Muhammed Sami shud b given a chance here… hez a gud bowler…
Taufeeq Umer shud b playing…
pakistan shud win this match with a big margin… like namibia
go pakistan u can do it:jhanda:
:rocketup: :rocketup: :rocketup: :rocketup: :rocketup:
no betrayerz here:mad2:
Pakistan vs Holland
Ok, this is a observation i have made over the years but haven't really thought too much into it, and leads into the Holland match pakistan plays next.
We all know of Pakistan's horrific England loss (batting second)..
The question is kai why do the pakistani's come under so much pressure when batting second. yes, all teams do, but that excuse can only be used to a certain extent.
On the same side of the story, Pakistan bowling first hasn't been great either. For some reason, when the batting side is under less pressure (that is, batting first) they tend to score against Pakistan as well, and then completely destroy them with the ball, like England and Australia have done, along with S.A in the recent series against them.
One match Pakistan won recently was against South Africa (the 1 out of 5 they won). They scored over 320 runs, and defeated S.A. by over 150. I really think its gotten into their heads that if they bat under no pressure, that is, batting first, they can finish the match just as easily by bowling second.
Saying this, as much as Pakistan can be put into pressure, they are one of the best to put pressure on other teams.
They get off to good starts in the bowling department when bowling first, but if they dont take a wicket in a few overs. all of a sudden the other team explodes and scores runs.
I really think Pakistsan should be ready for batting second again, because any side that wins the toss against them , will send them into bowling unless the conditions are really bad.. but teams will look at pakisatn and the pitch second.
I really think Pakistan should bat first int he next match vs Holland and really score a lot of runs. They should not be taking this match as a given even if it is. Saeed Anwar needs to get into form and start hittin gshots right away and not just wait for the team to get settled, because he must do exactly that against India on Saturday. Holland's match will be a match where all bowling should be experimented and the batting line up to be experimented just enough to score a very good total against a Holland team that does not have a strong batting lineup.
I can't believe you guys want to play Inzimam in this match. The guy couldn't even score against namibia! We should play both Elahi and Taufeeq in this match to see how they perform. We can't afford that luxury against India. A players like Inzimam who has played 300 odd matches shouldn't get rusted by missing one match! The other guys need time out there more than he does. If we decide to play those two against india - and we should - than we can't allow it to be thier first outing. We should iclude Elahi, Taufeeq, Sami and Azhar all in this match. At least the first 3 are a must.
my take
what do you guys think of this lineup. might look a little odd, but i think it might work against holland in a great defeat, and also may give pakistan confidence for the indian match on saturday
taufiq umar
saleem elahi
saeed anwar
inzimam-ul-haq
yousuf youhana
younis khan
rashid latif
wasim akram
waqar younis
saqlain mushtaq
shoaib akthar
four specialist bowlers, because holland does not have a great batting lineup, and batting until #8, or well. #8 and #11 now that shoaib is a world-class batsman :P..
I would alos love to see Azhar mahmood in this match, while razzaq and afridi need to sit down for a game. Afridi will be needed against India i believe because of his bowling and possibly quick fire runs against india will help.
goooooooooooo Holland ![]()
NesCIO :p
well although wouldn't be a suprise to me any more if we loose against holland as well.
Allah humme akal de. Aur humare Captain aur Openers ko bhi.
Shino you traitor hehe.
the Indians have come back to form after bein 204 allout against holland....n 125 all out against australia....we need to bat first tomorrow in order to restore some confidence in the batsmen.....the shot inzi played clearly showed lack of confidence..!!!
the team should be
Saeed
Elahi
Youhanna
Inzi
Afridi
Azhar
Latif
Akram
Waqar
Saqlain
Shoaib
if nizi fails in this one....he should be kicked out!
niz_b....we need 5 bolwers...even if its against holland...we need to give azhar some practice so tht he can play against India....he should come in instead of razzaq!
InshAllah Pakistan will come back!
*Originally posted by Kareem: *
OK, take a deep breath, have a glass of water, and fan yourself. :D You don't start kicking out your batsmen who have delivered over many years just because they have a bad run. Every batsman from Lara to Hayden to Tendulkar goes through these phases. So let us not bug out over Inzi.
