Pakistan v Northampton

Re: Pakistan v Northampton

Woolmer defends Salman Butt and Imran Farhat

NORTHAMPTON, England: Bob Woolmer, Pakistan’s coach, has defended his misfiring top-order batsmen after their continued failure in the three-day fixture against Northamptonshire. Salman Butt and Imran Farhat, who struggled in the drawn first Test at Lord’s last week, were dismissed for single figures but Woolmer has come to their defence. “There is not a problem with the top order batsmen,” Woolmer told Sporting Life. “Lots of people are talking about it after their failure against England but I have faith in my players and I know they will come good.” The bright part of Pakistan’s outing at Northampton was Younis Khan, who returned from a knee injury to captain the side in place of Inzamam-ul-Haq and scored an unbeaten 50 on the first day on Thursday. “I am really pleased to see Younis get a 50 and be in such good form after he missed the first Test,” said Woolmer. “These types of games are great because we can bring in players, like Younis, who have not had much time in the middle.”

Source: http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=16664

How long is he going to keep them defending?

As long as they keep playing like this ;) lol :D

Pakistan 53/0 But 26 Farhat 27 balllle ballle!!

This means they will open in the second test and England will get two free wickets at the top and a few dropped catches as well. Good strategy by England to keep these two in the test squad. :crying:

^No worries Ehsan Bhai..Farhat and Butt seem to have found their rythem...for now that is :p

And Imran moves onto 41 with a chakka :dhimpak:

Imran Farhat 55 not out with 6 fours and 2 sixes :dhimpak: Pakistan 90/0 :eek: am i dreaming??

Pakistan 100/0 wowww…kya baat hai :jhanda:

Pakistan 113/0 Butt reaches his 50 as wel :dhimpak: and Farhat moves onto 60.

Butt gets his 50. :eek:

Are kids bowling today for Northants. :slight_smile:

Well, Well, I have a feeling Faisal Iqbal will be dropped because Butt and Farhat love scoring against weak teams even tho look like tailenders against test teams.

Imran Farhat out for 64. Caught White bowling Afzaal.

I know ehsan is very anti-Butt and will not like what I say, but here it is anywa. You can cure drive-happy Salman Butt who was doing fine until he hit a mental block playing against India, but you can't cure Imran Farhat who has a temperament problem.

I have said this before and I will say it again. Salman Butt may or may not eb an answer to our opening problems. But Imran Farhat will definitely NOT be a permanent answer to our opening problems. Time and again I have seen him getting out to very aggressive shots the moment he gets into his late 40s or higher. That shows a very serious problem with temperament, and an inability and lack of desire to go on an make a big one. This has nothing to do with his perofmrnace in this match, but a pattern I have noticed throughout his career.

By the way, I did VOTE for Imran Farhat as one of the openers in the poll a few days ago, because of his superior form over Salman Butt these das.

Farhat gone for 64, he is not going to be dropped for sure.
Salman Butt has played well in a practice game again (64 not out) but he needs to repeat his performance in 2nd TEST as well which he is surely going to play now.

Good to see Bob backing up young players :)

Satya Naas! :smack: Taufeeq batting now. Thank god I cant see this match live!

I am not anti Butt, I want the best for my team and if Butt can provide that than I will be all for him. Sadly we are going to suffer through another test match opening collapse because of what has happened today. BTW look at the quality of opposition bowlers, Shafayat and Afzaal, hardly the bowlers to make the opposition batsmen tremble with fear. Afzaal at best is a part time bowler. I am only pro Pakistan team.

Have to agree with you.

I am always shocked to see people backing or wanting Taufeeq in the team. Forget the stats, I can’t understand how a regular cricket follower can support this guy after ACTUALLY WATCHING HIM BAT.

IN the last few series that he played, he did get a few runs once in a while by sheer luck (sort of like Cook in the first match), but more often than not, his actual observable manner of playing was humorous for a neutral spectator, and torturous for Pakistanis!

Sir Digs,
President, A.B.T.A.
(Anybody But Taufeeq Association)

Yeah, and besides it's a day-3 pitch which offers nothing to the bowlers.

Jokes aside, Butt has been going through a ver tough time lately. His fall from grace was accompanied by breaking of his engagement in the last few months. I hope he finds peace and stability in his life, with or without a permanent opening position.

Taufeeq out for 2.

Pakistan 146/2

THERE IS A GOD!

Taufeeq Umar c Wigley b Shafayat 2 (16m 13b 0x4 0x6) sr: 15.38