda:

I think Pakistan can beat any team in the world at any given time and location provided we have an excellent attitude toward the game… :jhanda:

PS: Does anyone know…Pakistan is playing this series without a Coach… :smiley:

yay pakistan!!
we dont need no coach smoach. If federer can perform without one, why cant our 11 boys. :snooty:

Shoaib spoke reasonably good english but was quite nervous. He got a good reception from the crowd.

** MOM Afridi.**

haha… Afridi goes “I know there are a lot of Pathans here… so I know what would’ve happened to me if I didn’t perform” :hehe:

Although I am overjoyed with this victory there’s no need to get so carried away after one win. Keep your feet grounded. I expect SLA to come back hard at us in the next game. Although Pakistan were without Younis and Akhtar, SLA’s loss was greater in the absence of Sangakkara, Vaas and Murali. :k: That said SLA usu. lose against Pakistan like we do against SA, don’t ask me why?

ahhhh...why am I so cruel.....I have a Sri Lankan in my team ( a really nice guy) and he follows cricket with great passion...as soon as the match finished, i walked over to his cubicle with a big smile on my face and asked him if he followed the match.....as expected, he refused and told me that he did not check the score after the first innings....and I am like "yeah right" and then informed him that shahid afrdi has just raped Bandara five minutes ago and he has been taken to the hospital...........................................................he was shocked and said "our team was not playing at full strength".............and i replied "I am just reporting a rape...I don’t know anything about the final score or whether sri lanka was playing at full strength or not"................and he said "I think banadara is a young guy and also inexperienced"......and i really wanted to say "well that explains why khan sahib raped him so badly"............................

Congratulations every one! I have recorded the game, so will enjoy Afridi’s fireworks when I get back home.

Some positives

1. Opening was decent.
  2. Nazir was in good form. Some of his drives were fantastic
  3. Asif is awesome.
  4. Lot of depth in batting. We didn’t even use Rajjak bhai and got the target with 7 overs to spare.
  5. Afridi! :k:
  6. Captain was visible on the field. Bowling changes seemed appropriate.
  7. Opening bowling spell was phenomenal. Pakistan kept getting regular wickets.

Some concerns

1. Three run-outs. Well, we also got 3 Lankan runouts too, but still.. this just demonstrates sloppy running between the wickets.
  2. Our point, cover and short fine leg fielders need more practice to throw at the wickets.
  3. Nazir… the first time he had to run 3 runs, he got cramps. What kind of fitness level is that??
  4. Malik did not bowl at all. Hopefully, he’ll settle down as a captain and will not remain afraid to bowl (and get a bit thrashed around). He is a decent bowling option.
  5. Leaked too many runs in death overs. We should probably think of saving 1-2 Asif overs for the end.
  6. Yousif and Malik disappointed with the bat. Salman Butt was too nervous. He was not out there to play strokes, but just to survive. Luckily Nazir kept up the tempo, otherwise we’d be in a deep hole early on.
  7. We let Maharoof away with too many runs. He is not the kind of batsman who should be allowed to score 69*.

Some of the umpiring decisions were hilarious. Giving Salman Butt run out earlier by the third umpire was so amazing, and then to find out he pressed the wrong button. How silly is that??

Over all, good and timely win for Pakistan. Good luck for the future.

What a memorable start to Malik's captaincy career! Imran and Butt's start was good but Afridi was simply sensational. Awesome performance. Mohammad Yousuf and Yasir Hameed missed out plus the captain. But it bodes well.

YES much better than Inzi :D at least he didn't say Thanks God and Boyz hehe It looked like he really enjoyed the game as a spectator's POV

Great win, I hope someone is working on the highlights :D.

Akmal was overshadowed but his innings was equally important.

Flat track bullies, jokers, win was a fluke. :D

:hayaa:

Watched that massive over by Afridi against Bandara. Omg. Great job by Akmal, though overshadowed by Afridi, I’m glad he reached his 50.

Congrats everyone!

Afridi has his days. When its his day, hell be dropped, his shots will carry, hell connect every time and even the flatest shots will reach the boundary. On other days he’ll get out on single figures while playing a defensive shot. Kinda like a slot machine hehe, anyway, whatever works. :jhanda:

are you yelling yahood (jews)…

:yahoo:
:jhanda:
:Balay:

its ok…we all needed this win…maybe more than the team did…:hehe:

:slight_smile:

Missed the entire Pak inning due to friday prayers and lunch...

Great job Pakistan!

Sub KK guppies aur Pak fans ko meree taraf say thanda paanee!!!

Mubarak....

:yahoo: :hooray: :yahoo: :balley: :jhanda: :dhimpak: :sadiyah: :shoaby:

Congratz to everyone for the win.

I know we will be talking pages and threads about what Afridi did today, but let me give unsung heros the credit. Kamran Akmal and Mohammad Sami. These two seem to be improving by the game.

Umer Gul and Mohammad Asif were their usual best.

Man with a Plan, who is this cutie in your pic?