Pakistan v/s India-- 2nd ODI

*Originally posted by Nancy Drew: *

u shud've got their autos :D

Only if I could break the security cordon and avoid getting caught for attempted terorrism. :p

*Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *

Only if I could break the security cordon and avoid getting caught for attempted terorrism. :p

I think Afridi needs to be added in place for Imran Farhat and then Shabbir needs to be brought in for Rana Naveed ul Hasan. If Shabbir isn't brought in then i would put in Iftikhar Anjum in favor for Rana. something has to be done about Mohammad Sami also.

No way can this team do with Rana as a full time player on the team.

well i really think that yasir hameed should be dropped instead of imran farhat... he hasnt done anything even in Pak vs NZ matches.. but droppin imram farhat wouldnt be fair..

he looks very confident against India

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Like Ehsan I am going to have to eat my own words and back a recall for Afridi but not at the expense of Farhat, I would prefer to see Younis Khan dropped. Yes he played well in Karachi but as usual he failed to go on and take charge when it came to the crunch. Nothing has changed he's still only a player who can fiddle a tidy 30-50 runs in the middle of the innings which all players are capable of at that stage of the innings.

On a flat pitch against Indian bowling Afridi is capable of hitting over the infield which is basically all Sehwag does. Shabbir has to come back in place of Naved ul Hasan to add some quality to the seam attack. I am confident Sami will bowl better in Pindi and Shoaib will continue to menace the Indian top order.

I agree. Instead of dropping Farhat, I would rather drop Younis Khan, although he did play well. We have has the Imran/Yasir opening pair for quiet some time now, and for the most part, they have done well, especially in Pakistan. I think this is the most successful opening pair we have seen since Saeed/Aamir. It would not be the right time to change it. Afridi should be used as a pinch hitter, in the middle lower order.

*Originally posted by yaasir: *

I agree. Instead of dropping Farhat, I would rather drop Younis Khan, although he did play well. We have has the Imran/Yasir opening pair for quiet some time now, and for the most part, they have done well, especially in Pakistan. I think this is the most successful opening pair we have seen since Saeed/Aamir. It would not be the right time to change it. Afridi should be used as a pinch hitter, in the middle lower order.

Here is the bottom line.....

--> There is no way Rana can still be in the team (everyone would agree with me) unless he improves his bowling (smart bowling, no extra and no short pitch bowling).

-> I wouldn't replace Sami; he is going through a bad patch he will eventually come out of it. I would bring Shabbier or Roa to replace Rana.

If you guys remember I have be stressing about having sixth bowler, it important that we have sixth bowler to decrease pressure from regular 5 blowers.
It was a good move from Inzi to bring Yasir as bowler but It was little too late in the game. I think even Younis Khan should try to bowl couple over if he wants to be in ODI

I think our batsmen play superb, especially INZI; he played with his heart not with his mind. It was nice to see Youhanna playing aggressive; Younis was quit well in sporting Inzi..too bad we weren't able to reach the 350 but we have a strong team and we should be able to beat India if we can capitalize on their mistake.
Our A team played Well against Indian bowlers, Indian noticed their mistake and adjusted their bowling in 1st ODI and now Pakistan must improve their bowling if they wants to win the 2nd ODI.

2 OPTION @ for 2nd ODI

01 Yasir Hameed
02 Shahid Afridi
03 Yousuf Youhana
04 Inzamam-ul-Haq
05 Younis Khan
06 Abdul Razzaq
07 Shoaib Malik
08 Moin Khan WK
09 Shoaib Akhtar
10 Mohammad Sami
11 Shabbir Ahmed /Iftikhar Anjum

OR

01 Yasir Hameed
02 Imran Farhat
03 Yousuf Youhana
04 Inzamam-ul-Haq
05 Abdul Razzaq
06 Shahid Afridi
07 Shoaib Malik
08 Moin Khan WK
09 Shoaib Akhtar
10 Mohammad Sami
11 Shabbir Ahmed /Iftikhar Anjum

As far as the Indian side is concerned... I would like Irfan to come in place of Murli Karthik.... reason : simple-Murli is easier to hit sixes/fours to as compared to Irfan...and also Irfan can bat better...Also, Laxman replacing Badani would be nice.
Finally, I would like see Pak bat first...and hope that it will be a less than 300 match for a change.

I don’t know if I agree with Afridi coming in or not but the following is fascinating nevertheless. No wonder, Pak cricket is a joke despite having such an incredible talent base to draw from. No one knows knows what their bloody job is.