We shouldn't suffer because of their "bad phase". We should give this guy some due rest.
*Originally posted by saby: *
Elahi/Taufeeq (he firmly believes two left handers will do for pakistan
Saeed
Inzi
Youhana
Yousuf
Rashid
Akram
Waqar
Saqlain
Shoaib
Sami
I know we are desparately looking for some batsmen but please don't split Yousuf Youhanna into two :)
I meant younus there ![]()
**Pakistan hope to move from reverse gear into fifth
Facing a summary exit if they stumble again, Pakistan aim to put their World Cup campaign back on the rails in Paarl here against lowly-rated Holland on Tuesday.
Paarl is in the wine country in the Western Cape. The weather is dry and hot, and if the forecast is to be believed, likely to remain so with the temperature around 32 degrees celsius.
The wicket, though not genuinely dicey, is not an easy one to bat on. It is the venue where Holland made India struggle to just 204 before the latter prevailed, and where Sri Lanka blew away Canada for the lowest one-day international score of 36. That match was over in just 115 minutes, it also was the shortest ODI ever.
But Pakistan must banish such thoughts; whatever the conditions, they have to conquer them. There is no option for them but to win against Holland, and win big. And then keep on winning against India on March 1, and Zimbabwe on March 4 to survive and stay in the hunt for one of the three Super Sixes slots from their group.
Since they are way down on the points table at the moment, with only Holland and Namibia below them, that is the least they can do to be back in reckoning. If weather and upsets by other teams do not end up thwarting them, it should be enough.
But with eight Pool A games still remaining to be played, who knows what might transpire. But their disappointing loss against England may continue to haunt them for quite some time to come.
“We have to do it the hard way now”, said the Pakistan coach Richard Pybus, “and I hope that the pressure of the situation brings out the best in the boys and makes our batsmen perform”.
With skipper Waqar Younis and manager Shaharyar Khan absent from the regulation pre-match press conference, after conducting a long session at the nets in searing heat, Pybus fulfilled his share of the responsibility by facing the media.
Blaming Pakistan’s misfortunes squarely on the batting collapse, he conceded that in the setback against England “some bowlers may have bowled an over or two too many, but the side’s bowling and fielding was competitive. Three wickets in the space of three deliveries early on pulled the rug from under us. The remaining batsmen got sucked into the situation and that further complicated things.”
On the possibility of an angry reaction back in Pakistan, which is quite likely if there is no radical transformation in the team’s fortunes, Pybus said that though he and Waqar felt accountable, but he was not overly concerned about that. “We can take care of certain technical aspects, the rest depends on execution on the field”.
When asked whether the side lacked the ability and influence of batsmen like Javed Miandad or Saleem Malik, Pybus said: “Inzamam-ul-Haq and Yousuf Youhana are champion batsmen. The experienced players between them have more than 1500 one-day internationals. That is the kind of experience no other team has. The bottom line is that they have to perform”.
With the prospect of exit looming large, Pybus thought his batsmen need to bat all the way. “I wish I had a magic wand to make our batsmen perform,” he said. Though he was concerned about the non-performing middle-order, he added that the Pakistan batsmen mostly perform in two gears: fifth or reverse, and hoped that from here on it would be the former.
Inzamam and Youhana’s woeful run has made things rather difficult for the late order, and it has crumbled under the pressure. “Unlike Australia or South Africa, we lack genuine all-rounders, as we have bowlers who can bat a bit”, said Pybus.
In this regard, Azhar Mahmood still remains untried. A genuine batsman with an exciting repertoire of aggressive shots and an under-rated swing bowler, Azhar merits an outing in place of Abdul Razzaq, who seems jaded and has mostly struggled since his comeback from injury.
Despite a string of poor scores, Shahid Afridi might retain his place because he adds to the depth in bowling. With the bearded figure of Saeed Anwar showing committment and skill despite not having made any sizable score, and likely to get the nod, the rest of the eleven pretty much picks itself.
