Re: Pakistan V England 3rd Test Match, Lahore
I guess...tomorrow...8 wickets should fall...before tea... especially when the **'Wrath' **is in action...hmmmmm... :)
Had Pak batsmen played defensive strokes to stick on for personal records, I would agree with you. A draw-mentality has no place in a fighting team.
But what Pak batsmen did last night was nothing of the sort. It was a full-frontal and extremely brutal assault on English bowling. The point was not to ensure that Pak wins the game (they are already assured of a series victory). The reason was to completely humiliate the English bowling. And they succeeded in it, emphatically. The looks on Gora faces during the morning hours tells the whole story. The field placing (8 fielders on the boundary rope) explains the misery. Kicking the opposition when it is down and showing the killer instint to thump your authority was missing earlier in Faisalabad.
As funguy said, if England can still draw the match by batting for five sessions, then more power to them. They’d deserve to hang on to their pride. Personally, I think Pakistan can still repeat the Multan story with just one or two vital breakthroughs early in the day.
Congratulations on a major series win after a long long time!
How does one catch the ODI Series ?
Faisal kya baat hai aap ki, kiya anrezi lekhi hai aap nay?
^ jaisay Test series catch kee
The point is about pressure and not how long they are going to bat. Why do people send nightwatchman, to avoid pressure situation at awkward times. 30 minutes befiore lunch would have created that and we might have ended up with more than two wickets.
^ Its all hypothetical, ofcourse. We may have declared 30 mins before lunch and got no wickets in those 30 minutes. And then ppl will say, hey we should have declared the previous evening. That may have gotten us two wickets. Point is, its very easy to second guess in hind-sight. Game time decision is influenced by many things.
To be fair, I believe Inzi selfishly delayed declaration in Faisalabad to get his own century. That dramatically reduced the time our bowlers had to get English batsmen out. That was the fifth day. In the present case, our bowlers still have plenty of time to get England out. Whether 30 minutes or 2 more hours will make a major difference in the result, is something that can only be guessed. Hopefully by the time the match ends, this will be a moot point. Insha Allah.
Ive been defending Inzi usually but i see the point ehsan bhai is making. 6 overs before lunch means england players who have been standing in the sun for 2 hours will still be tired when they come out to bat. An hour of lunch gave them the necessary time out to rejuvinate themselves and come out and bat strong.
The two wickets that fell, you can tell the one that fell before lunch can be attributed to trescothick's fatigue hence slow movement. The one that fell after lunch was pure deception.
Anyway, i still back inzi for going for his century. As faisal bhai pointed out his strike rate was 100% so its not like he was holding up the game for his personal glory. He was putting extremely valuable runs on the board and if you can notch up another 100 on the way, WHY NOT? Inzi has done plenty for this team and he deserves all these records while he is still in top form.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
When youre in mid or high 80s, i dont think its selfish to stick around for a century if you can get it within 10-15 minutes.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
^^ why not its same for Rana Naveed:confused:
which I believe would have mean’t alot to him:o
Inzi was pissed at rana for running him out. Rana could have sacrificed his wicket and crossed over, instead of stopping midway and going back.
Im not saying its rana's fault, he only acted on instinct. But its a reason why inzi was mad at him.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
Guys, Inzi wasn't pissed at Rana. It wasn't Rana's fault, and I am sure Inzi wasn't expecting him to sacrifice his wicket.
Lower order batsmen don't carry the leverage to warrant extra time to achieve batting milestones, especially if it was only a 50. If Rana was on 91 rather than 41, then Inzi would most likely have waited for him to complete his century before declaring.
^^ simply selfish act by Inzi :o
^ no it wasn't :o And I don't think Inzi was mad at Rana .. it was all just the need of the hour.
Let's put it this way: if a non-regular bowler like Hasan Raza (or maybe even Sami ;) ) were bowling and had 3 wickets, would the captain continue bowling him to let him get a five-for rather than bring Shoaib Akhtar in to shatter the stumps of tail-enders to bring the innings to a rapid close?
Yes it was ![]()
^ no it WASN’T ![]()
yaar you use Sami as an example
well any example it wasnt nice at all! as a captain you set an example, if the example was I didnt get a hundred and now “team work is important,” well then I am speachless
yes it was ![]()
God these english commentators!!! even at the pitch report they are up for all excuse!!! placid and dense pitch, didnt you guys see the bouncers by Rana and shoaib.
Oh c'mon Rana will insha'Allah get all the opportunity in the world to make his mark on test cricket (ex: his bowling) .. I just don't see why making a 50 along with tailenders became so important all of a sudden .. when we could invite the english players to play for that lil tricky time and attempt to get wicket - which we did. Mission accomplished .. ab chup and stop dissing Inzi's wisdom. :p