Afridi’s last-minute axing from one-dayer annoys selectors

Bari asks PCB chief to sort out authority matter with Inzamam, Miandad

RAWALPINDI: The national selectors have had a fall-out with the Pakistan team management after the first One-day International against India in Karachi on Saturday.

“The News” has learnt that chief selector Wasim Bari has asked the Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to confirm the charter of duties for the national selectors and if they have a say in the final selection of the playing eleven before every match.

Sources close to the selectors have disclosed that the Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq and coach Javed Miandad had discussed in detail the formation of the playing eleven for the first match on Saturday but the eleven that took the field had some changes.“At the meeting it was decided with the consent of the team management and the selectors that Shahid Afridi would play in the team and it would include six bowlers,” the source said.

“The selectors convinced the captain and coach that the team needed to play six bowlers and for this purpose Afridi should be in the team - either in place of a opener or a middle-order batsman,” the source said.

However, on the morning of the match the selectors were surprised to see that Inzamam and Miandad had not picked Afridi in the squad and instead went into the match with just two specialist bowlers, three all-rounders and six batsmen.

“Bari and his fellow selectors were not happy at all with this deviation from the agreed team and Bari had a few words with the Pakistan captain and coach about it later. He also informed the board about the situation,” the source said.

“Bari has given in writing to the board that he wants the position to be clarified whether the selectors will be involved in the selection of the playing eleven or whether the captain and coach have the final say in this matter once the selectors submit the 14 or 15-member squad before every match,” he informed.

Inzamam was asked at the post match conference if he had felt the absence of a sixth bowler and he responded in the affirmative. He, however, retorted that if he had played a batsman short then people would have questioned his decision.

One of the selectors said that although Pakistan had put up a brilliant batting performance in the first match, yet the captain and coach blundered by not playing Afridi who could have been the sixth bowler.

“They could have played him in place of one of the openers or Younis Khan. The fact is that eight batsmen are enough in a one-dayer but if one of the five regular bowlers has a bad day you need someone to back him up and handle the things in the middle overs,” the selector said.

Ironically, even the former chief selector Aamer Sohail had a fall-out with Inzamam and Miandad on the same issue of authority and say in selection matters.

Replace loose bowling with discipline. Everything else is secondary.

I've said it numerous times, and I'll say it again: bring someone useful in place of Abdul Razzaq. He's already a huge liability as a bowler. So how is giving him an extended run in the team based on the fact that he can give the ball a good whack once in a while any different than the chances Afridi was given years ago?

It's funny to see ppl wanting Younis Khan out (who played very well right away coming in after so many months), but would stick to A.Razzaq based on his 2 or 3 performances every 12-15 games or so.

I agree, Afridi should be brought in at Pindi, but not in place of Younis Khan.

*Originally posted by Diablo Kazama: *

I've said it numerous times, and I'll say it again: bring someone useful in place of Abdul Razzaq. He's already a huge liability as a bowler. So how is giving him an extended run in the team based on the fact that he can give the ball a good whack once in a while any different than the chances Afridi was given years ago?

It's funny to see ppl wanting Younis Khan out (who played very well right away coming in after so many months), but would stick to A.Razzaq based on his 2 or 3 performances every 12-15 games or so.

there isn't anyone else can replace him, Azhar is worse then him and we have seeen Rana... do you know anyone else? Qaiser Abbas, Bilal Asad?

I think PCB can bring Waqar Younis back if Sami is not going to be able to perform.

*Originally posted by Diablo Kazama: *

I disagree..Razzaq is more suited for ODI. I think he is consistenly performing well for pakistan lower down the order. He is a very explosive player , all he needs is five overs and he can totally change the complexion of the game. He has done it many times recently. We need such players who can pull a miracle win.Even against India he almost did the job or atleast he made the score achievable at the end.

I agree that Razzaq as a bowler is a liability most of the time, and that is why we need a sixth bowler. I can only hope that he improves. In Test matches he shouldnt be included period!

He's an outstanding hitter in crunch situations no doubt. I'd be tempted to include him for the same reasons you mentioned as well.. and was for a long time. But not in the current situation. If the rest of the team is playing consistently well, then the fact that A.Razzaq can change the tempo of the game within mere overs is a HUGE bonus for us.

But on the flip side, if he's consistently bowling poorly and there is talk of changes and shuffling, I'd boot out ppl who are being included for the fact that they can do such-and-such occasionally, and retain and bring in those who are performing currently.

