Pakistan v/s Holland

*Originally posted by Victory: *

Ehsan Bhai,

Aap Afridi ka peechey kyon padein hain ? Remember last time he smashed Holland and Maybe using him today would have done a great to improve the NRR for pakistan. He may not have the technical skills to face class bowling, but against Holland, he may have been tried.

yes and persisting with Razzaq is a great mistake. The Guy is NOT in form and batting form can return by playing a good inning but Bowling form canNOT return in one inning. Azhar could have been tried here or as you say Afridi.

Afridi would/should have played. but our other bats are in the worst form of their life. I guess they need all the outing that they can get.

Younis is not dropped even though he deserves to be. He's out with an injury. Is supposed to be back for the India match. read it on cricinfo.

*Originally posted by Victory: *

Ehsan Bhai,

Aap Afridi ka peechey kyon padein hain ? Remember last time he smashed Holland and Maybe using him today would have done a great to improve the NRR for pakistan. He may not have the technical skills to face class bowling, but against Holland, he may have been tried.

With all due respect I disagree, I dont want a tulley baaz who depends more on luck then technique and who clicks once every 50 innings. No thank you. If he never plays for Pakistan again it will be too soon for me.

I heard saeed tell taufeeq "koi jaldi nahi" which i think is essential to keep the young lad calm. Taufeeq does tend to play some stupid shots mostly due to inexperience, so saeed just needs to calm him down.

48/0 off 12 overs....stable beginning albeit a bit slow

**48/0 in 12.1 overs **

Best stand of the WC so far :):k:

Bus India ke saath bhi isi tarha batting karni parey gi...

Saeed gone.

[thumb=A]a4.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]a14.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]a15.JPG[/thumb]

Saeed Anwar :devil:

seems Razzaq is in - now I think thats a rank bad move...would you not like to give your out-of-form batsmen some decent batting practice before the crunch games?

*Originally posted by oursoulsatpeace: *
seems Razzaq is in - now I think thats a rank bad move...would you not like to give your out-of-form batsmen some decent batting practice before the crunch games?

I agree but they are going to play him one down against india as well so they are looking for the exact order thy will play against India with only Saleem replaced by younis maybe.

This is so frustrating to see! Saeed Anwar has been absolutely resolute in his quest not to reach 30 in any match. Though that's still better than inzimam who has so far been resolute not to reach 10!

But it's nice to see pakistan giving both Saleem Elahi and Taufeeq Umar a chance in this match. This is exactly what I have been saying that both of them need to play. Though we could have brought Azhar in aswell but overall a good team under the circumstances I think.

Today both the openers were very lucky not to have been dismissed earlier. Though they put up a decent opening score, it is very unconvincing. Let us see how the others capitalise on this.

Strange decision to bat Razaq at 3 although I’m sure he’ll do ok. With Elahi in the team it would have made sense to leave Razaq to have a few swings later on when he could really have cut loose.

Batting changes paying off with gutsy Taufiq looking determined to make his mark :k:

Taufeeq playing impressively. We need a player who can anchor the innings.

Abhi bhi jhatkey maar rahi hai batting humari... Not a good sign...

Taufeeq seems to be applying himself well. Anwar shows some signs of his magical touch but still isn't quite there. This is good. Taufeeq must be told to be the cornerstone of the innings and the others must play around him.

Razzaq at 3 is a sad way to keep him in the team. Azhar or Afridi should've played. The Razzler at his present pace will get murdered by good batting teams like India, WI, Aus, SA and NZ.

Taufeeq nearing his 50 and I expect him to start cutting loose pretty soon. We'll have to think about upping the run rate after a steady but sensible start.

Symcox and Dean Jones need to get a room.

** 100 up for Pakistan off 21.3 overs. Slightly slow but they need to get their confidence back, so not bad going. More importantly only one wicket down**

[thumb=A]a16.JPG[/thumb]