The toss will again be critical, for Pakistan need to bat through 50 overs to see their top order batsmen recapture a semblance of form, and also to improve their net run-rate. This is far more important than Wasim Akram getting his 500th wicket (which he should have had except for a leg before decision that went the other way) or Shoaib Akhtar blasting the Holland batsmen into oblivion.
A contrast of such silken skills and red hot pace, Akram and Akhtar look great when they bowl in tandem, making a chill run down the spines of batsmen. But in reality it is the flowing drives and ferocious cuts and pulls of Anwar, Afridi, Inzamam and Youhana that are the need of the hour for Pakistan.**
** Pakistan face the Dutch - and the weather
When the World Cup fixture list appeared and Pakistan saw they had a match against the Netherlands in the delightful surroundings of Paarl, they would have welcomed the prospect with relish. Now, however, they will be approaching the game with rather more anxiety after their thrashing at the hands of England on Saturday just down the road in Cape Town.
Group A was always going to be tight, with Australia the favourites. Then it was thought that Pakistan, India and England would battle it out for the other two places in the next stage of the tournament. When England forfeited four points to Zimbabwe the equation took on a new element, for presuming that Zimbabwe pick up another eight points from matches against the Netherlands and Namibia, one more win would put them right in the shake-up.
The fact is that Pakistan’s batting has taken on a fragile appearance that was ruthlessly exposed by England. They might have an impressive hand of match-winning bowlers, but the batsmen have to back them up and that has not been case recently.
It is perhaps fanciful to imagine that Pakistan’s batsmen will fail to prosper against the Dutch collection of medium pacers but, given a receptive pitch, it is possible that they could make it very difficult for a side lacking confidence.
The problem for the men in the dazzling orange kit is that they will find it extremely hard to score enough runs to put pressure on the Pakistani batsmen. That will be a consoling thought for Pakistan, but there will be another fear lurking in the back of their minds. The weather.
Should rain prevent Pakistan from taking the expected four points from this match, and prevent them from enhancing their run-rate, their fate would rest with others as well as themselves. They would have to beat India and Zimbabwe in their remaining matches, and hope against hope that England can do to India what they suffered themselves.
They will be encouraged to know that the forecast is fine for the Winelands area of the Cape, but forecasters have been known to get it wrong. Just as Pakistan did on Saturday. At least the Pakistanis can take heart from the fact the Dutch will want to play whatever the weather. Against Australia, there would have been every reason for Roland Lefebvre, the Dutch captain, to take a look at conditions and claim the two points for an abandonment. He decided not to do so but gain the experience from playing the game.
Even so, Pakistan must hope that there is a bright blue sky and that this is not the day for the bright orange flags to be waving in celebration at the end.
I think this is what Pakistani batting line up needs to be:
- Saeed Anwar
- Taufeeq Umer
- Saqlain Mushtaq
- Yousuf Youhanna
- Saleem Elahi
- Wasim Akram
- Shoaib Akhtar
- Rashid Latif
- Azhar Mehmood
- Mohammed Sami
- Inzimam (knowing that his seniority doesn't permit his departure from team)
Mohd Sami has shown some batting style in last couple of games.
I know you watch cricket with keen interst but plaese Kindly Do NOT include players who are NOT in the final fifteen. Okay you like Faisal, me too But kindly get your facts straight. And LoL@batting order, Inzi at number 11???
Anyways lets see ![]()
*Originally posted by Changez_like: *
I think this is what Pakistani batting line up needs to be:
- Saeed Anwar
- Taufeeq Umer
- Saqlain Mushtaq
- Yousuf Youhanna
- Saleem Elahi
- Wasim Akram
- Shoaib Akhtar
- Rashid Latif
- Azhar Mehmood
- Mohammed Sami
- Inzimam (knowing that his seniority doesn't permit his departure from team)
Mohd Sami has shown some batting style in last couple of games.
Please tell me you are kidding? After the eng game my humour has also gone down.
btw the captain is missing :)
*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *
btw the captain is missing :)
I'm sure we'll be fine without him... There have been instances where a captain has to sit out because of "some" injury, right? I think Waqar must be feeling injured by now.
You are right, I shouldn’t have believed in certain someone who said that he is in the team, but I checked it out after I posted and already corrected. Thanks ![]()