If he underperforms again in the second ODI, I'd definitely bring in Afridi for game 3 if he hasn't come in already.

here are my suggestions for second one day.

i would love to bring afridi back into the team. if there is any chance for afridi to be successful, it will be on paki and indian pitches where ball does not move that much. i like him to open for pak. and would like to stick with him for all matches. trust me, he could be our wild card and i am sayin this even though i am well aware of his "reputation". Plus of course, he will provide the extra depth to our bowling beign sixth bowler.

For that purpose i would drop imran farhat instead of yaseer. I have seen both of them playing and both of them are good players but i believe that after having explosive and unpredictable afridi on the other end, we need an opener who can hold the innings together. In my opinion, yaseer is more capable of doing it than imran farhat.

Rana sahib will be dropped even though i was impressed by his bowling. He seems to me a very seasoned and clever bowler ( forget his first over. he only gave away 50 runs in next 9 overs and took 3 wickets). i guess shabir should replace him. If not shabir, rao ifthikar should be given a chance. But we do need a full time and regular fast bowler in team other than two S.

Now in the end i really want to bring imran nazir back into the team by dropping younis khan. Nazir is an amzing stroke player. he has some problems with his technique as he allows a gap between bat and ball whe he plays on front foot. But again on paki pitches, that should not be a big problem. On paki pitches, balls come relatively slow and one has enought time to adjust his position accordingly. He should come at one down position. Trust me , he is explosive, fun to watch and also quite reliable on paki pitches.

Imran farhat gone.....afirdi In

Younis khan gone......Imran Nazir IN

Rana Naved Gone..... Shabir or Ifthikar IN

this would be my team for the 2nd ODI :k:

and ofcourse a LOT of dua to go along with it :jhanda:

Why Yousef, INZI, Younis don't want to paly as opener?

Do you think Yousef Youhanna should play as opener?

Great! Now, GUPSHUP wants Afridi back in the team!

Afridi Kush Huwa

waqar younis should be brought back he can still do a job for us, waqar should replace pcb’s prodigal son mohammed sami :rolleyes: , shabbir ahmed if fit should replace reject rana and saqi is better spinner of the ball than sialkoti shoaib malik and saqi should be brought back!!!

tauqeer umar is clearly in good form he should be brought back, shahid afridi if picked should play as a pitch hitter at number 6/7 position he shouldn’t open, as he only clicks once every 10 innings!!!

Yasir gone - Taufeeq in.
Malik gone - Afridi in.
Rana gone - Shabbir in.
Razzler gone - Rao Iftikhar in.

Here it comes down to.

1. Farhat (fearless hitter/uses brain most of the time/opener/p.t bowler)
  2. Taufeeq (reliable and confident opener, good for steady and big scoring, Indian attack is a child's play for him, he is the most confident and fearless batsman from the very first ball, remeber WC03)
  3. Yoyo (the architect of Pakistani batting/ very reliable)
  4. Inzi (getting into form again, looking sharp against mediocre Indian attack)
  5. Yonis Khan (give him another chance)
  6. Shahid Afridi (a handy bowler/ excellent fielder/ pinch hitter in 1 out of 6 innings)
  7. Moin (keeper/hitter by luck/loosing his charm in batting, thus unreliable).
  8. Shoaib Akhtar (main striker/can bat too when needed)
  9. Sami (strike bowler, not in form these days, give him another chance/ can bat a bit, not reliable though) 10 Rao Iftikhar (medium pacer, good line and length, highest wicket taker for last couple of seasons in domenstic)
  10. Shabbir (kiya baat hai cheetay ki, very consistant bowler with excellent line and length, can take 2-3 wickets in the middle, run stopper)

Now with 4 specialist bowlers and Afridi in hand we are good on bowling side. Believe me. We can try Farhat, Younis and Inzi as well in case if one of the main striker is getting hammered. India is doing that too. It doesn't make any difference, Razzler aur shoaib ne tou wese bhi pitwana hota hai. So why not play 5 authentic batsman with Afridi and Moin covering them for hitting time.

Its time to say good bye to Razzler. The guy is too much of a hype for no good reason. We are suffering big time. 9-83-0 My God!

*Originally posted by earthquake: *
Why Yousef, INZI, Younis don't want to paly as opener?

Do you think Yousef Youhanna should play as opener?

What should be an opener's quality? What is that differ him from the rest of the batsmen in the team?

Facing new ball is not Yohanna's game. Openers are born to face new ball and set the tone of the inning. Yohanna is best at his current position, he takes time and stablish the innings. He is going to play Inzi's role in years to come. We can't change his mindset by playing him as opener.

look at all you guys. changing sides and all. everyone perfomed well, just two mistakes. toss, and sending rana before shoaib.