Pakistan V England 2nd Test Match, Faislabad

Re: Pakistan V England 2nd Test Match, Faislabad

Man, I can't wait for the 2nd Test to start. All of my Friday was spent reading cricket articles online (there are quite a few on BBC). I am dying to see what Kaneria cooks up this time.

All I am reading is that our batting is weak, our bowling is weak...... yes agreed, but unless I am living on another planet I think earlier this week we won a match where we trailed for most of the time and that also against the team which is now recognsied as 2nd in world cricket. Can we please concentrate more on our positives and less of this negativity.

Lets look at England, yes we flopped in the first innings but take Trescothicks inning out and what did the rest of the English team do. Also lets not forget Trescothick was plumb LBW on 48. He eventually made 193. Deduct the difference and you will know who would have had the lead if the umpire had given the right decision. I am not trying to belittle Trescothicks inning but just trying to point out that keep things in perspective. This unit performed well, so why change, just because Malik is not a regular opener, hardly the excuse to throw him out especially as he did not fail.

Agreed that Team performed well.That doesnt mean Team doesnt have problems and one should discuss that. Point is that batting lineup except for Inzi and Butt didnot show up. It was close game and Pakistan was lucky to win it. Luck may not always be on your side. Middle order is fragile due to Yoyo’s lack of form and Raza being a failure. I think there is a need to bing in Asim in place of Raza.

Director ki tanashahi nahi chelgi. :stuck_out_tongue: :jhanda:
My 2 cents

^Put in another way, Pak won the test inspite of England being on top for 90% of the match.

By the way F&B, did I see you waving a Pak jhanda above.

Maybe there was something in the pitch because the English batting failed twice as well, except for Trescothick. This is the same unit which was hammering the Aussies a few months ago. No one is denying we have problems, least of all me but going overboard is not the way either. I don’t agree that Pakistan was lucky to win, they fought and fought hard on the last day and England wilted under the pressure. :stuck_out_tongue:

F&B converted to devoted Pakistani after watching Kaneria ripping England apart.

ehsan bhai I agree to your point, but on the same token there were some 'Hand of God' deliveries by Shabbiriyya that restricted England in the first innings. ;) Another conspiracy :D

dont u think we gotta drop Sami instead of Shabir,
n he aint Yoyo n-e more now he Moyo:dhimpak:

For god sake,test match was decioded by 35 run. Nothing to take away from Pakistanis but there was lot of luck involved.

Coming to why English failed.It is because there still high on there Ashes victory.In case you didnot notice they are terribly out of form and even an pakistani A side kicked butt of their bastmen.

Yes… Some1.That was pakistani Jhanda.. Brotherly love from San Francisco. :wink:

Danny baby is key to my Fanatsy win…

well I agree with f&b on this, winning the game dosent mean we dont have a problem. Although i like to give current openers a long run but if Malik can not ball, I'll replace him with Afridi. Similerly, Raza should be replaced by Asim and Shabbir by Naved.

This will give us an additional bowling option (Afridi) and also gives us batting depth as Naved can hold bat better than shabbir.

Who is saying that luck was not involved but who won in the end… Pakistan, why? because they were able to play as a unit when it mattered and stand up to the pressure better than England.

I don’t accept your argument that English players were out of form, after all it was only a month or so afterthey had won the ashes. On the other hand the Pakistanis had not played test match since April when they came back from WI. I never said that we don’t have problems, all I am saying sithat we are focussing too much on the negatives and not enough on the positives this unit has shown. If luck was the only reason we won this test match than may Allah give us such luck everytime.

Ehsan bhai, we are all happy on our victory, but if we do find weaknesses then we should try to fix them, no? Our “seniors” were expected to perform better than what they did, i.e. Yousuf, Younis and Inzi, out of which only Inzi had some spine… Younis performance was ‘okay’, not ‘good enough’, about Yousuf less said the better :), did we really expect Salman to score one 50 and one 100? professionally yes they are “responsible” for that, but did we really rely/expect that much from him?

Lucky we :slight_smile:

Well that is the whole point Captain. We did not give this team a chance yet they performed better than we expected so lets give them some credit. Look at the poll before the start of this series England were overall favourite to win 2/0. I thought so as well. That is why I think this vicotry is better than we give credit to our team for. You are saying “lucky we”, says all about our defeatist attitude. :stuck_out_tongue:

lagta hai tu khisak gaya, Ehsan hai
sardar ko samjhana bhi aasan hai

Where is Harbhajan Singh.

has anyone else noticed something. A person in this thread left gupshup claiming he was “frustrated” with this board and it’s member after the indian series. But now they’ve magically reappeared once again when the dust has cleared from that series and no one talks about it anymore. I just found it weird. And no F&B, I am not talking about you. :hehe:

^ LOL

Rana in for Shabbir that much is confirmed. But on a track like that we need more than one spinning option which is why I am betting on Afridi coming in for Raza. Woolmer has said Asim looked totally out of sorts in the net which is why Hasan played instead of him in the first test.

Then I realized that some assholes shouldnot be given free hand.
And no Atlanta,I am not talking about you. :smiley:

asim kamal is really lost of form....
bringing him in will only mean another single figure score along side yusuf, who we cannot drop....
i think hassan raza needs to be replaced by afridi....
atleast if he fails with the bat, he can be useful with his bowling....

and malik shud be continued as an opener....

Chal bay, just because I am so far ahead of you in the fantasy league. :rotfl: