^ So I suppose giving our bowlers some much needed practice is not part of the plan. It is all to keep our bowlers fresh. Still I fail to see how getting our top bowlers to bowl only 2 overs and not get Razzaq and Kaneria on at all justifies anything. Come on you got to have a better explanation than that. If Razzaq, Kaneria, Gul and Sami were to bowl 10 overs each are you trying to tell me that they would have been so tired that they would not have recovered in time for the test match.
With Asif and Sami both injured, yes, that’s exactly what I am saying.
We have been on the leather hunt for most this 4 day match, which is going to be followed by a Twenty20 on Monday, followed immediately by the test match. Bowling 10 overs in a day is not tough, but continuous bowling in match conditions (not net practice) for so many days is VERY taxing on bowlers.
Do you honestly believe that Razzaq and Kaneria would have gotten them out within an hour or so? Because unless we get at lesat 4 hours of batting, I see no point in risking our fast diminishing bowling pool, and neither does Woolmer
^ Well if you get tired after bowling 10 overs than maybe we should open our bowling in the test with Inzi, Yousef, Farhat and Salman and save our bowlers for the fifth day because they wont be able to perform otherwise.
Very good decision by Inzi not to let our main bowlers bowl in the 2nd inn. Our main bowlers are injured anyway so... Hopefully, they will be able to play 20Twenty and rest of the matches, inshallah.
Eng got excatly what they wanted, tire our bowlers, and not let our batsmen get any practice. They got bonus when they injured Asif and Sami. Now we are without all of our main bowlers. One more practice match and we will be without any bowlers, probably. Good decision Inzi/Woolmer.
LOL ... this is definitely a very strange situation. The scorecard itself looks so funny with our openers bowling about 40 overs between them. Don't you think this could have injured them as well considering this is something they don't do on a regular basis and their bodies are made of flesh & bones as well.
Our skipper is definitely a nut case. He could have given everyone a bowl instead of just using these two youngsters - since they were young and they won't say NO to their captain :)
Look at these copy cats. Now their wicketkeeper is turning his arm over as well & thats bowler 10. They must be thinking of it as something very special. Aisay kerkay inko koi khazaana milayga kia ?
All valid justifications aside, I am fully with Ehsan Bhai on this one. Our main bowlers could have at least bowled half a dozen overs, if not more, not for the reason that would tire them out which could eventually force them to get sidelined due to injury, but for the simple fact of providing them an extra mile of practice in lively bowling conditions while at least managing to retain their form for the test match. Twenty overs from both of less-than-utility bowlers was extreme and unnecessary, under any circumstances. If not Razzaq, then why couldn't have Danish given the opportunity to bowl? After all, they are professionals, and the expectation lies on the dot that those who are able to bowl should have little to no problems in sending down a handful of overs on any given day.
So it was all about Salman Butt and Imran Farhat today, they bowled 40 overs then batted for 25 overs. With Asif, Rana and Shoaib not playing 1st Test match, our bowling will be 2nd string with full batting strenghth (hopefully everybody remains fit and uninjured). Freddi Flintoff is balancing his wings (par tol raha hai) for 2nd Test match, will all our bowlers be fit (I hope so :) ).